Official-source evidence

Highland Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 21 source-backed claims · 18 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current official source

Local operator licence terminology

Highland's guidance expressly calls the vehicle licence the operator licence and separates it from the driver licence.

  • Operator Licence Is Vehicle Licence: Yes
  • One Separate Licence Per Vehicle: Yes
  • Driver Separately Licensed: Yes
Current official source

Vehicle age capacity dimensions and equipment

The Council may approve an exception to the stated vehicle-age limits; the remaining listed characteristics are presented as baseline requirements.

  • Maximum Age At Application Years Unless Council Approves: 5
  • Purpose Built Taxi Maximum Age Years Unless Council Approves: 10
  • Adult Passenger Seats Minimum: 4
  • Adult Passenger Seats Maximum: 8
  • Minimum Power Kw Or Engine Cc: 55 kW or 1575 cc
  • Minimum Rear Seat Width Cm: 122
  • Minimum Inside Opening Doors: 4
  • Seat Belt Per Passenger: Yes
Current official source

Operator application documents and information

The current forms cover grant and renewal; successful issue still depends on inspection and the Council's determination.

  • Applicant Types: individual; company; partnership
  • Vehicle Information: registration and first-registration date; make and dimensions; passenger capacity; wheelchair accessibility; electric or hybrid status; operating premises and hours
  • Documents Before Issue: hire-and-reward insurance; vehicle registration document; MOT certificate if applicable
  • Converted Van Requires: valid SVA or certificate of fitness
  • Inspection Fee Separate: Yes
Current official source

Full temporary and determination periods

The 28-day statement is a normal minimum timeline, not a guaranteed completion date; objections can extend determination.

  • Normal Full Licence Years: 3
  • Shorter Period May Be Set: Yes
  • Temporary Maximum Weeks: 6
  • Normal Issue After Minimum Days: 28
  • Statutory Determination Maximum Months: 9
  • Normally Transferable: No
Current official source

Operator licence fees

The live page still presents this as the applicable schedule on the checked date, although its effective date remains 1 April 2025.

  • Currency: GBP
  • Effective From: 2025-04-01
  • Taxi Operator: 506
  • Private Hire Car Operator: 506
  • Temporary Licence: 50 percent of relevant full application fee
  • Application Fee Refundable If Refused Or Withdrawn: No
Current official source

Vehicle retest charges and published validity

The fee schedule's 14-day window conflicts with the guidance's 10-working-day window and is therefore paired with a conflict gap.

  • Currency: GBP
  • Effective From: 2025-04-01
  • Inspection Only Retest: 54
  • Retest With Mot: 59
  • No Charge If Re Presented By End Of Following Working Day: Yes
  • Fee Schedule Validity Days From Original Inspection: 14
  • Full Fee After Published Window: Inspection: 114; Inspection With Mot: 134
Current official source

Inspection scope and failure controls

The guidance states that inspection and meter-test charges are additional to the operator licence fee.

  • Mot Standard Where Applicable: Yes
  • Passenger Hire Safety Assessment: Yes
  • Appearance And Utility Assessment: Yes
  • Additional Checks: spare wheel or inflation kit; battery security; LPG system; wheelchair adaptations; recall work; emissions
  • Dangerous Failure Plate Surrender Offered: Yes
  • Late Cancellation Or No Show May Cost Full Inspection Fee: Yes
Current official source

Taxi vehicle operating conditions

This is a local vehicle-operator condition set and does not establish that the licence holder personally holds a driver licence.

  • Safe Serviceable Clean And Smart: Yes
  • Accident Damage Report As Soon As Practicable: Yes
  • Roadworthy Accident Presentation Within Working Days: 2
  • Driver Roster Retention Years: 1
  • Registration Insurance And Mot Carried: Yes
  • Council Plates Displayed: Yes
  • Approved Roof Sign: Yes
  • Approved Sealed Meter: Yes
  • Minimum Fire Extinguisher Kg Dry Powder: 1
  • First Aid Kit: Yes
Current official source

Private hire vehicle operating conditions

A private hire car may use a meter, but the conditions require Council testing and approval if one is fitted.

  • Safe Serviceable Clean And Smart: Yes
  • Accident Damage Report As Soon As Practicable: Yes
  • Roadworthy Accident Presentation Within Working Days: 2
  • Driver Roster Retention Years: 1
  • Registration Insurance And Mot Carried: Yes
  • Council Plates Displayed: Yes
  • Pre Bookings Only Door Signs: Yes
  • Roof Signs Prohibited: Yes
  • Meter Optional But Must Be Approved If Fitted: Yes
  • Minimum Fire Extinguisher Kg Dry Powder: 1
  • First Aid Kit: Yes

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Booking office licence threshold

The premises licence is separate from the individual section 10 vehicle licences and driver licences.

  • Licence Required: Yes
  • Public Bookings By Any Communication Means: Yes
  • Premises Vehicle Threshold: more than three relevant vehicles
  • In Force From: 2009-11-16
Current official source

Booking office full and temporary fee

The £404 fee is current-page evidence; the temporary percentage and non-refund rule come from current-linked council documents.

  • Currency: GBP
  • Effective From: 2025-04-01
  • Full Application: 404
  • Temporary Application: 50 percent of the relevant full application fee
  • Application Fee Refundable If Refused Or Withdrawn: No
Current official source

Booking office application information notice and tax check

A reference to telephone or radio booking hours is an application field, not evidence of a commercial radio provider or account.

  • Applicant Types: individual; company; partnership
  • Information: day-to-day manager; beneficial party; number of vehicles; premises; public and telephone or radio booking hours; convictions
  • Public Notice Days: 21
  • Certificate Of Compliance After Notice: Yes
  • Tax Check Code Age Maximum Days: 120
  • Tax Check Applies To: renewal; same licence expired less than one year; same licence held with another authority
  • First Time Applicant Tax Guidance Declaration: Yes
Current official source

Booking records display safety and insurance

The current-linked local conditions state a £5 million minimum liability indemnity where the public can access the premises or waiting area.

  • Record Every Booking: Yes
  • Record Vehicle Registration And Driver: Yes
  • Verify Relevant Vehicle And Licensed Driver: Yes
  • Records Available For Council Or Police Inspection: Yes
  • Display Licence Where Public Has Access: Yes
  • Public Access Health And Fire Safety Systems: Yes
  • Avoid Reasonable Annoyance: Yes
  • Third Party Liability Insurance Minimum GBPWhere Public Has Access: 5000000
  • Return Licence Within Days After Cessation Or Suspension: 7
Dated official source still linked

Published booking duration consultation and determination

This process description is retained only as dated, still-linked council guidance and requires current confirmation before operational use.

  • Normal Full Licence Years: 3
  • Shorter Period May Be Set: Yes
  • Temporary Maximum Weeks: 6
  • Normal Issue After Minimum Days: 28
  • Statutory Determination Maximum Months: 9
  • Consulted Bodies: Police; Fire Service; Trading Standards; Environmental Health; Planning and Building Standards
Current official source

Current right to licence check routes

The current national guidance conflicts with narrower and partly obsolete evidence wording in Highland's linked booking application and 2020 guidance.

  • Required Before Issue: Yes
  • Check Routes: manual original-document check; digital verification service for eligible British or Irish passport holders; Home Office online check for eligible non-British or non-Irish applicants
  • Expired Physical Brp Accepted: No
  • Guidance Updated: 2025-08-06

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current official source

Public contact and vehicle enforcement routes

These are official public routes; they are not commercial provider contacts or endorsements.

  • Licensing Email: licensing@highland.gov.uk
  • Licensing Telephone: 01349 88 6606
  • Licensed Vehicle Enforcement Email: trading.standards2@highland.gov.uk
  • Unlicensed Vehicle Non Emergency Police Telephone: 101
  • Taxi Rank Parking Email: parking@highland.gov.uk

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

18 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current grant plate quota or waiting list availability: The checked current council page, application forms and guidance do not state a live taxi or PHC plate quota, waiting-list position, grant inventory or guarantee that a new application will be approved. NOT STATED
  • Fee schedule effective after 2025 04 01: The live page and linked schedule checked in September 2026 still say the fees apply from 1 April 2025 and do not state a later effective date. NOT STATED
  • Operator guidance effective date: The current PDF has 25 August 2026 creation metadata but its text does not state an effective date or distinguish the dates of individual requirements. NOT STATED
  • Paid retest validity window: The current fee page and fee PDF say the £54 or £59 re-test fee is valid for 14 days from the original inspection, while the current-linked operator guidance says the re-test rate applies for a maximum of 10 working days. The shard does not equate or choose between those periods. CONFLICT
  • Actual application processing time: The guidance states a normal 28-day minimum and a nine-month determination limit, but no current case-specific completion time or service standard was verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Live portal fields upload limits save resume payment and submission: Only the public register/sign-in or continue-without-account page was inspected; downstream fields, uploads, conditional questions, save state, payment and submission were not entered or tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Taxi and phc condition effective dates: The current-linked taxi and PHC conditions expose file metadata dates but do not state the dates on which their requirements took effect. NOT STATED
  • Current testing sites contractors appointment capacity and wait time: The checked current source set does not publish a complete current list of testing sites and contractors together with appointment capacity or waiting time. NOT STATED
  • Online booking office application submission route: The current booking page supplies downloadable forms, while the form says it should be lodged with a licensing office or service point; no current end-to-end online submission route is stated. NOT STATED
  • Current booking duration consultation and processing guidance: The only checked local document stating the normal three-year duration, consultees, 28-day normal issue point and nine-month determination limit has embedded creation metadata from 2020, although it remains linked from the current council page. DATED ONLY
  • Booking office condition effective date: The booking conditions have January 2026 package metadata but do not state the date on which the conditions took effect. NOT STATED
  • Right to licence documents and check method: Highland's January 2026 application says original documents such as a passport or biometric residence permit must be checked in the applicant's presence, and its 2020 guidance contains an obsolete document list. Home Office guidance updated 6 August 2025 permits prescribed manual, digital-verification and online routes and says expired physical BRPs are not acceptable. Current Highland handling is not resolved by the published local material. CONFLICT
  • Complete current vehicle operator and booking office register rows: The wheelchair-accessible list is only a designated subset; no complete current register of all Highland taxi vehicles, PHCs, operators and booking offices was ingested or inferred. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current commercial provider roster: The official licensing sources do not publish a current commercial radio or dispatch provider roster and must not be treated as a recommendation list. NOT STATED
  • Provider onboarding eligibility documents and timing: The checked official sources do not state current commercial-provider eligibility, onboarding documents, approval timing, account availability or acceptance criteria. NOT STATED
  • Provider fees commission equipment deposit and cancellation terms: Council licence, inspection and booking-office fees do not establish commercial dispatch joining fees, subscriptions, commission, equipment costs, deposits or cancellation terms. NOT STATED
  • Coverage job volume earnings waiting and exclusivity: The official sources do not verify any commercial dispatch service's coverage, job volume, earnings, waiting time, shift expectations or exclusivity restrictions. NOT STATED
  • Vehicle rental shift vehicle and insurance arrangements: The official licensing material does not establish any provider's vehicle-rental stock, shift vehicle availability, rental price, insurance allocation or maintenance arrangement. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide