Official-source evidence

East Ayrshire Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 26 source-backed claims · 31 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory vehicle licence requirement

This establishes the regulated vehicle object and does not prove a current plate, waiting-list position, approval or commercial dispatch relationship.

  • Taxi: A licence under section 10 is required to use a motor vehicle as a taxi.
  • Private Hire Car: A licence under section 10 is required to use a motor vehicle as a private hire car.
  • Separate Objects: The statutory vehicle licence is separate from the driver licence and from any booking-office licence.
Current official source

Local operator licence terminology and driver licence prerequisite

The linked form also permits company and partnership applicants, so the prerequisite’s legal-person scope is retained as a conflict rather than inferred.

  • Local Label: taxi or private hire car operator licence
  • Licensed Activity: operate the specified vehicle within the licensed area
  • Stated Prerequisite: the current page says an applicant must have held a driver licence for at least one year
Current official source

Current taxi licence quantity restriction policy

No exact current ceiling, vacancy, waiting-list position or assurance of grant is inferred from the policy statement.

  • Restriction State: the council states that the number of taxi operator licences is restricted
  • New Grant Route: an applicant may be invited to the Local Government Licensing Panel to put a case for unmet demand in an East Ayrshire locality
Current official source

Current private hire quantity policy and booking mode

No restriction is a policy statement and does not prove a particular application will be valid, granted or immediately available.

  • Quantity Policy: the council states there is currently no restriction on private hire car operator licences
  • Hiring Mode: advance bookings only
  • Street Uplift: prohibited
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are statutory outer rules and effects, not an East Ayrshire operational target or proof that a submitted application is complete.

  • Relevant Date: the application date
  • Application Consideration: within three months after the relevant date
  • Final Decision: within six months after the end of the initial three-month period
  • Extension: the sheriff may extend either period on the licensing authority's summary application
  • Missed Deadline Effect: the application is deemed granted or renewed
  • Deemed Temporary Duration: the period sought, capped at six weeks
  • Deemed Other Duration: one year
  • Ordinary Duration: three years or a shorter period determined by the licensing authority
  • Temporary Maximum: six weeks
  • Timely Renewal Continuation: a timely renewal keeps the existing licence in effect until grant or renewal, expiry of the appeal period after refusal, or abandonment or determination of a lodged appeal
  • Late Renewal: an application up to 28 days late may be treated as timely only where the authority considers that good cause is shown
  • Appeal Eligibility: a person who may require reasons under the Schedule and who followed all available procedures for stating their case
  • Appeal Method And Deadline: summary application lodged with the sheriff clerk within 28 days of the decision
  • Late Appeal: the sheriff may hear a late appeal where good cause is shown
  • Appeal Grounds: error of law; decision based on an incorrect material fact; action contrary to natural justice; unreasonable exercise of discretion
Current official source

Current operator application fees and ordinary duration

The amounts are council application fees and do not include any inferred vehicle, insurance, radio, dispatch or operating cost.

  • Schedule From: 2025-08-01
  • Currency: GBP
  • Taxi Operator: 523
  • Private Hire Car Operator: 523
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless otherwise stated
Current official source

Current certificate of compliance and replacement item fees

These are authority fees only; the fee page does not state a separate inspection appointment lead time or commercial cost.

  • Schedule From: 2025-08-01
  • Currency: GBP
  • Vehicle Test: 134
  • Vehicle Retest: 68
  • Meter Test: 43
  • Front Plate: 11
  • Rear Plate: 13
  • Private Hire Door Sticker: 7
  • Internal Door Card: 1
  • Internal Door Card Plastic Pouch: 2
  • Taxi Full Set: £30, or £32 with no-smoking stickers
  • Private Hire Full Set: £44, or £46 with no-smoking stickers
Current official source

Current grant and renewal application routes

Only public descriptions and bounded portal reachability were checked; no form, account or payment path was exercised.

  • Online: GLAMIS supports application, renewal and payment
  • Renewal Access: current licence holders are told to contact the council for unique login details
  • Offline: a printable operator application PDF is linked from the operator page
Current official source

Current printable operator form fields

The fields do not establish acceptance, approval, current vehicle availability or which immigration-check method the council will use.

  • Applicant Types: natural person; company; partnership
  • Management: manager where the applicant will not operate the vehicle; directors, company secretary, partners or others responsible for management; employee or agent responsible for day-to-day management
  • Vehicle: registration and first-registration date; make and model; engine size; colour; doors; passenger count; meter; wheelchair accessibility
  • Operation: where the vehicle is kept; days and hours available for hire; North or South operating area
  • Background: convictions and fixed penalties; prior vehicle-operator licences and refusals
  • Immigration Prompt: the form asks nationality and right to work and warns that Home Office documents or a passport may be requested
Current statutory rule

Statutory inspection testing and suspension powers

This is the national statutory framework and does not prove a local inspection result, booking slot or enforcement decision.

  • Holder Duty: present the licensed vehicle for inspection and testing within the period and at the place reasonably required by authority notice
  • Inspection Power: an authorised officer, authorised civilian employee or constable may inspect and test vehicle fitness and taximeter fitness or accuracy at a reasonable time
  • Failure Response: written requirement for further inspection; licence suspension until the examiner is satisfied
  • Twenty Eight Day Effect: if the examiner is not satisfied within 28 days of suspension, the licence is deemed suspended by the authority under Schedule 1 paragraph 11
Dated official source still linked

Dated taxi vehicle condition summary

The document remains linked by the 2026 page but carries a 2019 effective date; its full current adoption was not independently established.

  • Effective Date: 2019-01-01
  • Maintenance: keep the vehicle roadworthy, safe, serviceable and clean and supply maintenance premises and inspection frequency on demand
  • Inspection: non-purpose-built vehicles annually to age five and then every six months until age ten; purpose-built taxis annually to age eight and then every six months until deemed unfit
  • Failed Test: plates and door cards removed and returned after a passed inspection
  • Repeated Failure: two consecutive failures trigger a formal letter; three or more may go to the Licensing Panel for possible suspension or more frequent testing
  • Accident: report as soon as practicable, present within two working days and present repaired vehicle for re-examination no later than 28 days after initial inspection
  • Documents: registration document, insurance and current Certificate of Compliance must be produced on reasonable request
Dated official source still linked

Dated private hire vehicle condition summary

The document remains linked by the 2026 page but carries a 2019 effective date; its full current adoption was not independently established.

  • Effective Date: 2019-01-01
  • Maintenance: keep the vehicle roadworthy, safe, serviceable and clean and supply the maintenance address and inspection frequency on demand
  • Inspection: non-purpose-built vehicles annually to age five and then every six months until age ten; purpose-built vehicles annually to age eight and then every six months until deemed unfit
  • Failed Test: plates and door cards removed and returned after a passed inspection
  • Repeated Failure: two consecutive failures trigger a formal letter; three or more may go to the Licensing Panel for possible suspension or more frequent testing
  • Accident: report as soon as practicable, present within two working days and present repaired vehicle for re-examination no later than 28 days after initial inspection
  • Documents: registration document and insurance must be produced on reasonable request
Dated official source still linked

Dated vehicle specification and inspection framework

These specifications remain linked by the 2026 page but are preserved as dated evidence, not promoted to an undated current standard.

  • Effective Date: 2019-01-01
  • Standards: M1 or M2 whole-vehicle type approval as described, with Individual Vehicle Approval for specified adapted M2 vehicles
  • Non Purpose Built Age: under ten years from original registration
  • Non Purpose Built Testing: annually to age five, then every six months until age ten
  • Purpose Built Testing: annually to age eight, then every six months until no longer deemed fit
  • Meter: taxi meters and any private-hire meter must be tested and approved; broken seals after repair require retest and resealing
  • Type Evidence: purpose-built vehicle Certificate of Conformity and V5 body type Taxi; LOLER six-month certification for a passenger tail-lift; DVSA Individual Vehicle Approval where specified
Dated official source still linked

Dated driver list and licence check controls

This is dated licence-condition evidence and does not prove employment, rental, dispatch affiliation or current driver availability.

  • Driver List: keep an up-to-date list of names and addresses of employed drivers and produce it to the council or a constable
  • Licence Checks: maintain a system for regularly checking DVLA and council driver licences

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory premises and vehicle count threshold

The threshold concerns booking premises and does not itself license a vehicle, driver or commercial dispatch account.

  • Licensable Premises: premises used for a business taking public bookings by any means of communication for four or more relevant taxis or private hire cars
  • Equivalent Threshold: more than three relevant vehicles
  • Vehicle Licence: each relevant vehicle has an in-force section 10 taxi or private hire car licence
Current official source

Current local grant and renewal application routes

The local summary omits the statutory four-or-more-vehicles threshold; that overbreadth is retained as a conflict.

  • Local Summary: the council page says a booking-office licence covers a business taking public bookings by any means of communication for relevant vehicles
  • Online: GLAMIS supports application, renewal and payment
  • Renewal Access: current licence holders are told to contact the council for unique login details
  • Offline: a printable booking-office application PDF is linked
Current official source

Current public and non public booking office fees and duration

These are council application fees, not commercial dispatch prices, subscriptions, commissions or equipment costs.

  • Schedule From: 2025-08-01
  • Currency: GBP
  • Public Premises: 363
  • Non Public Premises: 242
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless otherwise stated
  • Site Notice Indicator: the fee page marks premises-related entries with a site-notice indicator
Current official source

Current printable booking form fields and site notice

The field list does not prove a live fleet, plate status, acceptance, right-to-licence decision or grant.

  • Applicant Types: natural person; company; partnership
  • Management: applicant or employee or agent carrying out day-to-day management; directors, company secretary, partners or others responsible for management
  • Premises: booking-office address; whether the general public has access
  • Fleet Field: plate numbers of all vehicles under the applicant’s control
  • Background: convictions and fixed penalties; prior booking-office licences and refusals
  • Site Notice Display: 21 days from the application date where the applicant can display it
  • Objection Period On Notice: generally 28 days from the application date
  • Compliance Certificate: return within seven days after the 21-day display period
Current official source

Current linked booking record and cctv conditions

The conditions are live-linked and were modified in 2026, but the PDF body supplies no approval or effective date; that provenance gap is retained.

  • Booking Record: keep a record of every booking taken at the premises
  • Retention: minimum one year
  • Recorded Items: registration number of the vehicle hired; name of the driver at the time of hire
  • Licensed Supply: take reasonable steps to ensure the booking results in an in-force section 10 vehicle driven by a person holding an in-force section 13 driver licence
  • Public Premises Cctv: a booking office to which the public has access must install fully operational CCTV within six months of grant
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are statutory outer rules and effects, not an East Ayrshire operational target or proof that a booking-office application is complete.

  • Relevant Date: the application date, or where Finance Act 2021 tax-check confirmation rules prevent consideration on that date, the date that prevention ends
  • Application Consideration: within three months after the relevant date
  • Final Decision: within six months after the end of the initial three-month period
  • Extension: the sheriff may extend either period on the licensing authority's summary application
  • Missed Deadline Effect: the application is deemed granted or renewed
  • Deemed Temporary Duration: the period sought, capped at six weeks
  • Deemed Other Duration: one year
  • Ordinary Duration: three years or a shorter period determined by the licensing authority
  • Temporary Maximum: six weeks
  • Timely Renewal Continuation: a timely renewal keeps the existing licence in effect until grant or renewal, expiry of the appeal period after refusal, or abandonment or determination of a lodged appeal, subject where applicable to the Schedule 1 tax-check blocking branch
  • Late Renewal: an application up to 28 days late may be treated as timely only where the authority considers that good cause is shown
  • Appeal Eligibility: a person who may require reasons under the Schedule and who followed all available procedures for stating their case
  • Appeal Method And Deadline: summary application lodged with the sheriff clerk within 28 days of the decision
  • Late Appeal: the sheriff may hear a late appeal where good cause is shown
  • Appeal Grounds: error of law; decision based on an incorrect material fact; action contrary to natural justice; unreasonable exercise of discretion
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

The current local page flags tax checks for booking-office renewals, but no current local code-submission workflow was verified.

  • In Force From: 2023-10-02
  • Scottish Scope: booking-office licences, not Scottish taxi or private-hire vehicle licences
  • Tax Check Required: renewal; same licence type held and expired less than one year ago; same licence type already held with another licensing authority
  • New Applicant Route: a genuinely new applicant, or one whose same-type licence expired at least one year ago, confirms tax responsibilities rather than completing a tax check
  • Code: nine-character code
  • Code Validity: 120 days
  • Personal Completion: the applicant must complete their own tax check
  • Ordinary Renewal Without Valid Code: an existing Scottish licence expires on the later of 28 days after the licensing authority asks for the code or the existing licence expiry date
  • Temporary Licence Without Valid Code: a temporary Scottish licence expires on the later of seven days after the licensing authority asks for the code or the existing licence expiry date
Current statutory rule

Right to licence eligibility duration and cessation

The current consolidated Schedule supplies the limited-leave and cessation rules; the 2017 instrument records their application to booking-office licences.

  • Grant Or Renewal Rule: the authority must be satisfied that an individual applicant is not disqualified by immigration status
  • Ordinary Limited Leave: where section 3C does not apply, the licence period must end at or before the end of the person's limited leave
  • Section3 CLeave: where limited leave has been extended by section 3C, the licence period must not exceed six months
  • Renewal: the same duration rules apply to renewal
  • Cessation: a booking-office licence ceases to have effect if its holder becomes disqualified by immigration status
Current official source

Right to licence prescribed checks and supplemental verification

The current local form asks about right to work and possible documents but does not identify which current prescribed method East Ayrshire uses.

  • Stage: new, renewal and extension applications by an individual
  • Prescribed Methods: manual check of original acceptable documents; right-to-work check using a Digital Verification Service for a British or Irish citizen, with the digital route limited to a valid passport or Irish passport card; Home Office online right-to-work check for a non-British or non-Irish citizen
  • Supplemental Status Verification Enquiries And Checking Service: SVEC can verify specified cases such as an outstanding application, administrative review or appeal, a non-digital Certificate of Application or status needing Home Office verification; it is not a fourth prescribed method
  • Separate Legal Entity: a limited company or limited liability partnership is outside the individual check described by the guidance

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current official source

Official public register facility

No individual or business row, count, licence status or booking-office category result was ingested or treated as verified.

  • Landing Page Statement: current licences granted and issued under the Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 are available through the public licensing register
  • Portal Reachability: the official register landing URL returned successfully during a bounded check
  • Evidence Use: RESEARCH_LEAD_ONLY

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

31 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current exact taxi ceiling vacancy waiting list and grant availability: The current page states that taxi licence numbers are restricted but does not state the exact current ceiling, vacancies, waiting-list position or that any new plate is available. NOT STATED
  • Current private hire application acceptance and grant availability: The page says there is no quantity restriction, but no application was submitted and no vehicle suitability, applicant fitness, acceptance or grant outcome was verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • One year driver licence prerequisite for company or partnership applicants: The current page says the applicant must have held a driver licence for at least one year, while the current-linked form expressly accepts company and partnership applicants that cannot personally hold an individual driving licence. CONFLICT
  • Current full taxi and private hire conditions and adoption date: The live 2026 page links taxi and private-hire condition documents that print approval in November 2018 and effect from 1 January 2019; no newer printed adoption date was found. DATED ONLY
  • Current legal basis and notice standard for vehicle cctv: The 2019 taxi and private-hire conditions still require an approved notice under the Data Protection Act 1998; no current local CCTV guidance or updated legal-basis wording was found in the checked sources. DATED ONLY
  • Infectious disease condition vehicle scope: Within the private-hire operator conditions, the infectious-disease clause begins by referring to a person carried in a taxi before imposing duties on the private-hire licence holder. CONFLICT
  • Current complete vehicle specifications and adoption date: The live 2026 operator page links specifications effective from 1 January 2019, but no newer printed specification adoption or effective date was found. DATED ONLY
  • Purpose built private hire vehicle age limit scope: The specifications section is headed for purpose-built taxis and private-hire cars but its age sentence switches to taxi wording, while the private-hire conditions separately say purpose-built vehicles may remain until deemed unfit. CONFLICT
  • Complete local vehicle application service target: The checked local operator page and form do not state an end-to-end operational target for a valid, uncontested new or renewal application including inspection and any Panel consideration. NOT STATED
  • Live online vehicle form validation payment and acceptance outcome: The official pages describe GLAMIS application, renewal and payment, but no account was created, form submitted, payment made or validation and acceptance outcome tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Operator application printed issue and effective date: The linked operator application body prints no issue or effective date; the recorded 28 April 2026 date comes only from PDF modified metadata. NOT STATED
  • Local vehicle operator tax check or tax confirmation requirement: The operator page displays a tax-check banner but lists drivers and booking offices rather than the section 10 vehicle or operator licence, and the checked local form states no tax-check step. NOT STATED
  • Current test centre location contact booking method and wait time: The checked current fee page and dated conditions establish tests and charges but do not publish a current test-centre address, direct contact, booking method or appointment wait time. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle purchase finance insurance fuel maintenance and equipment costs: The official sources state council application, test and replacement-item charges but do not state current commercial vehicle, finance, insurance, fuel, maintenance or equipment prices. NOT STATED
  • Booking office vehicle count threshold: The current local summary says a licence is required for a business taking public bookings for a relevant vehicle without stating a minimum, while the national booking-office regime applies to premises taking bookings for four or more relevant vehicles. CONFLICT
  • Complete local booking office application service target: The checked local page and form do not state an end-to-end operational target for a valid uncontested booking-office application beyond the notice and objection periods recorded on the form. NOT STATED
  • Live online booking form validation payment and acceptance outcome: The official pages describe GLAMIS application, renewal and payment, but no account was created, form submitted, tax code supplied, payment made or acceptance outcome tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Booking office conditions approval adoption and effective date: The conditions PDF is live-linked and has 29 July 2026 modified metadata, but its body prints no approval, adoption or effective date and its creation metadata dates from 2012. NOT STATED
  • Booking office application printed issue and effective date: The linked booking-office application body prints no issue or effective date; the recorded 29 July 2026 date comes only from PDF modified metadata. NOT STATED
  • Booking office form conviction note licence scope: The booking-office application’s convictions note says it applies to applicants for taxi and private-hire car and driver licences, rather than identifying booking-office applicants. CONFLICT
  • Current local tax check code submission instructions: The local page flags tax checks for booking-office renewals but does not state the local code-entry field, evidence route or handling process in the checked page or printable application. NOT STATED
  • Current local right to licence check method and evidence route: The form asks about right to work and possible Home Office documents or a passport, but the local sources do not identify which current prescribed manual, digital or online method East Ayrshire uses. NOT STATED
  • Complete current consolidated booking office order and amendment effect: The checked booking-office Order and 2017 amendment are official as-made instruments; they are not represented as one verified consolidated text containing every current amendment. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current live register rows counts and licence statuses: The official register URL was reached, but no individual, business, licence, application, expiry, suspension or status row was ingested or treated as verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Explicit taxi vehicle private hire vehicle and booking office register categories: The council landing pages describe a Civic Government Act register but do not enumerate these three route categories, and the live portal contents were not ingested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Allowlisted current local tax check bulletin: The current booking-office page routes its further tax-check explanation to a third-party bulletin platform rather than an allowlisted East Ayrshire Council or GOV.UK primary-source page. LINK MISROUTED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: The checked statutory, council licensing, conditions, fee and register sources do not publish or recommend a verified current roster of commercial radio or dispatch providers. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: No checked official source states a commercial provider’s eligibility, document set, onboarding steps, acceptance decision, waiting period or contract term. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council application and testing charges do not establish commercial radio rent, dispatch subscription, commission, equipment deposit, cancellation terms or refunds. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No checked official source verifies provider coverage, booking or job volume, earnings, waiting time, rank access, exclusivity or service quality. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: No checked official source verifies a current vehicle rental, lease, shift, owner-driver, replacement-vehicle, fleet-placement or insurance-inclusive commercial offer. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide