Official-source evidence

South Lanarkshire Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 25 source-backed claims · 37 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory vehicle licence requirement

This establishes the regulated vehicle object and does not prove a current plate, waiting-list position, approval or commercial dispatch relationship.

  • Taxi: A licence under section 10 is required to use a motor vehicle as a taxi.
  • Private Hire Car: A licence under section 10 is required to use a motor vehicle as a private hire car.
  • Separate Objects: The statutory vehicle licence is separate from the driver licence and from any booking-office licence.
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are statutory outer rules and effects, not a South Lanarkshire operational target or proof that a submitted application is complete.

  • Relevant Date: the application date
  • Application Consideration: within the three-month period beginning with the relevant date
  • Final Decision: within the six-month period beginning with the end of the initial three-month period
  • Extension: on a licensing-authority summary application made within the six-month final-decision period, the sheriff may extend that six-month period where good reason appears
  • Missed Deadline Effect: the application is deemed granted or renewed
  • Deemed Temporary Duration: the period sought, capped at six weeks
  • Deemed Other Duration: one year
  • Ordinary Duration: three years or a shorter period determined by the licensing authority
  • Temporary Maximum: six weeks
  • Timely Renewal Continuation: a timely renewal keeps the existing licence in effect until grant or renewal, expiry of the appeal period after refusal, or abandonment or determination of a lodged appeal
  • Late Renewal: an application up to 28 days late may be treated as timely only where the authority considers that good cause is shown
  • Appeal Eligibility: a person who may require reasons under the Schedule and who followed all available procedures for stating their case
  • Appeal Method And Deadline: summary application lodged with the sheriff clerk within 28 days of the decision
  • Late Appeal: the sheriff may hear a late appeal where good cause is shown
  • Appeal Grounds: error of law; decision based on an incorrect material fact; action contrary to natural justice; unreasonable exercise of discretion
Current statutory rule

Statutory inspection testing and suspension powers

This is the national statutory framework and does not prove a local inspection result, booking slot or enforcement decision.

  • Holder Duty: present the licensed vehicle for inspection and testing within the period and at the place reasonably required by authority notice
  • Inspection Power: an authorised officer, authorised civilian employee or constable may inspect and test vehicle fitness and taximeter fitness or accuracy at a reasonable time
  • Failure Response: written requirement for further inspection; licence suspension until the examiner is satisfied
  • Twenty Eight Day Effect: if the examiner is not satisfied within 28 days of suspension, the licence is deemed suspended by the authority under Schedule 1 paragraph 11
Dated official source still linked

Served vehicle application process and council charges

These are the values served at retrieval, but the source metadata had expired and neither fee effective date nor grant-versus-renewal scope is stated.

  • Application Route: The council page links to an online taxi or private-hire car operator licence application.
  • Objection Period: 28 days
  • Police Consultation: The council says it sends the application to Police Scotland for comments or objections.
  • Charges Pounds: Taxi: 559.44; Taxi Transfer: 559.44; Private Hire Car: 549.26; Private Hire Car Transfer: 549.26; Substitute Vehicle: 66.11; Replacement Door Stickers: 19.06; Replacement Plates: 35.59
  • Document Collection: The applicant must bring proof of identity; a collector needs their own photo ID and a signed permission letter, and email permission is not accepted.
Current official source

Inspection booking payment notice and general cycle

No booking was made and the page publishes no inspection price or complete pass criteria.

  • General Cycle: annual inspections for all licensed taxi and private-hire vehicles, including vehicles with meters
  • Test Hours: 6am to 9pm Monday to Thursday and 6am to 6pm Friday
  • Payment: payment is required when booking
  • Replacement Notice: at least two working days, which may become three working days during busy renewal periods
  • Delivery: Fleet Services provides the inspection and the page links to an online appointment system
Current official source

Taxi private hire use identification inspection and insurance summary

The March 2026 page is a public summary; the interval conflicts with wording elsewhere and is not treated as a complete inspection manual.

  • Taxi Use: street hail; taxi rank; advance booking
  • Taxi Identification: taxi roof sign; white front and rear licence plates; door stickers; fare meter and fare card
  • Private Hire Use: must be pre-booked and cannot be street hailed or used from a taxi rank
  • Private Hire Identification: yellow rear licence plate; door stickers; no roof sign
  • Inspection Summary: every year, or every six months if over five years old
  • Insurance Summary: all vehicles must be insured to carry passengers
Current official source

Post licensing vehicle age testing certificate and missed test guidance

The page is currently served but sits under the driver-licence pathway and conflicts with the dated operator criteria; both limitations are explicit gaps.

  • First Licence Age: under five years old
  • Non Purpose Built Replacement Age: after ten years
  • Purpose Built Hackney Age: no age limit, subject to passing all tests
  • Testing: annual test for every vehicle and an extra check around six months after the annual test for vehicles over five years old
  • Random Test: the holder must attend if invited
  • Passed Annual Test: certificate of compliance for the next year
  • Missed Test: the page says the licence may be suspended if a test is missed without notice
Dated official source still linked

Dated vehicle age capacity configuration and luggage criteria

The official source remained linked after its metadata expiry and conflicts with a still-current council vehicle-guidance page.

  • First Licence Age: under seven years old
  • Saloon Type Upper Age: 12 years
  • Purpose Built Taxi Upper Age: no upper age limit stated
  • Six Monthly Inspection: over five years, except a purpose-built taxi from seven years
  • Passenger Capacity: at least four and no more than eight adult passengers excluding the driver
  • Doors: four or five doors, with two rear passenger windows for an estate or hatchback
  • Left Hand Drive: not permitted
  • Luggage: enough space for the number of people carried
Dated official source still linked

Dated taxi vehicle holder maintenance inspection insurance identification and operating duties

These operator duties are retained as dated still-linked evidence because the page metadata had expired before retrieval.

  • Maintenance: keep the taxi safe, fully working, clean and tidy subject to road conditions
  • Inspection: annual inspection, with an additional random inspection for a non-purpose-built vehicle over five years or a purpose-built vehicle over seven years
  • Damage: report damage as soon as possible and, if requested in writing and still roadworthy, present the vehicle within two working days
  • Notifications: notify an accident immediately; notify a conviction immediately
  • Insurance: maintain valid insurance and supply current and requested historic evidence
  • Identification: display council plates and signs; display an approved taxi roof sign
  • Meter: approved, sealed or stamped, and retested at least annually
  • Accepted Hire: take reasonable steps to meet an accepted time and place unless prevented by reasons beyond control
  • Fire Extinguisher: carry an approved securely fastened extinguisher
Dated official source still linked

Dated private hire vehicle holder maintenance inspection insurance identification and operating duties

These operator duties are retained as dated still-linked evidence because the page metadata had expired before retrieval.

  • Maintenance: keep the private-hire car safe, serviceable, clean and tidy subject to road conditions
  • Inspection: annual inspection and, for a vehicle over five years, one random inspection each year
  • Damage: report damage as soon as practicable and, if requested in writing and still roadworthy, present the vehicle within two working days
  • Notifications: notify an accident immediately; notify a conviction immediately
  • Insurance And Registration: maintain current insurance and hold the registration document and insurance in the holder name or one joint-holder name
  • Identification: display council plates and insignia; do not display a roof sign; obtain prior written approval for service signage
  • Meter If Fitted: use only a council-approved type and position and notify removal within two working days
  • Business Address: carry on business from the licensed South Lanarkshire zone address and notify prescribed changes or cessation
Dated official source still linked

Dated two way radio or similar communication device control point condition

This vehicle condition does not identify a provider or establish commercial radio, dispatch, subscription, pricing, coverage or onboarding evidence.

The condition says the holder must not install a two-way radio or similar communication device if the taxi control point is outside the zone in which the taxi is licensed to work.

Current official source

Public vehicle licensing testing contact and office

This is the current public contact route, not evidence of an available test slot or a completed application.

  • Office: Licensing office - Fleet Services
  • Address: 4 Livingstone Boulevard, Hamilton International Technology Park, Blantyre, G72 0BP
  • Telephone: 01698 717728
  • Opening: Monday to Thursday 8.45am to 4.30pm and Friday 8.45am to 4pm, by appointment only
  • Remit: taxi and private-hire operator and driver licensing, vehicle testing and related applications

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory premises and vehicle count threshold

The threshold concerns booking premises and does not itself license a vehicle, driver or commercial dispatch account.

  • Licensable Premises: premises used for a business taking public bookings by any means of communication for four or more relevant taxis or private hire cars
  • Equivalent Threshold: more than three relevant vehicles
  • Vehicle Licence: each relevant vehicle has an in-force section 10 taxi or private hire car licence
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are statutory outer rules and effects, not a South Lanarkshire operational target or proof that a booking-office application is complete.

  • Relevant Date: the application date, or where Finance Act 2021 tax-check confirmation rules prevent consideration on that date, the date that prevention ends
  • Application Consideration: within the three-month period beginning with the relevant date
  • Final Decision: within the six-month period beginning with the end of the initial three-month period
  • Extension: on a licensing-authority summary application made within the six-month final-decision period, the sheriff may extend that six-month period where good reason appears
  • Missed Deadline Effect: the application is deemed granted or renewed
  • Deemed Temporary Duration: the period sought, capped at six weeks
  • Deemed Other Duration: one year
  • Ordinary Duration: three years or a shorter period determined by the licensing authority
  • Temporary Maximum: six weeks
  • Timely Renewal Continuation: a timely renewal keeps the existing licence in effect until grant or renewal, expiry of the appeal period after refusal, or abandonment or determination of a lodged appeal, subject where applicable to the Schedule 1 tax-check blocking branch
  • Late Renewal: an application up to 28 days late may be treated as timely only where the authority considers that good cause is shown
  • Appeal Eligibility: a person who may require reasons under the Schedule and who followed all available procedures for stating their case
  • Appeal Method And Deadline: summary application lodged with the sheriff clerk within 28 days of the decision
  • Late Appeal: the sheriff may hear a late appeal where good cause is shown
  • Appeal Grounds: error of law; decision based on an incorrect material fact; action contrary to natural justice; unreasonable exercise of discretion
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

HMRC guidance supplies the national conditions; no tax-check code was generated and no live application flow was tested.

  • In Force From: 2023-10-02
  • Scottish Scope: booking-office licences, not Scottish taxi or private-hire vehicle licences
  • Tax Check Required: renewal; same licence type held and expired less than one year ago; same licence type already held with another licensing authority
  • New Applicant Route: a genuinely new applicant, or one whose same-type licence expired at least one year ago, confirms tax responsibilities rather than completing a tax check
  • Code: nine-character code
  • Code Validity: 120 days
  • Personal Completion: the applicant must complete their own tax check
  • Ordinary Renewal Without Valid Code: an existing Scottish licence expires on the later of 28 days after the licensing authority asks for the code or the existing licence expiry date
  • Temporary Licence Without Valid Code: a temporary Scottish licence expires on the later of seven days after the licensing authority asks for the code or the existing licence expiry date
Current statutory rule

Right to licence eligibility duration and cessation

The current consolidated Schedule supplies the limited-leave and cessation rules; the 2017 instrument records their application to booking-office licences.

  • Grant Or Renewal Rule: the authority must be satisfied that an individual applicant is not disqualified by immigration status
  • Ordinary Limited Leave: where section 3C does not apply, the licence period must end at or before the end of the person's limited leave
  • Section3 CLeave: where limited leave has been extended by section 3C, the licence period must not exceed six months
  • Renewal: the same duration rules apply to renewal
  • Cessation: a booking-office licence ceases to have effect if its holder becomes disqualified by immigration status
Current official source

Right to licence prescribed checks and supplemental verification

The checked South Lanarkshire pages do not identify the current prescribed right-to-licence checking method used locally.

  • Stage: new, renewal and extension applications by an individual
  • Prescribed Methods: manual check of original acceptable documents; right-to-work check using a Digital Verification Service for a British or Irish citizen, with the digital route limited to a valid passport or Irish passport card; Home Office online right-to-work check for a non-British or non-Irish citizen
  • Supplemental Status Verification Enquiries And Checking Service: SVEC can verify specified cases such as an outstanding application, administrative review or appeal, a non-digital Certificate of Application or status needing Home Office verification; it is not a fourth prescribed method
  • Separate Legal Entity: a limited company or limited liability partnership is outside the individual check described by the guidance
Current official source

National booking office applicant structures

This national guidance does not verify South Lanarkshire form acceptance, approval, availability or service timing.

  • Eligible Applicant Structures: individual person; partnership; limited partnership; limited company
  • Route Description: the national licence finder describes a booking-office licence for premises in Scotland where public bookings are taken for four or more taxis or private-hire cars
Current official source

National booking office records and reasonable steps

The as-made order states these duties and the current GOV.UK page repeats them; this is not represented as a fully consolidated copy of the order.

  • Records: particulars of every booking; registration number of the vehicle hired; name of its driver
  • Reasonable Steps: the licence holder must take reasonable steps to ensure that a vehicle hired as a result of a public booking is a licensed taxi or private-hire car driven by a person holding the corresponding driver licence
Current official source

Local booking office threshold application fee objection and collection process

The published booking-office charge has no effective-from date or express grant-versus-renewal scope, and the linked form was not opened or submitted.

  • Threshold: premises taking public bookings for more than three taxis or private-hire cars
  • Route: the page links to online application for a new licence or a change to existing licence terms
  • Published Fee Pounds: 830.25
  • Objection Period: 28 days
  • Consultation: Police Scotland receives a copy for comments or objections
  • Collection: proof of identity is required; another collector needs written permission and their own identification, and email permission is not accepted
Current official source

Local booking office application inputs site notice consultation start and transfer guidance

The council labels this page guidance only; the older conviction wording is excluded from claims pending current verification.

  • Listed Inputs: four recent colour passport photographs of each regular manager; proof of identity; proof of at least £500,000 third-party insurance; a copy of the proposed hire record sheet; proof of national insurance number
  • Planning: the guidance suggests checking planning-permission restrictions before applying
  • Site Notice: display the site notice and a full application copy where the public can see them 24 hours a day for 28 days after the licensing office receives the application
  • Consultees: Police Scotland; Scottish Fire and Rescue; Planning and Building Services; Environmental Services; local councillor
  • Start Before Decision: the guidance says work cannot start before approval
  • Sale: the licence cannot be transferred to the buyer; the new owner must apply afresh
Current official source

Local booking office mandatory and operating conditions

The page is still within its metadata validity period, but no separate effective date is stated and an internal condition-number cross-reference is unclear.

  • Mandatory Records: every booking; registration number of the hired vehicle; driver name at the time of hire
  • Reasonable Steps: ensure a public booking results in an in-force section 10 taxi or private-hire vehicle driven by a person holding an in-force section 13 driver licence
  • Premises: trade only from the licensed premises; display the licence; maintain suitable third-party insurance
  • Fulfilment: fulfil every accepted booking at the specified time and place unless prevented by sufficient cause, and record reasons for non-fulfilment
  • Complaints: maintain a complaint procedure and records of complaints and outcomes
  • Records: retain all records for one calendar year; where the records identified by the page are electronic, provide a printed version within 24 hours of a specified official enquiry, subject to the preserved numbering conflict
  • Zone Vehicles: use only relevant vehicles licensed by the council for the zone and displaying required identification
  • Vehicle Display: display the licensed premises name and telephone number on the rear window in an approved size and position
  • People List: keep an up-to-date list of operator and driver names, addresses and licence numbers
  • Conviction Notification: give full details to the licensing authority within 28 days of a conviction during the licence
Current official source

Local booking office tax check notice

The local notice is read with current HMRC guidance; no code was generated or submitted.

  • Applies From: 2023-10-02
  • Local Scope: booking office licence
  • Stated Triggers: renewal; same licence reapplied for within one year of ending; same licence application to another council
  • Application Input: obtain a tax-check code from HMRC and include it with the application
  • Effect Of No Code: the council says it cannot make a decision without the code when a tax check is required
Current official source

Public booking office contact and appointment route

These are published public contacts and do not establish application status, appointment availability or advice for an individual case.

  • Licensing Email: licensing@southlanarkshire.gov.uk
  • General Telephone: 0303 123 1015, option 7
  • Specialist Telephone: 01698 717728
  • Specialist Office: Fleet Services, 4 Livingstone Boulevard, Blantyre, G72 0BP
  • Appointment: booking-office work is handled at Fleet Services by appointment

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current official source

Online public register availability and relevant categories

No register search was submitted and no licence-holder, business, vehicle or plate rows were retained.

  • Scope Statement: summary of current licences and applications under the Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 and other licensing legislation
  • Relevant Options: Booking Office; Private Hire Car Operator; Private Hire Car Operator Limo; Taxi Operator
  • Council Index: the council application index links to the public register and describes current and past licences as viewable

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

37 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current vehicle fee schedule effective date: The served operator page lists monetary amounts but no effective-from, approval or last-reviewed date for the fee schedule. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle fee status after source metadata expiry: The official page remained live, but its DC.date.expired value was 31 August 2026, before retrieval; the council did not separately confirm that the listed charges remain the current schedule. NOT VERIFIED
  • Vehicle fee grant renewal transfer and variation scope: The page labels taxi, private-hire, transfer, substitute and replacement charges but does not state whether the base taxi and private-hire prices apply to grant, renewal or both. NOT STATED
  • Current local vehicle licence duration: The checked local pages do not state the duration South Lanarkshire ordinarily grants for taxi or private-hire vehicle licences. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle renewal intake window: No checked local page states how early a vehicle licence holder should apply for renewal or a local operational renewal deadline. NOT STATED
  • Live vehicle application form behaviour and required fields: The account-based application link was observed but was not opened, completed or submitted, so live field requirements and workflow behaviour are not verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current vehicle inspection reinspection and meter test fee amounts: The testing and conditions pages say payment is required but publish no current inspection, reinspection or meter-test price table. NOT STATED
  • Live inspection booking slots payment and completion: The linked booking system was not opened or used, so current slots, payment behaviour and successful booking completion are not verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current complete vehicle inspection manual and pass fail criteria: The checked pages give inspection cycles and broad safety standards but no complete current technical inspection manual or exhaustive pass and fail criteria. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle first licence and upper age rules: A current page under the driver pathway says under five at first licensing and replacement after ten for non-purpose-built vehicles, while the expired-but-live operator criteria say under seven and an upper age of twelve for saloon-type vehicles. CONFLICT
  • Current vehicle inspection frequency after age threshold: Current pages describe six-monthly or an extra check around six months for vehicles over five, while the dated operator conditions describe an annual inspection plus one random inspection; the testing page separately says annual inspections for all vehicles. CONFLICT
  • Current vehicle age guidance page route: The current page carrying the under-five and ten-year vehicle rules is nested in the taxi/private-hire driver-licence pathway, so its location does not cleanly match the vehicle route. LINK MISROUTED
  • Current complete taxi vehicle holder conditions: The detailed taxi operator conditions remained live but their page metadata expired on 31 August 2026; no later complete condition set was located. DATED ONLY
  • Current complete private hire vehicle holder conditions: The detailed private-hire operator conditions remained live but their page metadata expired on 31 August 2026; no later complete condition set was located. DATED ONLY
  • Current taximeter or charging device test fee: The dated conditions require meter approval or testing and payment where applicable but no current meter-test charge is published on the checked pages. NOT STATED
  • Current substitute vehicle documents test and timing requirements: A substitute-vehicle price and replacement-vehicle notice period are published, but the complete supporting documents, inspection sequence and approval timing are not stated. NOT STATED
  • Current post accident reporting inspection and repair duties: Detailed accident reporting, two-working-day presentation and post-repair reinspection wording was found only on the operator-condition pages whose metadata had expired. DATED ONLY
  • Current taxi two way radio control point condition: The taxi condition about a two-way radio control point being inside the licensed zone was found only on the expired-but-live operator conditions page. DATED ONLY
  • Current taxi vehicle licence or plate availability: No volatile availability or waiting-list result was captured for taxi vehicle licences or plates, and no inference is made from general application guidance. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current private hire vehicle licence or plate availability: No volatile availability or intake result was captured for private-hire vehicle licences or plates, and no inference is made from general application guidance. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current booking office fee effective date: The live booking-office page publishes £830.25 but gives no effective-from, approval or last-reviewed date for that charge. NOT STATED
  • Booking office fee grant renewal change and temporary scope: The page labels one booking-office licence fee and mentions a change-of-terms route but does not allocate fees separately to grant, renewal, variation or temporary applications. NOT STATED
  • Current local booking office licence duration: The checked local pages do not state the ordinary duration South Lanarkshire grants for a booking-office licence. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office renewal intake window: No checked local page states how early to renew a booking-office licence or gives a local operational renewal deadline. NOT STATED
  • Live booking office application behaviour and submission: The linked account-based application was not opened, completed or submitted, so current live fields, uploads and workflow behaviour are unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current complete booking office application form fields and declarations: The guidance lists supporting items but no static current application form or complete field and declaration set was exposed on the checked pages. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office conviction disclosure wording: The guidance page carries 2010 modification metadata and expressly advises legal advice; its conviction time bands were not corroborated against current disclosure law and are not promoted as a claim. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current local booking office right to licence check method and documents: National law and guidance identify the right-to-licence rules, but the checked local pages do not state South Lanarkshire current prescribed checking method or document workflow. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office operational processing target: The local page says to seek an update if nothing is heard within 28 days, but that is not stated as a decision target and no operational turnaround is published. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office conditions effective or revision date: The conditions page remains within its metadata validity period but displays only a 2010 modification date and no separate effective date for the conditions. NOT STATED
  • Booking office electronic records condition number cross reference: The page is internally inconsistent: its electronic-record condition refers to records in conditions 2, 3, 12 and 14, but the visible list numbering and subjects do not cleanly align with that cross-reference. CONFLICT
  • Current online register result completeness freshness and rows: Only the public-register landing page and relevant licence-type options were inspected; no search was submitted, so result completeness, dates and licence-holder rows were not verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: No checked official source provides a current commercial radio or dispatch provider roster, and no provider is inferred from licensing or vehicle-condition wording. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: No checked official source states current commercial radio or dispatch onboarding eligibility, documents, timing, availability or contract terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council vehicle and booking-office charges do not establish commercial radio or dispatch subscription prices, commission, deposits, equipment charges or cancellation terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No checked official source verifies commercial dispatch coverage, job volume, earnings, waiting time, allocation method or exclusivity. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: The licensing sources do not establish any current commercial taxi or private-hire vehicle rental, shift, insurance bundle, price or availability. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide