Official-source evidence

East Dunbartonshire Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 28 source-backed claims · 42 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence suitability safety insurance and number controls

Section 10 governs vehicles and does not establish a separate driver, booking-office or dispatch relationship.

  • Vehicle Licence Required: Yes
  • Grant Or Renewal Tests: suitable in type, size and design; safe for the licensed use; appropriate insurance or security in force
  • Taxi Number Control: refusal to limit taxi numbers requires no significant unmet demand
  • Private Hire Overprovision: refusal requires the statutory overprovision test
Current statutory rule

Vehicle substitution and disposal duties

The claim records the current consolidated statutory vehicle provisions.

  • Substitution: the licensing authority may permit another vehicle to replace the licensed vehicle
  • Disposal: the licence must be delivered to the authority within 28 days after disposal unless the authority permits otherwise
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence East Dunbartonshire Council's actual turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Published vehicle application delivery and identity route

This records the council page's published delivery wording; the role of its separate external Apply links remains unresolved below.

  • Completed Form Delivery: in person at one of four named community hubs with the appropriate fee
  • Identity: proof of identity is required
  • Company Or Partnership Authority: appropriate authority must be shown
  • Partnership Attendance: all partners are stated to attend in person and produce identity evidence
Current official source

Published vehicle operator licence fee duration and refund position

The live page amount conflicts with both still-linked operator application PDFs, each of which states 388.96 pounds.

  • Fee Gbp: 562
  • Duration Years: 3
  • Unsuccessful Application Fee: non-refundable
Current official source

Published operator application form fields and supporting items

The PDF was inspected only as a static form; later validation, payment and submission behaviour was not exercised.

  • Application Types: taxi grant; taxi renewal; private-hire grant; private-hire renewal
  • Applicant Details: natural person; company or partnership; day-to-day manager; convictions; other licences
  • Vehicle Details: registration; make; model; chassis; passenger seats; wheelchair accessibility; premises where kept
  • Listed Original Items: certificate of compliance; meter test if applicable; insurance for renewal; registration document or specified ownership evidence; partnership agreement if applicable
Current official source

Published operator form radio base question

A blank field asking for a radio base is not evidence that any commercial provider is current, available or accepting applicants.

  • Question: state which radio base the applicant will be working from
Current official source

Published change vehicle form fields documents and form fee

The form fee conflicts with the dated fee page's 200-pound variations amount and is not treated as a resolved amount due.

  • Fields: licence number; former registration; replacement vehicle details; passenger seats; wheelchair accessibility
  • Listed Original Items: certificate of compliance; meter test if applicable; insurance; vehicle ownership evidence; partnership agreement if applicable
  • Form Administration Fee Gbp: 100
Dated official source still linked

Dated still linked operator application copy

This dated copy is preserved as evidence of link ambiguity and stale fee wording, not as the current amount payable.

  • Metadata Modified: 2020-04-08
  • Body Fee Gbp: 388.96
  • Radio Base Question: present
  • Link Context: linked from the undated taxi-recruitment block rather than the Documents entry
Dated official source still linked

Dated taxi operator vehicle and operation conditions

The council still links these conditions, but their 2019 date is explicit and current consolidation is unresolved.

  • Dated: 2019-10-01
  • Topics: vehicle plates and signage; maintenance and cleanliness; insurance; accepted hires; licensed-area operation; wheelchair duties
Dated official source still linked

Dated taxi vehicle specification and testing policy

The later service report says testing-centre regulation was reviewed, so this claim remains dated rather than current.

  • Dated: 2019-10-01
  • Vehicle Types: Hackney, Fiat Scudo, Peugeot Euro 7 or another type approved in writing for public hire
  • Testing: annual when younger than five years and every six months when five years old or older
  • Test Standard: certificate-of-compliance examination at the council or a council-approved test station
Dated official source still linked

Dated private hire operator vehicle and operation conditions

The council still links these conditions, but their 2019 date is explicit and current consolidation is unresolved.

  • Dated: 2019-10-01
  • Topics: vehicle plates and signage; maintenance and cleanliness; insurance; pre-arranged hires; licensed-area operation; wheelchair duties
Dated official source still linked

Dated private hire vehicle specification and testing policy

The later service report says testing-centre regulation was reviewed, so this claim remains dated rather than current.

  • Dated: 2019-10-01
  • Base Specification: saloon, estate or other council-approved type; four doors; minimum 0.0648 horsepower per kilogram power-to-weight ratio; stated minimum seat and leg dimensions
  • Electric Or Hybrid: subject to an approved electric-vehicle list and council or approved-station inspection
  • Testing: annual when younger than five years and every six months when five years old or older
Dated official source still linked

Dated 2025 26 vehicle and variation fees

The schedule is explicitly labelled 2025/26 and is not treated as proof of a 2026/27 amount.

  • Effective From: 2025-04-01
  • Taxi Or Private Hire Vehicle Fee Gbp: 562
  • Variation Including Change Of Vehicle Gbp: 200
Current official source

Currently displayed undated taxi recruitment block

This is a faithful record of undated text currently displayed, not verification of present licence or plate availability.

  • Cap Introduced: 30 September 2019
  • Displayed Invitation: approximately 80 licences and up to two applications per applicant
  • Displayed Temporary Flexibility: vehicle purchase may wait until checks are complete, with make and model identified earlier
  • Displayed Waiting List Statement: applications after the cap is reached are placed on a waiting list and the fee refunded
Dated official source still linked

Dated 2024 taxi operator recruitment and vehicle ownership flexibility

The dated announcement helps identify the age of similar undated text on the operator page and does not prove current headroom.

  • Date: 2024-04-25
  • Up To Operator Licences: 2
  • Vehicle And Insurance Before Application: not required by the announcement
  • Before Grant: registration number; insurance information; proof of ownership

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence East Dunbartonshire Council's actual turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Booking office threshold premises management records notice and duration

The currently linked council PDF also states a 21-day notice and an in-person delivery route; local conditions can add requirements.

  • Threshold: bookings for four or more taxis or private hire cars
  • Premises: the premises where bookings are taken must be licensed
  • Holder: individual; partnership; limited partnership; limited company
  • Manager: name the person responsible for day-to-day management
  • Records: every booking; vehicle registration and driver name
  • Licence Checks: ensure vehicles and drivers have the correct licences
  • National Notice Duration Days: 21
  • Usual Licence Duration Years: 3
  • Online Application Statement: GOV.UK states that this licence cannot be applied for online
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

HMRC guidance does not list Scottish taxi or private-hire vehicle licences in this tax-check scope.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Required: renewing the same type of licence; applying after holding the same type within the previous year; applying to another authority while holding the same type
  • Code: nine-character tax-check code
  • Code Validity Days: 120
Current official source

First application tax responsibility confirmation

The council's 2025 booking-office form reflects this distinction between a first application and a tax-check-code case.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Applicable: applying for this type of licence for the first time; applying after the same type of licence stopped being valid at least one year earlier
  • Requirement: confirm awareness of tax responsibilities to the licensing authority
Current official source

Right to licence check scope and methods

No current local booking-office right-to-licence checklist was located in the bounded council-source review.

  • Covered Scottish Licence: booking office licence
  • Events: new application; renewal; extension
  • Methods: digital status where prescribed; Home Office online service where available; current prescribed document checks
  • Time Limited Status: licence duration must not exceed the permitted immigration period
Current official source

Published booking office application fields delivery fee and duration

The currently linked static PDF was inspected without completing or submitting it.

  • Application Types: grant; renewal
  • Applicant Details: individual; company or partnership; day-to-day manager; convictions; other licences
  • Premises Details: name; address; telephone numbers; number of vehicles; days and hours; inspection contact
  • Completed Form Delivery: in person at one of four named community hubs with the appropriate fee and identity evidence
  • Fee Gbp: 800
  • Duration Years: 3
Current official source

Published booking office tax and site notice fields

The fields align in broad outline with the cited HMRC and GOV.UK guidance but do not replace those national sources.

  • First Application: tax-responsibility awareness declaration where the same licence was not held elsewhere in the last 12 months
  • Recent Same Type: nine-character tax-check code where the same licence was held elsewhere in the last 12 months
  • Site Notice Days: 21
  • Site Notice Alternative: declare inability to display where access or other enabling rights are absent
  • Compliance Certificate: required in due course where the notice is displayed
Current official source

Published booking office privacy purpose and retention

The retention period conflicts with the currently linked 2025 application's two-year statement and reference 04.005.075.

  • Purpose: process and determine booking-office grant and renewal applications and prevent or detect licensing fraud
  • Records Reference: 04.005.064
  • Retention After Expiry Years: 1
Dated official source still linked

Dated report of booking office review and new conditions

The report does not publish the new conditions, their effective date or a consolidated booking-office schedule.

  • Reporting Period: 2025/26
  • Reported Outcome: a review of booking-office licences resulted in new conditions
Dated official source still linked

Dated 2025 26 booking office fee

The schedule is explicitly labelled 2025/26; the same amount appears in the currently linked 2025 booking form.

  • Effective From: 2025-04-01
  • Booking Office Fee Gbp: 800

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current statutory rule

Statutory register duty

The statutory duty does not prove completeness or freshness of any web list.

  • Register Duty: the authority must keep a register of applications, decisions and prescribed licence information
  • Public Inspection: the register is available for public inspection at reasonable times and certified extracts may be supplied for a reasonable fee
Current official source

Published wheelchair accessible vehicle list scope and fields

No personal row values are reproduced here; the page is not treated as the complete civic licensing register.

  • Stated Scope: all wheelchair-accessible taxis and private-hire vehicles licensed by the council
  • Stated Basis: section 167 of the Equality Act 2010
  • Published Fields: licence number; vehicle registration; make; model; name

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

42 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current 2026 27 vehicle licensing fee schedule: The licensing hub links only a page labelled 2025/26. The live operator page states 562 pounds, but no dated 2026/27 vehicle schedule or review date was located. DATED ONLY
  • Current vehicle operator application fee due: The live operator page and dated 2025/26 fee page state 562 pounds, while both still-linked operator application PDFs state 388.96 pounds. The shard does not choose an amount due. CONFLICT
  • Current change of vehicle fee due: The currently linked change-of-vehicle PDF states a 100-pound administration fee, while the linked 2025/26 fee page states 200 pounds for variations including change of vehicle. CONFLICT
  • Current canonical operator application pdf: The operator page links two different PDF files presented as the operator application form: the recruitment block points to a copy modified in 2020 and Documents points to a copy modified in 2025. Their digests differ and the page does not identify which is canonical. CONFLICT
  • Current vehicle application channel and portal role: The council page and PDFs say completed forms are accepted only in person, yet the same page exposes externally hosted links labelled to apply for grant, renewal or change of vehicle. No form was entered, so the portal's role cannot be reconciled safely. CONFLICT
  • Later vehicle form fields validation upload payment and submission behaviour: Static council pages and PDFs were inspected, but no externally hosted application form was entered and no validation, upload, payment or submission behaviour was tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Complete current vehicle application supporting document set: The operator and change forms list several original items, but the council sources do not state that those lists are exhaustive across grant, renewal, ownership-relaxed and vehicle-change cases. NOT STATED
  • Actual current vehicle application processing time: The local page and forms give no current end-to-end service time. The statutory three-month consideration and later decision windows are outer rules, not observed turnaround. NOT STATED
  • Current consolidated taxi operator conditions: The council currently links conditions dated 1 October 2019 and does not identify a later consolidated taxi-operator schedule or revision date on the operator page. DATED ONLY
  • Current consolidated private hire operator conditions: The council currently links conditions dated 1 October 2019 and does not identify a later consolidated private-hire-operator schedule or revision date on the operator page. DATED ONLY
  • Current vehicle testing frequency standards and test station rules: Testing frequency, standards and test-station rules were located only in the 2019 combined conditions. A 2025/26 council report says regulation of testing centres was reviewed but does not publish the outcome. DATED ONLY
  • Current council approved vehicle test station roster: The dated conditions require a council-approved test station but the reviewed official pages and documents do not publish a current approved-station roster. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle fitness or certificate of compliance test fee: The operator and change forms require a certificate of compliance, but the 2025/26 civic fee page and reviewed operator material state no vehicle-test or retest charge. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle inspection booking channel capacity wait and outcome: No current inspection-booking instructions, appointment capacity, waiting time or guaranteed outcome were stated in the bounded official-source set. NOT STATED
  • Current approved electric and hybrid private hire vehicle list: The dated private-hire conditions refer to an approved list maintained by the council, but no current list, approval date or completeness statement was located. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle emissions or low emission eligibility standard: The operator page, application forms and dated conditions do not state a current Euro-emissions, low-emission-zone or equivalent licensing threshold. NOT STATED
  • Current taxi operator cap headroom and new licence availability: The live page displays an undated invitation for approximately 80 licences, text traceable to a 2024 recruitment announcement, but no current count against the cap or dated availability confirmation is published. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current status and end date of temporary pre grant vehicle ownership relaxation: The page calls the relaxation temporary and the matching announcement is dated April 2024, but neither gives a current confirmation, end date or withdrawal notice. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current taxi waiting list position plate stock queue and guaranteed issuance: The operator page describes what happens after the cap is reached but publishes no current cap status, waiting-list entries, queue position, plate stock or guarantee of issue. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current private hire vehicle grant or plate availability for an applicant: The combined operator route and forms do not publish live private-hire grant capacity, queue status, plate stock or a guaranteed application outcome. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current unmet demand survey cap basis or evidence supporting taxi availability: The current page mentions a cap and an undated invitation but publishes no current unmet-demand survey, measurement date, cap calculation or remaining headroom evidence. NOT STATED
  • Current local private hire overprovision assessment policy: The current council page and form publish no local overprovision assessment, evidence base or current refusal policy for private-hire vehicle applications. NOT STATED
  • Wheelchair accessible vehicle list update date route classification and latency: The accessible-vehicle page has no update date or cadence and does not clearly identify which rows are taxis and which are private-hire vehicles. NOT STATED
  • Current complete vehicle and booking office public register access method: Schedule 1 requires a public register, but the council licensing hub exposes only an accessible-vehicle subset and states no access method for the complete vehicle and booking-office register. NOT STATED
  • Current register results licence holders vehicle and booking status: The accessible subset was not treated as the full statutory register, and no current complete results for taxi, private-hire and booking-office licences were located or queried. NOT VERIFIED
  • Public register completeness freshness and update latency: The council sources provide no completeness statement, effective date or update latency for a combined taxi, private-hire and booking-office register. NOT STATED
  • Current 2026 27 booking office fee schedule: The licensing hub links only the 2025/26 fee page. The 2025 booking form repeats 800 pounds, but no 2026/27 schedule or later fee-review date was located. DATED ONLY
  • Current published booking office licence conditions: The 2025/26 service report says a booking-office review resulted in new conditions, but the operator page and linked booking application do not publish a consolidated conditions document. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current booking office conditions effective date and transition: The dated service report gives neither the wording nor effective date, transition arrangements or affected existing licences for the reported new booking-office conditions. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office application record retention after expiry: The live booking-office privacy page states one year after licence expiry under records reference 04.005.064, while the currently linked 2025 application states two years under reference 04.005.075. CONFLICT
  • Complete current booking office supporting document set and insurance requirements: The current form mentions identity and company or partnership evidence but does not present an exhaustive checklist of premises, insurance, planning, fire or other supporting requirements. NOT STATED
  • Current local booking office right to licence check instructions: Current Home Office guidance covers Scottish booking offices, but the council's form and privacy page do not state a complete local applicant process or acceptable check routes. NOT STATED
  • Later booking form fields validation upload payment and submission behaviour: Only the static council PDF and public pages were inspected; no form was completed and no upload, payment, validation or submission behaviour was exercised. NOT VERIFIED
  • Actual current booking office application processing time: The local form and privacy page state no current end-to-end turnaround. Statutory outer decision windows do not establish observed service time. NOT STATED
  • Current local booking office threshold and vehicle count scope: GOV.UK states the four-or-more threshold, while the council form asks for a vehicle count but does not state the threshold or clarify mixed taxi and private-hire counting locally. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office premises inspection criteria timing and outcome: The form asks for an inspection contact but states no current inspection criteria, appointment timing, remedial process or guaranteed outcome. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office application queue status and licence availability: The official pages and form provide no live booking-office application queue, current licence inventory or guaranteed grant availability. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: The council operator form asks for a radio base, but no official licensing source supplies or endorses a current commercial provider roster. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: No official source states provider acceptance, onboarding eligibility, documents, equipment, deposits, timing or cancellation terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council licensing fees and a blank radio-base field do not state commercial subscriptions, commission, equipment charges, deposits or other provider pricing. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No official source verifies commercial service areas, demand, job volume, earnings, waiting time, account activity or exclusivity. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: Licensing forms, fees, a dated recruitment notice and booking-office records do not evidence vehicles for rent, shift availability, rental prices, insurance arrangements or acceptance by any provider. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide