Official-source evidence

Moray Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 22 source-backed claims · 26 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current official source

Local operator licence terminology

Moray uses operator wording on vehicle materials; it is not evidence of a separate commercial fleet, dispatch or driver account.

  • Council Label: taxi/private hire operator licence
  • Licensed Object: the vehicle operated as a taxi or private hire car
  • Separate From Driver Licence: Yes
Current official source

Licence duration temporary duration and renewal lead

The three-year and temporary statements come from undated guidance still linked by the council; the 30-day renewal lead is also stated on the current page.

  • Ordinary Duration: generally three years
  • Shorter Duration: the council may grant a shorter period
  • Temporary Duration: six weeks under the current-linked undated guidance
  • Renewal Lead: submit a full renewal application at least 30 days before expiry
Current official source

Grant renewal substitution and submission route

These are the council-described routes; no form was submitted and no live workflow outcome was tested.

  • Grant: for applicants who have never held the licence or do not currently hold one
  • Renewal: for a current unexpired licence due to expire
  • Substitution: separate substitution application route
  • Submission: completed form and fee by post or by email to licensing@moray.gov.uk
Current official source

Police consultation and committee referral

The 21 days describes the objection or observation window and is not represented as a complete application-processing target.

  • Consulted Body: Police Scotland
  • Objection Window: 21 days
  • No Objection Path: licence may proceed to issue after the vehicle test where appropriate
  • Objection Path: application is referred to the Licensing Committee and the applicant may attend
Current official source

Current application fields and checklist

The claim reports the current official form fields and does not establish approval, availability or inspection booking.

  • Taxi Zones: Zone 1 Elgin; Zone 2 outwith Elgin
  • Applicant Details: individual or organisation details; company or partnership participants; day-to-day manager
  • Vehicle Details: registration; first registration; make and model; colour; engine capacity; seat count; chassis number; registered owner; where kept
  • Checklist: application fee; Moray Council taxi test with Fleet Services; overseas criminal-record evidence where applicable
  • Incomplete Result: the form says missing information or documents will be returned as invalid
Current official source

Current council vehicle licensing fees

These are council licensing charges only and do not include inferred insurance, vehicle, radio, dispatch or other commercial costs.

  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Currency: GBP
  • Taxi Or Private Hire Vehicle Operator: 484
  • Plate: 26
  • Plate Refundability: non-refundable
  • Variation: 32
  • Vehicle Substitution: 405
  • Copy Licence: 26
Current official source

Processed application fee refund policy

This is the council general licensing fee statement and does not determine any case-specific refund entitlement.

Once an application has been processed, the fee is not refunded or reduced if the application is refused or a shorter licence period is granted.

Current official source

Licensed vehicle driver journey log

This is a licence-holder or operator record duty; it does not prove any employment, rental or dispatch relationship.

  • Duty: keep a record of the person who drove the licensed vehicle on any journey
  • Access: make the record available to the council on request
Current official source

Council vehicle inspection frequency and booking route

No appointment was booked and the stated six-month interval does not establish a passing result.

  • Frequency: six-monthly
  • Scope: all taxis and private hire vehicles according to the current testing page
  • Grant Booking: new applicants arrange the test with Fleet Services
  • Renewal Booking: Fleet Services contacts renewal applicants according to the current-linked guidance
Current official source

Current fleet testing charges

The 2026/27 schedule is used instead of the lower amounts still shown on the undated taxi-testing page.

  • Financial Year: 2026/27
  • Currency: GBP
  • Tax Basis: schedule states all Fleet Services charges are net of VAT
  • Taxi Test: 71
  • Taxi Retest: 71
  • Meter Calibration: 20.5
  • Duplicate Certificate: 17.5
  • Prohibition Clearance: 17.5
  • Mot Certificate With Taxi Test: 15
  • Mot Class Charges: set by DVSA; no numeric amount stated in the schedule
Current official source

Inspection standard and checked items

A two-way radio appearing as a safety-check item is not evidence of a provider, account, price, onboarding term or commercial availability.

  • Relationship To Mot: supplements the DVSA MOT inspection manual for class 4 vehicles
  • Areas: presentation; oil and cooling; bodywork; interior; tyres; lights; taxi meter; licence plate; performance; roof signs; first-aid equipment; fire extinguisher
  • Fitted Accessories: taxi meters, satellite navigation and two-way radios are checked for secure fitting and safe tidy wiring
Current official source

Cctv guidance if voluntarily installed

These are council guidance statements for voluntary CCTV and are not represented as mandatory conditions for every licensed vehicle.

  • Licence Condition Status: the guidance says CCTV is an individual choice and is not a prescribed licence condition
  • Controller: the licence holder is the data controller if CCTV is installed
  • Assessment: a data-protection impact assessment is expected
  • Remote Processor: a formal contract is expected if a remote storage provider processes data
  • Audio: normally disabled, with limited threat-triggered activation described
  • Maximum Retention: 31 days
  • Signage: passengers should be informed through suitable signage
Current official source

Licensing compliance inspection and enforcement framework

The policy covers several licensing statutes; it does not state that every listed action applies in every taxi or private-hire case.

  • Approach: risk-based and targeted
  • Inspections: planned inspections; unannounced inspections; possible joint visits with partner agencies
  • Actions: reports; letters; statutory notices where available; possible report to the Procurator Fiscal
  • Proportionality: the policy says enforcement factors and proportionality are considered
  • Formal Action Communication: discussion normally precedes formal action except where immediate action is required; an immediate explanation is followed in writing, mostly within five working days and all within ten working days

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Premises and vehicle count threshold

The booking-office licence is for the booking premises and does not itself license vehicles, drivers or commercial dispatch accounts.

  • Licence Required: when public bookings are taken through premises for four or more relevant licensed vehicles
  • Threshold Equivalent: more than three taxis or private hire cars
Current official source

Current fee submission and renewal lead

The £591 amount is the council licensing fee; no commercial operator, dispatch, equipment or vehicle cost is inferred.

  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Currency: GBP
  • Booking Office Four Or More Cars: 591
  • Renewal Lead: submit at least 30 days before expiry
  • Submission: signed form and fee to Governance, Strategy and Performance, Moray Council, High Street, Elgin IV30 1BX
Current official source

Renewal tax check

This records the official tax-check guidance and local page wording, not a determination of an applicant’s tax position.

  • Local Commencement Statement: the council page says the Scottish tax-check requirement came into force on 2 October 2023
  • Code Length: 9 characters
  • Code Validity: 120 days according to the current-linked 2023 guidance and current HMRC guidance
  • Local Invalid Code Consequence: the council page says the existing licence expires on the later of 28 days after the authority asks for the code or the ordinary expiry date
Dated official source still linked

Dated duration consultation and notice process

These process details are preserved as dated official guidance still linked by the current page, not promoted to a verified-current local workflow.

  • Ordinary Duration: generally three years with council discretion to grant a shorter period
  • Temporary Duration: six weeks
  • Consultation Bodies: Police Scotland; Scottish Fire and Rescue Service; Chief Planning Officer
  • Consultation Period: 21 days
  • Display Notice: guidance describes displaying a notice for 21 days and returning the certificate
Dated official source still linked

Dated application form fields

The linked form is evidence of the dated fields only and does not prove that every 2019 field remains current.

  • Form Date: 2019-01-28
  • Fields: applicant or organisation details; company directors or partnership participants; day-to-day manager; premises; planning and building status; number of vehicles; incoming-call diversion outside the premises; convictions; overseas residence; public-notice declaration
Current official source

National right to licence check guidance

The national guidance does not establish which check method Moray Council exposes in its current local application workflow.

  • Scope: Scottish booking-office licence applications
  • Authority Duty: national guidance describes checks intended to prevent illegal working
  • Applicant Evidence: documents or digital status may be checked through the methods described by the Home Office

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current official source

Official public licensing testing and compliance contacts

These are official public authority contacts; they are not commercial radio, dispatch, rental or operator recommendations.

  • Licensing Email: licensing@moray.gov.uk
  • Licensing Telephone: 0300 123 4561
  • Licensing Postal Address: Governance, Strategy and Performance, Moray Council, High Street, Elgin IV30 1BX
  • Fleet Testing Email: mot.bay@moray.gov.uk
  • Fleet Testing Telephone: 01343 557332
  • Fleet Testing Address: Ashgrove Depot, Ashgrove Road, Elgin IV30 1UU
  • Fleet Testing Hours: Monday to Friday, 07:30 to 18:00
  • Licensing Standards Email: LicStandardsOfficers@moray.gov.uk
  • Licensing Standards Telephone: 01343 563030
Current official source

Online current application and public register facility

The facility is retained only as a future research lead; no account was created and no live business, licence or application row was inspected.

  • Capability: view current applications; track a licence; make comments; view decisions; view public registers
  • Public Access: the page says anyone can view current applications
  • Account Boundary: an account is required to track or comment
  • Evidence Use: RESEARCH_LEAD_ONLY

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

26 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current grant plate quota or waiting list availability: The checked council pages, forms and guidance do not state a live plate quota, waiting-list position, grant inventory or guarantee that a new vehicle application will be approved. NOT STATED
  • Complete current processing time: The current page states a 21-day Police Scotland objection window but does not state an end-to-end processing target including validation, testing and any committee determination. NOT STATED
  • Live submission validation payment and acknowledgement behaviour: No form was submitted, no payment was made and no acknowledgement or case-specific validation outcome was tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Vehicle guidance issue and effective date: The current council forms page links the vehicle guidance, but the document body does not state an issue, update or effective date. NOT STATED
  • Vehicle guidance disclaimer subject: The document heading concerns taxi and private-hire operator licensing, but its disclaimer refers to late hours catering. CONFLICT
  • Vehicle guidance licensing email domain: The guidance prints licensing@moray.go.uk, while the current vehicle, booking-office, fee and licensing pages use licensing@moray.gov.uk. CONFLICT
  • Current complete vehicle schedule of conditions: The vehicle page says applicable condition schedules are available on the forms page, but the checked forms page exposes no separate current taxi-vehicle or private-hire-vehicle conditions link. LINK MISROUTED
  • Current taxi test retest meter and certificate charges: The undated current testing page displays £67.90 tests and re-tests, £19.50 meter checks and £16.60 duplicate certificates, while the 2026/27 schedule states £71, £20.50 and £17.50 respectively. CONFLICT
  • Current vehicle evaluation and mot numeric charges: The 2026/27 schedule does not state numeric MOT class charges and does not corroborate the undated page amount for vehicle evaluation. NOT STATED
  • Private hire specific application of every manual item: The testing page says six-month inspections cover taxis and private-hire vehicles, but the linked manual uses taxi terminology and does not map every item separately to private-hire vehicles. NOT STATED
  • Current insurance vehicle finance fuel maintenance and equipment costs: Official council sources state council fees and tests but do not provide verified current commercial insurance, finance, fuel, maintenance, equipment or operating prices. NOT STATED
  • Licensing compliance policy adoption and effective date: The linked policy body does not print an adoption or commencement date; its 12 September 2025 modified metadata is not an effective-date statement. NOT STATED
  • Charge schedule embedded title year: The current page and PDF content identify the schedule as 2026/27, but the PDF embedded title metadata says Charging for Services 2024-25 FINAL. CONFLICT
  • Complete current processing time: The current page gives a 30-day renewal lead but does not state an end-to-end target covering validation, consultation, notice, hearing and decision. NOT STATED
  • Live submission validation payment and acknowledgement behaviour: No booking-office form was submitted, no payment was made and no acknowledgement, tax-code or right-to-licence workflow was tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current complete booking office schedule of conditions: The current booking-office page refers to a Schedule of Conditions, but its checked markup exposes guidance, application and display-notice documents without a separate conditions link. LINK MISROUTED
  • Current booking office application form version: The current page links a form last updated on 28 January 2019; no newer dated application form was exposed in the checked official pages. DATED ONLY
  • Current applicability of dated booking guidance process: The current page links guidance printed as last updated on 2 September 2023, but it does not expressly confirm that every duration, consultation and notice detail remains current. DATED ONLY
  • Current local right to licence check method and evidence route: National guidance describes permissible right-to-licence checks, but the checked Moray page and dated form do not state which current local method or evidence route is used. NOT STATED
  • Complete current consolidated booking office statutory effect: The official legislative sources checked are original as-made instruments plus national guidance; they do not constitute a verified consolidated statement of every amendment currently in force. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current live register rows and business status: The public-register landing page was verified, but no portal account was created and no live application, licence, business or decision row was inspected. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: The checked statutory, council licensing, testing, fee and register sources do not identify a verified current roster of commercial radio or dispatch providers accepting operators. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: No checked official source states current commercial provider eligibility, documents, onboarding steps, waiting time, contract term or account-acceptance decision. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council licensing and testing fees are not commercial dispatch prices; no checked official source states radio rent, subscription, commission, equipment deposit, cancellation or other provider charges. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No checked official source verifies commercial provider coverage, job volume, earnings, waiting time, rank access, exclusivity or demand in the Moray Council area. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: No checked official source verifies a current vehicle rental, lease, shift, owner-driver, insurance-inclusive or fleet placement offer. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide