Malvern Hills taxi and private-hire licensing

This guide publishes only fields supported by the cited official sources. Anything unresolved is visibly withheld rather than inferred.

RESEARCHED AUTHORITY

Malvern Hills

Malvern Hills District Council · Sources checked 13 September 2026

Driver licensing
Official route/source found

Current policy requires applicants over 21, a UK driving licence held for three years, right to work and fitness/propriety. Use the council application route through Worcestershire Regulatory Services.

Vehicle licensing
Official route/source found

Submit the council vehicle application, supporting documents and fee. Check current vehicle specifications before purchase; the policy and application route are linked.

Operator licensing
Official route/source found

A private-hire base in the district requires an operator licence. Submit the operator application and fee through Worcestershire Regulatory Services. Hackney drivers taking their own bookings do not require a PH operator licence.

Licensing fees
Official evidence found; detail still to confirm

For 1 April 2026–31 March 2027, HC and PH vehicle licences are £348; fully electric vehicles £0. Dual and PH driver licences £314. Knowledge test £27, PH-to-dual upgrade £28, DBS £69. Five-year operators are published as 1–3 vehicles £893 and '3+' £1,016: exactly three vehicles overlaps, so confirm that boundary. A four-month temporary HC licence is £262; the table duplicates that HC label, so no separate PH temporary rate is inferred. Driver and ordinary vehicle durations are not stated in this fee table.

Taxi tariff
Official route/source found

Current linked card effective 1 July 2022: first 1,610 metres £4.20/£6.30/£8.40, then 21p/32p/42p per 134.17 metres. Waiting 30p/45p/60p per minute. Night, Sundays, Christmas/New Year's Eve and holidays use higher tariffs.

Mandatory qualifications
Official route/source found

Competency certificate, enhanced DBS/Update Service, DVLA check and Group 2 medical. Hackney applicants also take the council topographical test. Overseas residence of three continuous months after eighteen requires criminal-record/good-character evidence.

Withheld or still needing confirmation
  • 2026/27 fee landing identified but tariff-specific licence fee rows could not be retrieved; no numeric licence fees asserted.
  • Full licensing conditions and vehicle age exceptions remain to be extracted.
  • Resolve operator exactly-three-vehicle band overlap; driver and vehicle terms not stated. Indexed official current HTML recovered while direct fetch failed.

Browse all English and Welsh licensing authorities