Dartford taxi and private-hire licensing

This guide publishes only fields supported by the cited official sources. Anything unresolved is visibly withheld rather than inferred.

RESEARCHED AUTHORITY

Dartford

Dartford Borough Council · Sources checked 13 September 2026

Driver licensing
Official route/source found

Dartford licenses hackney-carriage and private-hire drivers separately. A new applicant must be at least 21 and first pass the relevant council knowledge test, which covers local streets and locations, English proficiency and numeracy; the pass certificate must be less than 12 months old when applying. The published application criteria also require an enhanced DBS check, a DVLA check, two personal references, identity and right-to-work evidence, a medical completed by the applicant's own doctor or another doctor with access to the full medical record, and overseas good-conduct evidence where applicable. Applicants must pass the council-approved taxi driving assessment and complete approved disability-awareness plus Dartford safeguarding, Prevent and legislation training. The current online guidance should be followed for the application sequence and accepted evidence.

Vehicle licensing
Official route/source found

All hackneys must be wheelchair accessible, initially under nine years and retired by fifteen. Private-hire saloons/estates must initially be under four years and operate only to eight; non-WAV purpose-built/MPV six-seat-plus vehicles initially under nine can operate to fifteen. PH wheelchair-accessible vehicles have a stated nine-year initial limit and fifteen-year maximum. Vehicles need right-hand drive, luggage space, belts, first-aid kit, extinguisher and spare wheel/manufacturer alternative. WAVs need ramps, restraints and appropriate approval certification; winches require annual engineer inspection. Apply online with V5, electronic MOT and insurance and payment card; the form cannot be saved mid-process. Then book plate fitting with licensing.

Operator licensing
Official route/source found

A fixed operating base within Dartford is required. Public-access premises require public liability insurance. Basic DBS and two non-family references from people knowing the applicant at leastthree years are requested. Submit driver/vehicle lists and monthly changes; all must be licensed by Dartford.

Licensing fees
Official route/source found

Current published fees: annual HC vehicle £320 new plus £20 deposit/£270 renewal; PH vehicle £280 plus £20/£250. Three-year drivers new/renewal: HC £180 plus £10 deposit/£130; PH £170 plus £10/£130; dual £240 plus £10/£185. One-year driver new/renewal: HC £115 plus £10/£75; PH £110 plus £10/£75; dual £155 plus £10/£105. One-year drivers and operators are exceptional, on request. PH operators cost £1,060 for five years or £310 for one. HC knowledge test £134, PH £67; English £40, disability awareness £55, training day £35. Page does not state an effective date.

Taxi tariff
Official route/source found

For a journey wholly within Dartford, the council says a negotiated charge cannot exceed its authorised tariff. Numeric fare card has not yet been extracted.

Mandatory qualifications
Official route/source found

Applicants must be at least 21 and have held full car-driving entitlement for 36 months. Both hackney and private hire applicants must first pass Dartford's knowledge test covering local streets, English and numeracy; the pass must be within twelve months. They also need a taxi driving-ability assessment and evidence of oral English competence, with a recognised suitable English qualification able to exempt the separate speaking/listening assessment. Approved disability-awareness training is required unless accepted evidence from the previous two years is supplied. Dartford additionally requires its one-day Safeguarding, Prevent and Legislation modules delivered with Kent Fire and Rescue. Medical evidence from a doctor with full records, enhanced DBS, DVLA check, two personal references and right-to-work evidence support the suitability decision.

Withheld or still needing confirmation
  • Numeric tariff and driver/vehicle/fees/qualification details remain unextracted.
  • The current landing page and older information pack differ on driving-licence tenure; no tenure threshold is asserted here. Use the live application route for the current requirement.
  • Current HTML checked 13 September 2026; legal commencement date not stated. External charges may vary.
  • Source seating metric conversion48in/92cm is inconsistent and not reproduced. Confirm boundary ages and vehicle class before purchase.
  • Preserve all prior verified fields.

Browse all English and Welsh licensing authorities