Official-source evidence

Stirling Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 34 source-backed claims · 53 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence suitability safety insurance and number controls

Section 10 governs vehicles and does not establish a separate driver, booking-office or dispatch relationship.

  • Vehicle Licence Required: Yes
  • Grant Or Renewal Tests: suitable in type, size and design; safe for the licensed use; appropriate insurance or security in force
  • Taxi Number Control: refusal to limit taxi numbers requires no significant unmet demand
  • Private Hire Overprovision: refusal requires the statutory overprovision test
Current statutory rule

Vehicle substitution and disposal duties

The claim records the current consolidated statutory vehicle provisions.

  • Substitution: the licensing authority may permit another vehicle to replace the licensed vehicle
  • Disposal: the licence must be delivered to the authority within 28 days after disposal unless the authority permits otherwise
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence West Dunbartonshire Council's actual turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Local taxi and private hire operating distinction

The council page distinguishes the two vehicle routes; it does not establish a driver licence or booking-office relationship.

  • Taxi Vehicle: may ply for hire, use taxi ranks and accept pre-arranged bookings
  • Private Hire Vehicle: may carry passengers only on pre-arranged bookings and may not ply for hire or use taxi ranks
  • Passenger Capacity: vehicles licensed by the council under these routes carry up to eight passengers
Current official source

Current taxi number control and new grant wheelchair condition

This records the approved policy wording and does not predict whether any individual grant or plate is available.

  • Statutory Number Limitation Exercised: policy says it has not been exercised
  • Current Administrative Position: moratorium on new taxi licences except wheelchair-accessible vehicles
  • New Grant Condition: new taxi licences granted since 25 July 2025 are conditioned for wheelchair-accessible vehicles only
Current official source

Current taxi first licensing age colour and capacity

Older five-year material is retained only as conflicting or dated evidence.

  • First Licensing Maximum Age: no more than seven years
  • Permitted Colours From Policy Start: white; silver; grey
  • Minimum Doors: four
  • Minimum Rear Seat Width: 1.37 metres
  • Passenger Capacity: three to eight depending on vehicle type
  • Upper Age Limit: no upper age limit stated in the approved policy
Current official source

Current private hire first licensing age colour and capacity

The separately linked private-hire specification disagrees and is preserved as a conflict.

  • First Licensing Maximum Age: no more than seven years
  • Excluded Colours For New Grant: white; silver; grey
  • Existing Grey Vehicle Renewal: an already licensed grey private-hire vehicle may renew until replacement
  • Passenger Capacity: three to eight depending on vehicle type
  • Upper Age Limit: no upper age limit stated in the approved policy
Current official source

Approved policy vehicle inspection frequency

The different bands in the linked private-hire and older taxi specifications are not silently merged.

  • Bands: Vehicle Age: up to and including five years; Tests Per Year: one; Vehicle Age: over five and up to and including ten years; Tests Per Year: two; Vehicle Age: over ten years; Tests Per Year: three
  • Condition: licensing committee may require more frequent tests in an individual case
Current official source

Current vehicle application and test document set

The policy document set is recorded without assuming document acceptance for an unverified private-hire application route.

  • Documents: V5 registration document; valid insurance certificate; current MOT certificate when the vehicle is more than one year old
  • Inspection Requirement: the vehicle must meet the council specification and testing regime
Current official source

Current taxi meter and gps meter controls

This is a regulatory requirement and is not evidence that any named meter system or commercial supplier is available.

  • Meter Required: Yes
  • Calibration: meter must be approved, tested and sealed to the council tariff
  • Gps Meters: permitted subject to council approval, sealing and certification after programme updates
Current official source

Current private hire optional meter controls

An optional meter does not prove a dispatch affiliation or service relationship.

  • Meter Status: optional
  • If Fitted: must meet the council approval, testing, sealing and fare-display requirements
Current official source

Current optional cctv installation controls

The policy conditions are recorded without inferring that any product or installer is approved or available.

  • Installation Status: optional
  • Controls: notify the council; comply with policy signage and recording controls; operator remains responsible for data-controller duties
Current official source

Current inactive licence vehicle attachment period

The policy period does not establish substitute-vehicle availability or processing time.

  • Period: three months
  • Requirement: attach a licensed vehicle or an approved substitute within that period
Current official source

Current taxi vehicle holder upkeep document and damage duties

These are licence-holder conditions, not proof of a driver licence or commercial work supply.

  • Documents And Status: maintain registration and insurance evidence; keep the vehicle and equipment in a safe and serviceable condition
  • Damage Notice: report qualifying damage by the end of the next working day
  • Inspection Timing: present the vehicle for inspection within two working days when required
Current official source

Current private hire vehicle holder upkeep document and damage duties

These are licence-holder conditions and do not establish a booking or dispatch relationship.

  • Documents And Status: maintain registration and insurance evidence; keep the vehicle and equipment in a safe and serviceable condition
  • Damage Notice: report qualifying damage by the end of the next working day
  • Inspection Timing: present the vehicle for inspection within two working days when required
Current official source

Current taxi plate sign advertising fare and driver log controls

The automation permission is a condition only; it does not identify, recommend or verify a commercial system.

  • Identification: display council plates; display the required roof sign; display the approved fare information
  • Advertising: subject to the approved policy limits
  • Driver Log: record driver identity, licence and taxi identifiers, and take-over and return times
  • Retention: retain the driver log for six months
  • Approved Automation: a council-approved central automated logging method may substitute for the written log
Current official source

Current private hire plate sign advertising and driver log controls

These vehicle-identification and record conditions do not prove current bookings or dispatch onboarding.

  • Identification: display council plates; display required pre-booked signage; do not display a taxi roof sign
  • Advertising: subject to the approved policy limits
  • Driver Log: record driver identity, licence and vehicle identifiers, and take-over and return times
  • Retention: retain the driver log for six months
Current official source

Published 2026 27 taxi vehicle form fees and submission channel

The form values are recorded separately from the lower fee figures on the main page.

  • Fee Period: 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027
  • One Year Fee: £278
  • Three Year Fee: £759
  • Application Structures: individual; company; partnership
  • Email Attachments: the form says emailed applications are accepted only as Word or PDF files
Current official source

Published main page vehicle fee figures

These are the main-page figures as displayed; the taxi values conflict with the 2026 to 2027 application form.

  • Taxi: One Year: £265; Three Years: £723
  • Private Hire: Displayed Fee: £179; Displayed Duration: not stated beside the fee
Current official source

Published main page plate colours

The colour statement records council identification and is not commercial-provider information.

  • Taxi: green
  • Restricted Taxi: white
  • Private Hire: purple

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence West Dunbartonshire Council's actual turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Booking office threshold premises management records notice and duration

This is national guidance; no dedicated current West Dunbartonshire booking-office application page or local condition schedule was located.

  • Threshold: bookings for four or more taxis or private hire cars
  • Premises: the premises where bookings are taken must be licensed
  • Holder: individual; partnership; limited partnership; limited company
  • Manager: name the person responsible for day-to-day management
  • Records: every booking; vehicle registration and driver name
  • Licence Checks: ensure vehicles and drivers have the correct licences
  • National Notice Duration Days: 21
  • Usual Licence Duration Years: 3
  • Online Application Statement: GOV.UK states that this licence cannot be applied for online
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

HMRC guidance does not list Scottish taxi or private-hire vehicle licences in this tax-check scope.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Required: renewing the same type of licence; applying after holding the same type within the previous year; applying to another authority while holding the same type
  • Code: nine-character tax-check code
  • Code Validity Days: 120
Current official source

First application tax responsibility confirmation

West Dunbartonshire Council publishes matching high-level local tax guidance, but the exact evidence field in a booking-office application was not verified.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Applicable: applying for this type of licence for the first time; applying after the same type of licence stopped being valid at least one year earlier
  • Requirement: confirm awareness of tax responsibilities to the licensing authority
Current official source

Right to licence check scope and methods

No current local booking-office right-to-licence checklist was located in the bounded council-source review.

  • Covered Scottish Licence: booking office licence
  • Events: new application; renewal; extension
  • Methods: digital status where prescribed; Home Office online service where available; current prescribed document checks
  • Time Limited Status: licence duration must not exceed the permitted immigration period
Current official source

Published 2026 27 booking office fee and requested duration

The form allows a requested period; final grant and conditions remain council decisions.

  • Fee Period: 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027
  • One Year Fee: £159
  • Three Year Fee: £275
  • Application Types: grant; renewal
  • Requested Periods: one year; three years
Current official source

Current booking office applicant manager premises and operation fields

The fields do not prove that the premises, vehicles or manager will be approved.

  • Applicant Structures: individual; company; partnership
  • Manager Details: manager information is requested
  • Premises Details: address; telephone number
  • Operating Details: number of vehicles; trading days; trading hours
Current official source

Current booking office right to licence and conviction declarations

The local form evidence complements, but does not replace, the national right-to-licence guidance.

  • Right To Licence: grant and renewal applicants are asked for the required right-to-work or immigration evidence
  • Conviction Scope: spent convictions; overseas convictions
  • Company Applicant: company registration information is requested when applicable
Current official source

Current booking office site notice objection and certificate steps

These published form steps do not establish the actual time to decision.

  • Display Period: 21 days
  • Completion Evidence: certificate of compliance with the site-notice requirement
  • Objection Window: 28 days
Current official source

Current local booking office tax conditionality

The claim is scoped to booking-office licensing and does not treat vehicle licensing as tax-conditionality evidence.

  • First Application: confirm awareness of tax responsibilities
  • Renewal: provide a valid nine-character tax-check code when the conditionality rules apply
  • Code Validity: 120 days
  • Decision Gate: the council says it cannot decide an application without the required completed tax check
Current official source

Current booking office submission contact and payment methods

No bank-account credentials are reproduced and no submission or payment was attempted.

  • Submission: Licensing, Stirling Council, Old Viewforth, Stirling FK8 2ET; licensing@stirling.gov.uk
  • Payment Methods: bank transfer; debit or credit card in person

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current statutory rule

Statutory register duty

The statutory duty does not prove completeness or freshness of any web list.

  • Register Duty: the authority must keep a register of applications, decisions and prescribed licence information
  • Public Inspection: the register is available for public inspection at reasonable times and certified extracts may be supplied for a reasonable fee
Current official source

Published wheelchair accessible vehicle list fields and row count

Commercial names were not copied; a duplicated plate and registration with conflicting details is recorded as a gap.

  • Displayed Rows: 20
  • Fields: licence number; contact label and telephone; registration; make and colour; passenger count
  • Currentness Boundary: the page is a council list, not proof of live service, rental or dispatch availability

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

53 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current taxi number limit and new grant position: The main page says taxi numbers are capped at 79, while the approved policy says statutory taxi-number limitation has not been exercised but a moratorium operates except for wheelchair-accessible vehicles. CONFLICT
  • Current taxi first licensing maximum age: The main page and still-linked older specification say five years, while the approved policy and current application form say seven years. CONFLICT
  • Current private hire first licensing maximum age: The main page and linked private-hire specification say five years, while the approved policy says seven years. CONFLICT
  • Current private hire excluded vehicle colours: The main page and linked specification exclude white and silver, while the approved policy also excludes grey for a new grant and preserves a transition for existing grey vehicles. CONFLICT
  • Current private hire vehicle test frequency bands: The linked private-hire specification uses different age bands and up to four tests a year, while the approved policy uses one, two or three tests across the up-to-five, five-to-ten and over-ten-year bands. CONFLICT
  • Current 2026 27 taxi vehicle licence fees: The main page displays £265 for one year and £723 for three years, while the current 2026 to 2027 taxi application form displays £278 and £759. CONFLICT
  • Current taxi vehicle licence duration options: The taxi application form offers one-year and three-year fee options but its notes say the licence will last for one year. CONFLICT
  • Current wheelchair list plate t240 record: The wheelchair-accessible vehicle page displays plate T240 and registration HG22 WRN twice with conflicting make, operator-label and passenger information. CONFLICT
  • Current private hire plate display vehicle type wording: The private-hire section of the main page says the plate must be displayed while the vehicle is in use as a taxi; the surrounding heading and purple-plate context identify private hire, so the text is not silently corrected. CONFLICT
  • Current standalone taxi vehicle specification document: The separately linked taxi specification is dated through its 2025 proxy and predates the approved policy applying from April 2026; it is retained only as dated evidence. DATED ONLY
  • Current status of legacy four tests per year taxi band: The older taxi specification contains a four-tests-per-year band, but the approved 2026 policy uses a maximum published routine frequency of three tests per year; no current claim is made from the old band. DATED ONLY
  • Current plate specification guide link target: The council page titled Plate specification guide links to COVID-era vehicle guidance dated 18 June 2020 rather than to a plate specification. LINK MISROUTED
  • Current private hire vehicle application form and channel: The main page states private-hire vehicle requirements but the retrieved links did not establish a current private-hire vehicle grant or renewal form; a driver form is not treated as a vehicle form. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current vehicle and booking office register results and coverage: The council landing page links a licensing register, but its target did not return within the bounded normal-TLS retrieval; current records, route coverage and completeness were not verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current taxi plate stock queue and guaranteed grant availability: Policy and list material do not verify available plate stock, queue position or whether an individual application will be granted. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current private hire plate stock queue and guaranteed grant availability: The official requirements do not verify plate stock, queue position or whether an individual private-hire application will be granted. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current wheelchair vehicle service or rental availability: The council list is a licensing-information page and does not establish live hire availability, rental supply, shift supply or dispatch onboarding. NOT STATED
  • Actual current vehicle application processing time: The retrieved sources state statutory and form timescales but provide no observed current end-to-end taxi or private-hire vehicle processing time. NOT VERIFIED
  • Actual current booking office application processing time: The application and national framework do not verify the council’s observed current booking-office processing time. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current booking office application queue inventory and grant availability: The form and council page do not verify a live queue, licence inventory, premises acceptability or grant outcome. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current taxi vehicle renewal submission lead time: The retrieved current taxi sources do not state a recommended renewal submission lead time. NOT STATED
  • Current private hire vehicle renewal submission lead time: The retrieved current private-hire sources do not state a recommended renewal submission lead time. NOT STATED
  • Current authorised vehicle inspection garage roster: The retrieved policy and vehicle page do not publish a complete current roster of inspection locations or appointment providers. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle inspection retest and meter check fees: The retrieved vehicle-licence fee material does not state a complete current inspection, retest and meter-check fee schedule. NOT STATED
  • Current replacement vehicle plate and sign fees: The retrieved current council material does not state replacement plate or sign fees for both vehicle routes. NOT STATED
  • Current taxi vehicle substitution form channel and fee: The approved policy describes vehicle attachment and substitution but the retrieved sources do not state a complete current taxi substitution form, channel and fee. NOT STATED
  • Current private hire vehicle substitution form channel and fee: The approved policy describes vehicle attachment and substitution but the retrieved sources do not state a complete current private-hire substitution form, channel and fee. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle emissions fuel and zero emission criteria: The retrieved council vehicle sources do not state a complete emissions, fuel or zero-emission licensing standard. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle glass tint limits and measurement method: The retrieved council sources do not state a complete measurable glass-tint standard for both vehicle routes. NOT STATED
  • Current taxi vehicle insurance minimum cover and wording: The sources require appropriate insurance but do not state the complete minimum cover, policy wording and insurer-evidence rules. NOT STATED
  • Current private hire vehicle insurance minimum cover and wording: The sources require appropriate insurance but do not state the complete minimum cover, policy wording and insurer-evidence rules. NOT STATED
  • Current wheelchair accessibility exemption application and evidence process: The approved policy contains accessibility requirements but the retrieved sources do not state a complete vehicle-related exemption application and evidence process. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle inspection appointment capacity wait and pass rate: The requirements do not state current appointment capacity, wait times, cancellation availability or pass rates. NOT STATED
  • Current complete vehicle licensing complaint review and escalation process: The retrieved vehicle pages and policy do not state a complete current complaint, internal review and escalation path for vehicle licensing. NOT STATED
  • Current private hire vehicle fee duration and three year option: The main page displays £179 but does not state its duration or a three-year private-hire vehicle fee, and no current vehicle application form was verified. NOT STATED
  • Current complete vehicle inspection manual items and pass tolerances: The policy states specifications and test frequency but the retrieved current sources do not provide a complete inspection manual with every test item and pass tolerance. NOT STATED
  • Complete current vehicle renewal supporting document set: The sources identify core vehicle documents but do not state every current renewal document and declaration for both routes. NOT STATED
  • Current complete rural plate operating boundary and enforcement map: The main page says 11 rural plates cannot ply within five miles of Stirling city centre but does not provide a complete boundary map or enforcement interpretation. NOT STATED
  • Current complete standard and special booking office conditions: The form declaration refers to standard conditions as supplied, but the retrieved form and page do not contain the complete current condition set. NOT STATED
  • Current local booking office vehicle number threshold wording: National guidance states the four-or-more threshold, but the retrieved local form only asks for the number of vehicles and does not restate the local threshold wording. NOT STATED
  • Complete current booking office supporting document set: The current form gives declarations and identity, tax and notice requirements but does not state every supporting document required in every applicant structure. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office planning fire landlord and insurance evidence: The retrieved booking-office sources do not state a complete planning, fire-safety, landlord-consent and public-liability evidence set. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office premises inspection criteria timing and outcome: The retrieved form and guidance do not state a complete current premises-inspection checklist, scheduling process or outcome timing. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office renewal submission lead time: The form includes renewal and tax-check fields but does not state a recommended renewal lead time. NOT STATED
  • Current local booking record retention access and data security rules: National guidance describes booking records, but the missing local conditions prevent verification of the complete retention, access, production and data-security rules. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office variation transfer surrender forms and fees: The retrieved current form covers grant and renewal but does not state complete variation, transfer and surrender routes or fees. NOT STATED
  • Current local register completeness freshness and update cadence: The licensing page identifies a register link but does not state complete route coverage, freshness guarantees or update latency. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office complaints records security and breach requirements: The retrieved booking application and general page do not state a complete complaints, records-security and breach-response condition set. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: Official licensing sources do not provide or verify a current commercial radio or dispatch provider roster. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: Official licensing sources do not state current commercial radio or dispatch onboarding acceptance criteria or contract terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council licensing fees and conditions do not establish commercial dispatch prices, commissions, deposits or account charges. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: Official vehicle and booking-office sources do not verify commercial radio coverage, job volume, wait times or earnings. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: Council policy, application pages and licensing lists do not establish vehicles for rent, shifts for sale, current availability or commercial terms. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide