Melton taxi and private-hire licensing

This guide publishes only fields supported by the cited official sources. Anything unresolved is visibly withheld rather than inferred.

RESEARCHED AUTHORITY

Melton

Melton Borough Council · Sources checked 10 September 2026

Driver licensing
Official route/source found

Pay for and pass Melton's face-to-face local knowledge test before the council invites a combined hackney-carriage/private-hire driver application. The standard combined licence runs for three years. Submit the application with the council-specified DBS, DVLA, medical, training, identity and right-to-work evidence; original documents and check codes are checked at a face-to-face appointment.

Vehicle licensing
Official route/source found

Apply through Melton's online taxi-vehicle form for a one-year hackney-carriage or private-hire vehicle licence. Provide the V5C, hire-and-reward insurance and a passed taxi-test inspection form from an approved garage; a new hackney carriage also needs the specified taximeter-calibration certificate. First registrations must normally be under 10 years old, and vehicles over eight years require testing twice yearly.

Operator licensing
Official route/source found

A Melton private-hire operator applicant must demonstrate that they are fit and proper, complete the council application and statutory declaration, pay in advance, prove the right to work, and provide a basic DBS disclosure no more than one month old for each relevant applicant, director or partner. Evidence of the specified safeguarding-vulnerable-passenger training is also required.

Licensing fees
Official evidence found; detail still to confirm

The council's taxi page, last updated 19 August 2026, lists a standard three-year combined driver licence at £362 new or £324 renewal; a standard one-year vehicle licence at £118 new or £107 renewal; and a five-year operator licence at £960 new or £830 renewal. Alternative-fuel vehicle licences are £88 new and £80 renewal, wheelchair-accessible vehicle licences have no fee, and each knowledge-test attempt is £50. The page does not state a commencement date for this fee table.

Taxi tariff
Official route/source found

The current council-linked fare card is expressly stated as of 28 April 2025. Tariff 1, for up to four passengers from 7am to 7pm, is £3.50 for the first third of a mile, £2.50 per mile thereafter and £20 per hour waiting. Tariff 2, from 7pm to 7am, is £4.20, then £3 per mile and £25 per hour. Higher multi-passenger and holiday tariffs are also published on the fare card.

Mandatory qualifications
Official route/source found

All drivers must pass the three-part local knowledge test, hold the required enhanced DBS with ongoing Update Service subscription, permit six-monthly DVLA checks, obtain a GMC-doctor medical, and complete the specified safeguarding and disability-awareness courses. New applicants also need an approved practical taxi-driving assessment; overseas residence of three months or more triggers good-character evidence, and English certification may be required where ability is in doubt.

Withheld or still needing confirmation
  • The live council page publishes current numeric licence fees and was updated on 19 August 2026, but it does not state the date on which this fee table took effect.
  • DBS, DVLA, medical and practical-assessment charges may change independently. Only the council page's expressly stated £37 safeguarding, £42 disability-awareness and £42 renewal-proficiency course prices are source-backed as checked, and those third-party prices are not folded into the council licence fee.
  • The tariff summary gives the principal daytime and night rates; the full official fare card remains authoritative for tariffs 3 to 5 and extra charges.

Browse all English and Welsh licensing authorities