RESEARCHED AUTHORITY
Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight Council · Sources checked 13 September 2026
- Driver licensing
- Official route/source found
Applicants need a full car driving licence held 12 months, criminal-record checks and Group 2 medical. The council assesses suitability including local knowledge and medical/criminal history.
- Vehicle licensing
- Official route/source found
Hackneys display white licence plates; private-hire vehicles display yellow plates and yellow front-door stickers. Each vehicle needs its own licence.
- Operator licensing
- Official evidence found; detail still to confirm
Current council-hosted Version 4 policy records Cabinet approval on 13 January 2022 and commencement on 31 January 2022. Section 10 normally grants five years but permits requested whole-year terms from one to five. New and renewal applications require basic DBS dated within 28 days, except current council-licensed drivers; a basic certificate becomes immediately necessary when that driver licence ends. Each company director/partner is assessed. Renewal includes the last three months' booking records. Maintain booking/dispatch staff registers, sight basic DBS less than 28 days old for each staff member, maintain an ex-offender employment policy and require staff conviction notifications. Separately, current-linked May 2015 operator conditions require booking records for one calendar year, prior approval to change the operating base, written address-change notification within seven days and complaint notification within 24 hours. The 2015 conditions' seven-day conviction wording and the 2022 policy's 48-hour serious-offence notification wording are not reconciled, so this remains partial rather than a fully consolidated conditions claim.
- Licensing fees
- Official route/source found
From 1 April 2026, HC/PH three-year driver grant costs £350 and renewal £300. HC/PH vehicle grant £360 (PH door stickers additional), renewal £325; transfer of interest £100 and replacement vehicle £200 plus PH stickers. Five-year PH operator grant/renewal £400. Non-motorised vehicle grant/renewal £250. Replacement plate £30, door stickers £35, driver badge £25; taximeter and knowledge tests £40 each. Vehicle licence duration is not stated on the fee page.
- Taxi tariff
- Official route/source found
Current-linked card marked approved May 2022 (January 2025 print): first half mile £3.50/£5/£6.50/£8 across tariffs 1–4; subsequent quarter-mile and each minute waiting 60p/90p/£1.20/£1.50. Tariff 1 applies 08:00–20:00 except Sundays/bank/public holidays; tariff 2 covers 06:00–08:00, 20:00–midnight and Sundays/bank/public holidays; tariff 3 midnight–06:00 plus Christmas, Boxing Day and Easter Sunday. More than four passengers or requested large vehicle for excessive equipment moves tariff 1→2, 2→3, 3→4. Luggage handled by driver 20p/item; animals £1 except registered assistance animals; cleaning up to £100; ordinary public tolls at cost, not privately negotiated access charges. Non-motorised vehicles are exempt from this fare table.
- Mandatory qualifications
- Official route/source found
The current page requires a knowledge test, described as delivered by Microsoft Teams video call.
Withheld or still needing confirmation
- Detailed vehicle limits, operator, fees and numeric tariff not extracted; current fare PDF forwarded for calculator review.
- Vehicle duration not stated in fee table; fees are not passenger meter tariffs.
- Approved policy source reviewed, but live application hub remains403, so confirmation that no later requirements supersede this version remains outstanding. No fresh numeric operator fee verified. Preserve prior verified fields.
- Current page still links 2015 conditions beside 2022 policy; notification timeframes and subcontracting wording need consolidated reconciliation.
- Card prints May 2022 approval rather than commencement; indexed official decision AIId=3750 dated 12 May 2022 states commencement 1 June 2022 (https://iow.moderngov.co.uk/ieDecisionDetails.aspx?AIId=3750). Direct decision fetch was blocked; current card linkage independently checked.
- Quarter-mile and minute rounding are not explicitly stated; no automatic calculator activation.