Newcastle upon Tyne taxi and private-hire licensing

This guide publishes only fields supported by the cited official sources. Anything unresolved is visibly withheld rather than inferred.

RESEARCHED AUTHORITY

Newcastle upon Tyne

Newcastle City Council · Sources checked 13 September 2026

Driver licensing
Official route/source found

Requires applicants to be over 18 and to have held a full DVLA licence for at least 12 months. Publishes one- and three-year hackney carriage, private hire and dual-driver fees plus DBS/DVLA and locality retest charges.

Vehicle licensing
Official route/source found

Publishes an application fee of £255 plus subsequent test fees and lists required vehicle evidence. Contains driver, proprietor/vehicle and operator policy plus the council fare-scale appendix.

Operator licensing
Official route/source found

Contains driver, proprietor/vehicle and operator policy plus the council fare-scale appendix. Fare appendix sets a £4 minimum charge, separate tariff-one and tariff-two distance steps, waiting increments, £2 for each passenger over four and soiling up to £120.

Licensing fees
Official route/source found

Requires applicants to be over 18 and to have held a full DVLA licence for at least 12 months. Publishes one- and three-year hackney carriage, private hire and dual-driver fees plus DBS/DVLA and locality retest charges.

Taxi tariff
Official route/source found

Contains driver, proprietor/vehicle and operator policy plus the council fare-scale appendix. Fare appendix sets a £4 minimum charge, separate tariff-one and tariff-two distance steps, waiting increments, £2 for each passenger over four and soiling up to £120.

Mandatory qualifications
Official evidence found; detail still to confirm

All new applicants must complete the licensing-officer Knowledge and Understanding session covering conduct, legislation, vulnerable/disabled passengers and safety responsibilities. Hackney and dual applicants additionally pass a locality test; it is not stated as required for private hire alone. Safeguarding training is a grant condition. Applicants must be over 18 with twelve months' full DVLA entitlement and Group 2 medical evidence from a doctor with full records. DBS Update Service enrolment is required. The current guidance does not specify a fixed safeguarding refresher interval or separate practical-assessment requirement.

Withheld or still needing confirmation
  • A standalone current private hire operator fee page was not verified; policy route is retained.
  • Fixed safeguarding refresher cadence and practical-assessment applicability remain unverified.

Browse all English and Welsh licensing authorities