Official-source evidence

North Lanarkshire Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 28 source-backed claims · 38 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence suitability safety insurance and number controls

Section 10 governs vehicles, not a separate driver, booking-office or dispatch relationship.

  • Vehicle Licence Required: Yes
  • Grant Or Renewal Tests: suitable in type, size and design; safe for the licensed use; appropriate insurance or security in force
  • Taxi Number Control: refusal to limit taxi numbers requires no significant unmet demand
  • Private Hire Overprovision: refusal requires the statutory overprovision test
Current statutory rule

Vehicle substitution and disposal duties

The claim records the consolidated statutory vehicle provisions.

  • Substitution: the licensing authority may permit another vehicle to replace the licensed vehicle
  • Disposal: the licence must be delivered to the authority within 28 days after disposal unless the authority permits otherwise
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence actual council turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Published vehicle application route

The instruction is recorded as published; no later form behaviour, validation, upload, payment or submission was tested.

  • Indexed Forms: Taxi Operator grant and renewal; Private Hire Car grant and renewal
  • Published Instruction: download the correct form, complete every section, sign it and send it with the appropriate fee to the address on the form
Current official source

Current taxi operator licence area notice

This is the council page statement, not proof of physical plate stock, guaranteed issuance or a live allocation outcome.

  • North Area: the page states there are currently no Taxi Operator Licences available
  • Central Area: the page states Taxi Operator Licences remain available
  • South Area: the page states Taxi Operator Licences remain available
  • Route For Available Areas: contact the Licensing Team for an application form
Current official source

Published vehicle variation substitution and plate charges gbp

The fitness-test charge itself is not stated on this fee page.

  • Licence Holder Or Vehicle Variation: 42
  • Substitute Vehicle Excluding Test: 31
  • Replacement Plate: 31
Current official source

Published taxi fitness test transition booking details and documents

The page is taxi-specific. Its transition is retained without deciding which channel is live for any applicant; no account, booking or payment flow was used.

  • Page State: the council says it is moving to a new online system in two phases
  • Phase One: continue to phone 01698 506241; support staff add the booking and take payment
  • Future Account Route: mygovscot myaccount is described for adding a booking and users will be contacted when they begin using it
  • Booking Details: operator licence number; licensing area; operator licence expiry; vehicle make, model, colour, first-registration date and engine size
  • Appointment Documents: valid insurance; V5C registration document; bill of sale for a new or changed vehicle; EU type approval and certificate of conformity for rear-entry purpose-adapted or purpose-built vehicles
Current official source

Published taxi operator grant form fields and return route

The blank form was inspected without completing or submitting it.

  • Vehicle Fields: registration number; make and model
  • Applicant Structures: single applicant; co-partnership; company or firm
  • Management: applicant or proposed day-to-day manager details
  • Local Fields: North, South or Central area; address where the vehicle is kept
  • Background Fields: ten-year UK residence; prior refusals; convictions and fixed penalties
  • Published Return Route: Licensing Section postal address on the form
  • Published Payment Routes: card in person; card by telephone after application receipt
Current official source

Published taxi operator renewal form fields attachments and radio question

The unfilled radio question proves no affiliation or commercial terms; the blank form was not submitted.

  • Vehicle Fields: registration number; make and model
  • Licence Fields: licensing area; current licence expiry; vehicle inspection certificate expiry
  • Radio Question: asks whether the vehicle is available for hire on a radio or communication system and, if so, for details
  • Published Attachment Set: copy of log book; insurance certificate for the vehicle currently operating on the licence
  • Published Return Route: Licensing Section postal address on the form
  • Published Payment Routes: card in person; card by telephone after application receipt
Current official source

Published private hire grant form fields and return route

The blank form was inspected without completing or submitting it.

  • Vehicle Fields: registration number; make and model
  • Applicant Structures: single applicant; co-partnership; company or firm
  • Management: applicant or proposed day-to-day manager details
  • Local Fields: North, South or Central area; address where the vehicle is kept
  • Background Fields: ten-year UK residence; prior refusals; convictions and fixed penalties
  • Published Return Route: Licensing Section postal address on the form
  • Published Payment Routes: card in person; card by telephone after application receipt
Current official source

Published private hire renewal form fields attachments and radio question

The unfilled radio question proves no affiliation or commercial terms; the blank form was not submitted.

  • Vehicle Fields: registration number; make and model
  • Licence Fields: licensing area; current licence expiry; vehicle inspection certificate expiry
  • Radio Question: asks whether the vehicle is available for hire on a radio or communication system and, if so, for details
  • Published Attachment Set: copy of log book; insurance certificate for the vehicle currently operating on the licence
  • Published Return Route: Licensing Section postal address on the form
  • Published Payment Routes: card in person; card by telephone after application receipt
Dated official source still linked

Dated taxi vehicle age size capacity colour and equipment specification

This is dated, still-linked evidence; internal over-age wording and current policy status remain unresolved.

  • Document Effective Date: 2020-05-29
  • Age Rules: purpose-built: no more than 12 years at grant, renewal or substitution; document also mentions twice-yearly inspection over 12 years; purpose-adapted: no more than 9 years at grant, renewal or substitution; document also mentions twice-yearly inspection over 9 years; non-wheelchair-accessible in South and Central: no more than 5 years
  • Minimum Power: 60 kW or 80 bhp, including electric and hybrid vehicles
  • Passenger Capacity: four to six adult passengers excluding driver
  • Area Colours: white for South; black for Central
  • Equipment: approved meter and taxi sign; fire extinguisher; first-aid kit; rear plate
Dated official source still linked

Dated private hire vehicle age size capacity colour and equipment specification

This is dated, still-linked evidence; internal over-age wording and current policy status remain unresolved.

  • Document Effective Date: 2020-05-29
  • Age Rules: purpose-adapted: no more than 9 years at grant, renewal or substitution; document also mentions twice-yearly inspection over 9 years; non-wheelchair-accessible: no more than 5 years
  • Minimum Power: 60 kW or 80 bhp, including electric and hybrid vehicles
  • Passenger Capacity: four to six adult passengers excluding driver
  • Area Colour Restrictions: must not be white in South; must not be black in Central
  • Equipment: fire extinguisher; first-aid kit; rear plate
Dated official source still linked

Dated taxi licence holder vehicle operation conditions

The conditions are expressly dated 2007 and are not asserted as the current consolidated condition set.

  • Document Date: 2007-04-01
  • Inspection: annual council or agent inspection, with no operation after certificate expiry until passed
  • Records: driver names, addresses and who is driving retained for one year
  • Vehicle Documents: registration document in a principal holder name; motor insurance in the registration-holder name
  • Operating Items: accepted hire should be fulfilled absent reasonable excuse; rear licence plate display; approved and sealed taximeter; approved day-to-day manager; Council approval before transferring or hiring out an interest in the licence
Dated official source still linked

Dated private hire licence holder vehicle operation conditions

The conditions are expressly dated 2007 and are not asserted as the current consolidated condition set.

  • Document Date: 2007-04-01
  • Inspection: annual council or agent inspection, with no operation after certificate expiry until passed
  • Records: driver names, addresses and who is driving retained for one year
  • Vehicle Documents: registration document in a principal holder name; motor insurance in the registration-holder name
  • Operating Items: accepted hire should be fulfilled absent reasonable excuse; rear licence plate display; no roof sign; signs must not give the impression of a taxi; approved day-to-day manager

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence actual council turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Booking office threshold premises management records notice and duration

The local currently linked form gives a different site-notice duration, retained below as a conflict.

  • Threshold: bookings for four or more taxis or private hire cars
  • Premises: the premises where bookings are taken must be licensed
  • Holder: individual; partnership; limited partnership; limited company
  • Manager: name the person responsible for day-to-day management
  • Records: every booking; vehicle registration and driver name
  • Licence Checks: ensure vehicles and drivers have the correct licences
  • National Notice Duration Days: 21
  • Usual Licence Duration Years: 3
  • Online Application Statement: GOV.UK states that this licence cannot be applied for online
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

HMRC guidance does not list Scottish taxi or private-hire vehicle licences in this tax-check scope.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Required: renewing the same type of licence; applying after holding the same type within the previous year; applying to another authority while holding the same type
  • Code: nine-character tax-check code
  • Code Validity Days: 120
Current official source

Right to licence check scope and methods

No local current booking-office right-to-licence checklist was located.

  • Covered Scottish Licence: booking office licence
  • Events: new application; renewal; extension
  • Methods: digital status where prescribed; Home Office online service where available; current prescribed document checks
  • Time Limited Status: licence duration must not exceed the permitted immigration period
Current official source

Published booking office application route

The instruction is recorded as published; no form was entered or submitted.

  • Indexed Forms: Taxi and Private Hire Booking Office grant; Taxi and Private Hire Booking Office renewal
  • Published Instruction: download the correct form, complete every section, sign it and send it with the appropriate fee to the address on the form
Current official source

Published booking grant form fields and supporting items

The form is currently linked but contains unresolved site-notice and data-protection wording conflicts; it was not completed or submitted.

  • Applicant Structures: single applicant; co-partnership; company or firm
  • Management: applicant or proposed day-to-day manager details
  • Premises Fields: North, South or Central area; premises name and address; layout plan; number of taxi vehicles; number of private hire vehicles
  • Operational Fields: incoming-call diversion details; whether a written complaints policy exists; third-party liability policy details
  • Conditional Items: copy of complaints policy if one exists; certificate of good conduct and translation where applicable
  • Form Notice Instruction: the included certificate says it is returned after the site notice has been displayed for 28 days
Current official source

Published booking renewal form fields tax code and supporting items

The form tax field aligns with the national renewal route, while the notice duration and data-protection wording conflicts remain unresolved.

  • Applicant Structures: single applicant; co-partnership; company or firm
  • Management: named day-to-day manager details where applicable
  • Premises Fields: North, South or Central area; premises name and address; layout plan; number of taxi vehicles; number of private hire vehicles
  • Operational Fields: incoming-call diversion details; whether a written complaints policy exists; third-party liability policy details
  • Tax Check: nine-character code; the form says processing will not proceed until it is supplied and requests individual codes for partners or directors
  • Form Notice Instruction: the included certificate says it is returned after the site notice has been displayed for 28 days

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current statutory rule

Statutory register duty

The statutory duty does not prove completeness or freshness of online results.

  • Register Duty: the authority must keep a register of applications, decisions and prescribed licence information
  • Public Inspection: the register is available for public inspection at reasonable times and certified extracts may be supplied for a reasonable fee
Current official source

Current advertised application entrypoint and objection process

The checked page exposed no rows; no absence or completeness conclusion is drawn.

  • Page Purpose: applications requiring publication under the Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 are to be shown
  • Published Columns: type; applicant; manager name; premise address; published date; objection end date
  • Objection Route: in writing; name and address; signed; grounds specified; hand delivery, post or email by the listed date
  • Late Objections: the council may consider them if satisfied there was sufficient reason
Current official source

Current council statement on public licensing registers

The sources do not expose a vehicle- or booking-office-specific online register, access method or current rows.

  • Council Statement: the council says it is required by law to maintain a public register of licence applications and decisions
  • Fee Page Statement: a copy of the Register is listed at 10 pence

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

38 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current vehicle fee table effective date: The fee page is dated as last updated 1 May 2026 but does not state when its licence amounts took effect or their next review date. NOT STATED
  • Current taxi operator renewal fee due: The current fee page states £492, while the currently linked taxi renewal PDF has metadata title RENEWAL FEE: £132 and no visible body fee to resolve the discrepancy. CONFLICT
  • Current private hire car renewal fee due: The current fee page states £366, while the currently linked private-hire renewal PDF has metadata title RENEWAL FEE: £132 and no visible body fee to resolve the discrepancy. CONFLICT
  • Current booking office fee table effective date: The fee page is dated as last updated 1 May 2026 but does not state when its booking-office amounts took effect or their next review date. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle fitness test fee gbp: The fee page says the £31 substitute-vehicle amount excludes the test fee and the fitness page describes payment, but neither checked source gives the current fitness-test amount. NOT STATED
  • Current live taxi fitness booking channel: The fitness page describes a two-phase move to myaccount while also directing phase-one users to continue by phone and says users will be contacted; it does not identify the live channel for a particular applicant. NOT VERIFIED
  • Later vehicle form fields validation upload payment and submission behaviour: Only the public index and downloadable blank forms were inspected. No form was entered, no account was created, and validation, upload, payment and submission behaviour was not tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Complete current vehicle application supporting document set: The forms list some conditional or renewal attachments and the fitness page lists appointment documents, but the checked sources do not label one complete current set for each grant and renewal pathway. NOT STATED
  • Current consolidated taxi vehicle specification: The only specification linked from the current index states Effective from 29 May 2020; no later review, consolidation or supersession statement was found. DATED ONLY
  • Current consolidated private hire vehicle specification: The only specification linked from the current index states Effective from 29 May 2020; no later review, consolidation or supersession statement was found. DATED ONLY
  • Current consolidated taxi operator conditions: The current index links conditions expressly marked As at 1 April 2007, and no later consolidated condition set or review statement was found. DATED ONLY
  • Current consolidated private hire car conditions: The current index links conditions expressly marked As of 1 April 2007, and no later consolidated condition set or review statement was found. DATED ONLY
  • Dated taxi vehicle maximum age and overage inspection rule: The dated taxi specification says purpose-built vehicles must be no more than 12 years and purpose-adapted vehicles no more than 9 years at grant, renewal or substitution, yet immediately prescribes twice-yearly inspection for vehicles over those ages without explaining when over-age vehicles remain eligible. CONFLICT
  • Dated private hire vehicle maximum age and overage inspection rule: The dated private-hire specification says purpose-adapted vehicles must be no more than 9 years at grant, renewal or substitution, yet immediately prescribes twice-yearly inspection for vehicles over 9 years without explaining when over-age vehicles remain eligible. CONFLICT
  • Current taxi plate stock queue and guaranteed issuance: The council publishes a Taxi Operator Licence availability notice by area, but that does not prove physical plate stock, a queue position, immediate processing, eligibility or guaranteed issuance for an applicant. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current private hire vehicle grant or plate availability for an applicant: A downloadable grant form is evidence of a published application route only; it does not prove live acceptance, physical plate stock, processing capacity or likely outcome. NOT VERIFIED
  • Actual current vehicle application processing time: The checked local sources publish no actual or estimated current turnaround for a taxi-operator or private-hire-car grant or renewal; statutory outer limits are not an operational estimate. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle inspection capacity waiting time and booking outcome: The taxi fitness page states no current appointment capacity, waiting time, pass likelihood or individual outcome, and the dated private-hire sources provide no current capacity evidence. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle emissions or low emission eligibility standard: The checked local specifications state engine power and equipment requirements but no current Euro emissions, zero-emission, low-emission-zone or phase-out eligibility standard. NOT STATED
  • Current unmet demand survey or evidence supporting area availability: The current availability notice refers to review of expressions of interest but does not publish an unmet-demand survey, methodology or evidence supporting area licence availability. NOT STATED
  • Current local private hire overprovision assessment policy: The current local pages and forms do not state whether North Lanarkshire applies the statutory overprovision test, what localities it uses, or any current assessment evidence. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office site notice display duration days: Current GOV.UK guidance states 21 days from application, while both currently linked North Lanarkshire forms say their compliance certificate is returned after the site notice has been displayed for 28 days. CONFLICT
  • Current booking form data protection legislation wording: Both currently linked booking-office forms cite the Data Protection Act 1998, while the council current licensing privacy notice describes processing under the Data Protection Act 2018 and UK GDPR; no correction or transitional explanation is stated. CONFLICT
  • Current local booking office licence conditions: The council index links grant and renewal forms but no current local booking-office condition set; national guidance says councils may add local conditions. NOT STATED
  • Complete current booking office supporting document set and insurance minimum: The forms mention a layout plan, conditional complaints policy, third-party liability details and conditional good-conduct material, but do not label a complete checklist or state the required insurance-cover minimum. NOT STATED
  • Later booking form fields validation upload payment and submission behaviour: Only the public index and downloadable PDFs were inspected. No form was entered or submitted, and no account, field validation, upload, payment or receipt behaviour was tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Actual current booking office application processing time: The checked council pages and forms publish no actual or estimated current turnaround; the statutory three-month consideration and following six-month decision windows are outer rules, not an operational estimate. NOT STATED
  • Current local booking office right to licence check instructions: The current council index and booking forms do not state how North Lanarkshire implements the current Home Office right-to-licence check for booking-office applicants. NOT STATED
  • Current local booking office grant tax responsibility instructions: The renewal form requests tax-check codes, but the grant form and council index do not publish a local route for the HMRC confirmation-of-tax-responsibilities case that can apply when a tax check is not required. NOT STATED
  • Current advertised application rows and objection deadlines: The checked current-applications HTML contained the table headings but no rows. That snapshot does not prove there were no applications, that client-side or later content was absent, or that every route was represented. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current vehicle and booking office public register access method: The privacy notice states that public registers are maintained and the fee page lists a 10 pence copy charge, but neither source states where or how to inspect the relevant taxi, private-hire and booking-office register. NOT STATED
  • Current register results licence holders and vehicle or booking status: No route-specific public-register result set was exposed by the checked sources, so no holder, vehicle, booking office, licence status or expiry was verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Public register completeness freshness and update latency: The checked official sources give no coverage note, last-refresh time, update latency or completeness statement for vehicle and booking-office register data. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: The two vehicle renewal forms merely ask an applicant to supply radio or communication-system details. As blank official forms, they disclose no current provider names or accepting-provider roster. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: No checked official source states provider acceptance criteria, application steps, contract length, deposits, equipment, notice periods or onboarding decisions for any commercial radio or dispatch service. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council licence and inspection fees are regulatory charges and cannot evidence commercial subscriptions, circuit rent, commission, deposits or equipment prices; no official source states those commercial terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No checked official source verifies live dispatch coverage, driver demand, trip counts, queue size, job volume, hours or earnings for a commercial provider. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: Licence application forms, published council fees and blank radio-system questions do not identify vehicles for rent, available shifts, owner terms, deposits, insurance arrangements or live availability. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide