Oadby and Wigston taxi and private-hire licensing

This guide publishes only fields supported by the cited official sources. Anything unresolved is visibly withheld rather than inferred.

RESEARCHED AUTHORITY

Oadby and Wigston

Oadby and Wigston Borough Council · Sources checked 10 September 2026

Driver licensing
Official route/source found

Oadby and Wigston issues a combined hackney-carriage and private-hire driver licence for three years. New applicants first book and pass the council competency test, then submit the full application with driving-licence and DVLA evidence, identity and address documents, English evidence where required, Group 2 medical evidence, safeguarding and disability-awareness training, a Blue Lamp Trust practical-driving assessment and the Enhanced DBS application reference. The council currently advises an eight-month new-application timescale after all documents and a passed test are received.

Vehicle licensing
Official route/source found

Apply online for a hackney-carriage or private-hire vehicle licence after checking the council policy. A vehicle first licensed normally must be under six years old and is not normally licensed beyond 12 years; separate limits apply to executive and wheelchair-accessible vehicles. Vehicles require annual VOSA MOTs plus the specified six-month inspection cycle, valid insurance, plates and required safety equipment. Hackney carriages also need an approved, calibrated meter certificate.

Operator licensing
Official route/source found

Anyone accepting or inviting private-hire bookings needs an operator licence. The council assesses whether the applicant is fit and proper, will comply with the conditions and has a suitable operating address. Operational participants must pass the operator competency test, and each applicant, partner, associate or company director who is not already a licensed driver must obtain the required DBS check through TaxiPlus. New and renewal applications should be submitted at least six weeks before the licence is needed.

Licensing fees
Official route/source found

Full Council approved the 2026/27 fee schedule on 19 February 2026, but the schedule does not state its exact commencement date. A three-year combined driver licence is £365 and the driver competency test £60. A one-year vehicle licence is £365, with electric vehicles £182.50 and ultra-low-emission or wheelchair-accessible vehicles £274. A five-year operator licence is £1,090 for one to five vehicles, £1,610 for six to ten, or £2,140 for eleven or more; the operator competency test is £60.

Taxi tariff
Official route/source found

The council's policy version 5.2, adopted in November 2025, labels Appendix 6 as the current hackney-carriage fare table, although it does not state when the scale first commenced. The daytime rate from 6am to midnight is £4 for the first mile, then 30p for each 195.6 yards; the night and bank-holiday rate is £5 for the first mile, then 40p for each 247 yards. The stated Christmas and New Year rate is £8 for the first mile, then 60p for each 195.6 yards. Five-or-more-passenger journeys add 50%, and the soiling charge is £50.

Mandatory qualifications
Official route/source found

A new driver must pass the council competency test and the Blue Lamp Trust practical assessment, complete online-classroom safeguarding and disability-awareness courses, meet the Group 2 medical standard, undergo Enhanced DBS and DVLA checks and show the required English competence and immigration status. Where English is not the applicant's first language, the council requires Functioning Level 2 English evidence. The driver page states that new and renewal applicants must complete the safeguarding and disability-awareness courses.

Withheld or still needing confirmation
  • The approved 2026/27 fee schedule does not state a precise commencement date, so the figures are released with an explicit effective-date gap rather than assuming 1 April.
  • The adopted November 2025 policy identifies Appendix 6 as the current fare table but does not state the tariff's original operative date. The table is released as current under the adopted policy, with that date gap retained.
  • The driver page says no more 2026 competency-test dates are available and asks applicants to await a 2027 date. This is a current availability constraint, not a permanent closure of new applications, and must not be rewritten as one.
  • External provider charges for the Blue Lamp Trust assessment and training, medical examination and DBS processing are not part of the approved council fee schedule and are not inferred.

Browse all English and Welsh licensing authorities