RESEARCHED AUTHORITY
Broxtowe
Broxtowe Borough Council · Sources checked 11 September 2026
- Driver licensing
- Official route/source found
Broxtowe issues a joint driver badge for both Hackney Carriage and private-hire vehicles. Request an application pack and appointment from the Licensing Team. The council assesses whether the applicant is fit and proper through its criminal-record, DVLA, medical, practical-driving and local-topography checks; a renewal also requires the applicable HMRC tax-check code.
- Vehicle licensing
- Official route/source found
Choose either the Hackney Carriage or private-hire route, obtain the council form and submit it with taxi insurance, V5 or ownership evidence, the required MOT, seating plan where carrying more than four passengers, and the full fee before booking the council depot examination. New applications are not normally accepted for vehicles over five years old and must meet Euro 6 for diesel or Euro 5 for petrol. Younger vehicles renew annually; from age five they renew six-monthly, normally only to age eight or age ten for wheelchair-accessible vehicles.
- Operator licensing
- Official route/source found
A private-hire operator must apply in writing on Broxtowe's approved form and be assessed as fit and proper. The 2023 council policy requires the fee, right-to-work evidence, safeguarding-course certificate, a Basic DBS certificate no older than 31 days for each relevant applicant or partner, and any applicable overseas certificate of good conduct. Private-hire vehicles and drivers may only fulfil bookings through an operator licensed by the same authority.
- Licensing fees
- Official route/source found
The current council fee page does not state when its figures commenced. A three-year initial joint driver licence is £284 and a three-year renewal £246; the knowledge test is £55. A one-year initial vehicle application is £376 including a refundable £40 plate deposit; renewal is £237 when under five years old or £203 for a six-month licence when older. Five-year operator fees range from £115 for one vehicle to £1,500 for twenty-one or more.
- Taxi tariff
- Official route/source found
Broxtowe's live current-fares page does not state an effective date. The basic Hackney Carriage rate is £3.50 for the first 880 yards, then 10p per 80 yards; waiting is 10p per 20 seconds. The page sets 1.25-times rates for midnight to 6am and ordinary bank holidays, twice the basic rate during its stated Christmas and New Year periods, separate multipliers for vehicles carrying at least five passengers, and a £40 soiling charge. Private-hire fares should be agreed with the operator and are not this council tariff.
- Mandatory qualifications
- Official route/source found
New drivers must have held a full driving licence for at least 12 months and complete Broxtowe's practical taxi-driving test, Group 2 medical, topography test, DBS criminal-record check and DVLA history check. The current fee page also identifies the initial knowledge test and safeguarding retest, while the 2023 policy requires safeguarding evidence and right-to-work and overseas good-conduct evidence where applicable. Applicants should use the current council pack because older page wording still refers to the former DSA name.
Withheld or still needing confirmation
- Neither the current council fee page nor the live current-fares page states an exact commencement date; none is inferred.
- The council driver page retains the former Driving Standards Agency name and older one-year badge wording, while the live fee page states three-year initial and renewal licences; the public summary avoids presenting the old page's duration as current.
- The Hackney Carriage fare table is not applied to private-hire bookings.
- External DBS, medical and practical-test charges are not treated as council licence fees.