RESEARCHED AUTHORITY
Sheffield
Sheffield City Council · Sources checked 13 September 2026
- Driver licensing
- Official route/source found
Current online route for a one-, two- or three-year taxi driver licence.
- Vehicle licensing
- Official route/source found
Current online private-hire vehicle application route; the licence lasts up to 12 months.
- Operator licensing
- Official route/source found
Current private-hire operator application route with duration and fleet-size bands.
- Licensing fees
- Official route/source found
Current charges: driver £223 for one year, £245 for two years or £268 for three years; private-hire or hackney vehicle £212; operator starts at £531 for one year and 1–10 vehicles.
- Taxi tariff
- Official evidence found; detail still to confirm
The council’s current passenger page publishes daytime, evening/Sunday and Christmas/New Year bands beginning at £3.50, £3.70 and £4.70 for the first 100 yards, then 20p for each 176 yards up to ten miles and 20p for each 159 yards thereafter. The page does not state an effective date and combines distance/time meter increments, so TECSI does not infer a separate waiting calculation.
- Mandatory qualifications
- Official route/source found
National taxi/private-hire certificate including safeguarding and disability awareness, knowledge-test pass, driving-standards pass, DBS and medical assessment are required.
Withheld or still needing confirmation
- Sheffield’s current HTML does not state an effective date and combines waiting with distance pulses; calculator use remains withheld.