RESEARCHED AUTHORITY
Breckland
Breckland Council · Sources checked 13 September 2026
- Driver licensing
- Official route/source found
Driver licences normally last three years. Applicants need a UK/EU licence held at least 12 months and right to work. Non-residents are asked for a statement explaining their connection and employer confirmation of work in Breckland. Request the application pack from licensingteam@breckland.gov.uk.
- Vehicle licensing
- Official route/source found
Hackney applications require public-hire insurance, V5 or purchase evidence, MOT for vehicles over one year old, approved mechanical pass, application, fee and statutory declaration. Road tax is checked; licences last one year and vehicles over eight years need another mechanical inspection within six months. Hackneys need approved signs and a local-tariff meter. Private hire applications require an appointment, application, mechanical test, MOT over12months, V5 or supplement, private-hire insurance and card payment. Private hire vehicles need at least four passenger seats, extinguisher and first-aid kit, with no toplight or roof/boot rack. They must operate under a private hire operator and only Breckland-licensed drivers may drive them.
- Operator licensing
- Official route/source found
Renewal applicants who are not current Breckland hackney/private-hire licensed drivers must supply a basic DBS criminal-convictions certificate. Every individual must complete their own statutory declaration, including company directors, secretaries and partners. The renewal application accepts sole proprietor, company or partnership applications.
- Licensing fees
- Official route/source found
Page updated 2 April 2026: driver grant/renewal £322/£284; HC vehicle £316/£293; PH vehicle £255/£244; operator £490/£480. Pre-application portions are non-refundable. Enhanced DBS £59.50 is additional.
- Taxi tariff
- Current council tariff checked
Council maximum fares: tariff 1 starts at £5.00 for the first mile/480 seconds, then 30p per 176 yards/48 seconds or part. Sunday 06:00-midnight tariff 2 starts at £6.50, then 40p. Night 23:30-06:00 and public/bank-holiday tariff 3 starts at £7.50, then 45p. More than four passengers adds 50% in a licensed larger vehicle; soiling £100. VAT included. The source does not state precedence for the Sunday 23:30-midnight overlap; the calculator excludes that overlap. Legal commencement date is not stated.
Tariff content checked 17 October 2026.
- Mandatory qualifications
- Official route/source found
New applicants need a full UK/EU driving licence held at least 12 months; enhanced DBS; Group 2 fitness on the Breckland medical form, completed by their own GP or D4Drivers; a taxi driving assessment pass from Norfolk Road Safety or BLT; and BLT's virtual face-to-face safeguarding course (e-learning is not accepted). At application the medical, DBS and safeguarding documents must be within three months, and driving assessment within 12 months. Right-to-work evidence is also required. These are the current application requirements; this does not claim every ongoing licence condition is reproduced.
Withheld or still needing confirmation
- Full medical/training, vehicle/operator conditions and tariff still require extraction.
- Enrichment only: merge confirmed fields and preserve existing verified summaries.
- Preserve prior verified fields. This enrichment confirms hackney application requirements; complete private-hire specifications and age eligibility remain to be checked. Source is the January 2023 policy still linked by the current council hub.
- Supersedes vehicle summary from enrichment10 while preserving operator and other prior verified fields. Specialist/executive specifications and complete age eligibility still require full policy review.
- Medical provider, document freshness and course format matter; do not replace with generic nationwide training advice.
- Preserve prior verified fields.
- Council's July2026 virtual town hall links article19294/Table-of-Fares but numeric destination could not be recovered.
- Secondary benchmark is partial evidence only; calculator remains unavailable from this record.