Official-source evidence

Shetland Islands Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 5 source-backed claims · 7 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current official source

Current vehicle eligibility documents inspection and duration

The council page describes its vehicle operator licence and supporting documents.

  • Doors Minimum: 4
  • Passenger Seats Maximum: 8
  • Documents: MOT for vehicles over one year old; Council inspection certificate; hire and reward insurance; V5C
  • Duration: one year
Current official source

Current council vehicle charges from 2026 04 01

Values are transcribed from the official schedule effective 1 April 2026.

  • Vehicle Grant: £137.00
  • Vehicle Renewal: £137.00
  • Vehicle Inspection: £57.40

Booking-office licensing

Current official source

Current threshold requirements and duration

The council page expressly states the four-or-more booking threshold and duration.

  • Licence Required At: four or more vehicles
  • Required Evidence: premises details; business nature; relevant insurances licences and permissions
  • Duration: three years

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

7 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current applicability of covid 19 application process notice: The live page retains a COVID-19 process notice but does not state whether it remains operational. NOT VERIFIED
  • Complete current processing time: The checked council page does not state a complete guaranteed processing time. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: Official licensing pages do not identify a current commercial dispatch-provider roster. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: Official licensing pages do not state commercial dispatch onboarding terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Official licensing pages do not state current dispatch prices or commissions. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: Official licensing pages do not establish dispatch coverage or live job volumes. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: Official licensing pages do not establish vehicles for rent or shifts for sale. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide