Official-source evidence

Aberdeen City Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 25 source-backed claims · 25 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence suitability safety insurance and number controls

This is the vehicle-licensing test and does not establish a separate driver or booking-office licence.

  • Vehicle Licence Required: Yes
  • Grant Or Renewal Tests: suitable in type, size and design for use as a taxi or private hire car; safe for that use; appropriate insurance or security is in force
  • Taxi Number Control: a taxi grant may be refused to limit numbers only if the authority is satisfied that there is no significant unmet demand for taxi services in its area
  • Private Hire Overprovision: a private-hire-car grant may be refused only if the authority is satisfied there is or would be overprovision in the locality, having regard to vehicle numbers and demand
  • Statutory Section: Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 section 10
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are statutory outer rules and effects, not an Aberdeen service target or a guarantee that an application is complete.

  • Relevant Date: the application date, or where Finance Act 2021 tax-check confirmation rules prevent consideration on that date, the date that prevention ends
  • Application Consideration: within three months after the relevant date
  • Final Decision: within six months after the end of the initial three-month period
  • Extension: the sheriff may extend either period on the licensing authority's summary application
  • Missed Deadline Effect: application is deemed granted or renewed
  • Deemed Temporary Duration: the period sought, capped at six weeks
  • Deemed Other Duration: one year
  • Ordinary Duration: three years or a shorter period determined by the licensing authority
  • Temporary Maximum: six weeks
  • Timely Renewal Continuation: a timely renewal keeps the existing licence in effect until grant or renewal, expiry of the appeal period after refusal, or abandonment or determination of a lodged appeal, subject where applicable to the Schedule 1 tax-check blocking branch
  • Late Renewal: an application up to 28 days late may be treated as timely only where the authority considers that good cause is shown
  • Appeal Eligibility: a person who may require reasons under the Schedule and who followed all available procedures for stating their case
  • Appeal Method And Deadline: summary application lodged with the sheriff clerk within 28 days of the decision
  • Late Appeal: the sheriff may hear a late appeal where good cause is shown
  • Appeal Grounds: error of law; decision based on an incorrect material fact; action contrary to natural justice; unreasonable exercise of discretion
Current official source

Current application and renewal route

The live page describes the route but does not verify the behaviour of the email intake after submission.

  • Licence Required For Every Vehicle: Yes
  • Local Duration: renewed annually
  • Form Route: download the council form and return it by email
  • Email: licensing@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Dated official source still linked

Dated application fields documents and declarations

The current page links this form, but its conflicting 2022 filename and 2023 attachment label prevent treatment as an unambiguously dated current form.

  • Application Types: taxi vehicle; private hire vehicle; special events private hire vehicle; grant; renewal; temporary or full
  • Applicant Structures: individual; company; partnership
  • Vehicle Particulars: registration mark and registration date; chassis number, make, model, colour and engine size; doors, passenger seats and wheelchair accessibility; ownership, keeper, finance and day-to-day manager details; MOT, insurance and modification details
  • Applicant Disclosures: convictions, including road-traffic offences and spent convictions as framed by the form; previous Aberdeen City Council licence refusals for any named person
  • Checklist: fully completed form; relevant application fee; copy of V5 registration document; copy of insurance certificate or fleet policy name
  • Submission: email, with exceptional postal submission described
  • Fee Rule: application fees described as non-refundable
Current official source

Current council vehicle fees

These are council charges only; the separate inspection page still states £33 for several related events, recorded as a conflict below.

  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Vehicle Grant Including Tests: £312 for one year
  • Vehicle Renewal Including Tests: £312 for one year
  • Temporary Vehicle Including Tests: £312 for six weeks
  • Wheelchair Accessible Vehicle Type Approval: £283
  • Change Zone Or Registration: £98
  • Manager Variation: £80
  • Vehicle Substitution: £47
  • Hackney Retest Or Non Attendance: £44
  • Replacement Vehicle Plate: £22
Current official source

Current public contact submission and payment channels

No live licensing telephone number is stated on the checked current pages.

  • Application Email: licensing@aberdeencity.gov.uk
  • Online Payment: council-linked payment portal using debit or credit card
  • Postal Payment Address: Licensing, Legal Services, Business Hub 6, Marischal College, Aberdeen AB10 1AB
  • In Person Payment: Customer Service Centre, Marischal College, Aberdeen AB10 1AB
  • In Person Hours: Monday to Friday, 08:30 to 17:00
  • In Person Methods: cash; cheque; debit card; credit card
  • Policy Breach Or Feedback Emails: enforcement@aberdeencity.gov.uk; licensing@aberdeencity.gov.uk
  • Application Fee Rule: application fees are non-refundable
Current official source

Taxi limit zones and plate rules

The policy gives the cap and zone rules but does not state the live number of licences or whether the cap has been reached.

  • Published Taxi Limit: 1079 licensed taxis
  • Zones: airport zone within Aberdeen International Airport's legal boundary; city zone covering the remainder of the licensing authority area
  • City Plate Colour: yellow
  • Airport Plate Colour: green
  • City Pickup Restriction: cannot collect a fare in the airport zone unless pre-booked or the airport operator has illuminated the green light
  • Airport Pickup Restriction: cannot collect a fare in the city unless pre-booked, except the policy permits city-zone operation from midnight Saturday to 05:00 Sunday
Current official source

Current taxi vehicle entry and type criteria

Vehicle acceptance remains subject to the complete policy and inspection; these criteria do not guarantee grant.

  • First Licence: all vehicles first licensed as taxis must be wheelchair accessible vehicles
  • Historic Exception: a taxi licence granted before 1994 may operate a saloon, MPV or wheelchair accessible vehicle
  • Wheelchair Accessible Age At First Licence Or Substitution: not more than ten years old
  • Non Wheelchair Accessible Substitution On Pre1994 Licence: not more than five years old
  • Minimum Doors: four
  • Minimum Passenger Seats: four
  • Roof Sign Rule: an approved roof sign is required, with type depending on zone and vehicle model
  • Dimension And Boot Tests: the policy specifies step-height, door, legroom, headroom, boot-capacity and rear-seat-width minima
Current official source

Current private hire vehicle entry and type criteria

Private-hire advertising is omitted from this claim because the current official materials conflict.

  • Wheelchair Accessible Age At First Licence Or Substitution: not more than ten years old
  • Other Vehicle Age At First Licence Or Substitution: not more than five years old
  • Minimum Doors: four
  • Minimum Passenger Seats: four
  • Dimension And Boot Tests: the policy specifies step-height, door, legroom, headroom, boot-capacity and rear-seat-width minima
  • Roof Sign Rule: roof signs are not permitted
Current official source

Vehicle owner keeper and insurer alignment

The policy states the general alignment rule and its two listed exceptions.

  • General Rule: the licence holder must be the vehicle owner, the named keeper on the V5 and the named insurer
  • Partnership Exception: owner, keeper and insurance may be in the name of one partner
  • Lease Or Finance Exception: the leasing or finance company may be the registered keeper or owner
Current official source

Inspection frequency and pass certificate

The inspection is a local taxi or PHC inspection and does not replace the separate MOT requirement.

  • Frequency: two taxi or Hackney inspections per 12-month period
  • First Inspection: immediately before first licensing or renewal, within 21 days
  • Later Inspections: at six-month intervals within the stated 21-day period
  • Pass Certificate Required: Yes
  • Expired Certificate Effect: the vehicle cannot be used as a taxi or private hire car until a new pass certificate is obtained
Current official source

Inspection location appointments and documents

The page's £33 follow-up charges conflict with the current fee schedule and are therefore not promoted into this claim.

  • Location: Kittybrewster Depot, Powis Terrace, Aberdeen
  • Appointment Hours: Monday to Friday, 08:45 to 14:45
  • Appointment Required: Yes
  • Full Test Length: 30 minutes
  • Retest Length: 15 minutes
  • Bring Each Time: V5C vehicle registration certificate; valid insurance certificate; valid MOT certificate, if applicable
  • Initial Tests: described as included in the application fee
Current official source

Taxi private hire test standard and failure outcomes

The test-decision statement is not treated as removing the separate statutory appeal framework for licensing decisions.

  • Separate From MOT: Yes
  • Standard: additional taxi and PHC criteria above the separate MOT standard
  • Major Fault Outcome: test failure and suspension of the vehicle licence
  • Minor Fault Outcome: 14-day retest notice, with suspension if the fault is not rectified and retested within 14 days
  • While Suspended: the vehicle cannot be used as a taxi or private hire car
  • Test Dispute: workshop management is stated to be on site to resolve disputes
  • Immediate Test Appeal: the manual states there is no right of appeal immediately following a test decision
Current official source

Current passenger capacity engine and propulsion policy

The policy separately flags future petrol and diesel restrictions as approved but not yet in force, with dates still to be confirmed.

  • Licensed Passenger Range: four to eight passengers
  • Engine Size: no current limit
  • Propulsion: any means of propulsion is currently permitted

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are statutory outer rules and effects, not an Aberdeen service target or a guarantee that an application is complete.

  • Relevant Date: the application date, or where Finance Act 2021 tax-check confirmation rules prevent consideration on that date, the date that prevention ends
  • Application Consideration: within three months after the relevant date
  • Final Decision: within six months after the end of the initial three-month period
  • Extension: the sheriff may extend either period on the licensing authority's summary application
  • Missed Deadline Effect: application is deemed granted or renewed
  • Deemed Temporary Duration: the period sought, capped at six weeks
  • Deemed Other Duration: one year
  • Ordinary Duration: three years or a shorter period determined by the licensing authority
  • Temporary Maximum: six weeks
  • Timely Renewal Continuation: a timely renewal keeps the existing licence in effect until grant or renewal, expiry of the appeal period after refusal, or abandonment or determination of a lodged appeal, subject where applicable to the Schedule 1 tax-check blocking branch
  • Late Renewal: an application up to 28 days late may be treated as timely only where the authority considers that good cause is shown
  • Appeal Eligibility: a person who may require reasons under the Schedule and who followed all available procedures for stating their case
  • Appeal Method And Deadline: summary application lodged with the sheriff clerk within 28 days of the decision
  • Late Appeal: the sheriff may hear a late appeal where good cause is shown
  • Appeal Grounds: error of law; decision based on an incorrect material fact; action contrary to natural justice; unreasonable exercise of discretion
Current official source

Current threshold duration and application route

The threshold concerns the premises and does not itself license vehicles, drivers or a radio or dispatch relationship.

  • Licensable Premises: premises taking public bookings for four or more licensed taxis or private hire cars
  • Three Or Fewer: the council states no booking-office licence is required where no more than three vehicles operate from the premises
  • Local Renewal Cycle: every three years
  • Eligible Applicant Structures: individual; partnership; limited partnership; limited company
  • Day To Day Manager: the person responsible for day-to-day management must be named
  • Application Notice: display a notice in or near the premises for 21 days from the application date and then send the council a certificate that notice was advertised
  • Inspection Access: police or council may inspect the premises at a reasonable time and required records must be produced
  • Application Route: download the application form and return it by email
  • Email: licensing@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Dated official source still linked

Dated application fields notice and submission

The October 2023 form remains linked, but its tax-code wording is not treated as current where it conflicts with newer official guidance.

  • Applicant Structures: individual; company; partnership
  • People Fields: directors or partners; day-to-day manager; convictions including road-traffic and spent convictions as framed by the form; refusal of a similar licence during the previous year
  • Premises Fields: name and address; telephone number; number of vehicles; operating hours; inspection contact
  • Application Types: grant; renewal; temporary
  • Public Notice: display for 21 days from submission, or declare why access rights prevent display
  • Submission: email, with exceptional postal submission described
Current official source

Current council booking office fees

These are council licence charges and do not establish any commercial booking, dispatch or vehicle costs.

  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Grant: £317 for three years
  • Renewal: £277
  • Temporary: £145 for six weeks
  • Variation: £66
  • Material Alteration: £72
Current official source

Mandatory booking and vehicle records

The current council page and GOV.UK guidance repeat the mandatory records from the original 2009 instrument; a fully consolidated instrument remains an explicit gap.

  • Booking Record: a record of every booking for the hire of a relevant vehicle taken at the licensed premises
  • Vehicle Record: registration number of the vehicle assigned
  • Driver Record: name of the driver assigned
  • Reasonable Steps: the licence holder must take reasonable steps to ensure the assigned vehicle and driver are appropriately licensed
Dated official source still linked

Dated additional local booking office conditions

The current page still displays these conditions but identifies them as agreed in 2017; no later adoption date was stated.

  • Agreed: 2017-11-07
  • Additional Booking Fields: date and time of every hire; pickup point; destination
  • Address Change Notice: within 14 days
  • Driver And Vehicle Records: maintain records and carry out an ongoing audit of licences
  • Conviction Notice: within 28 days
  • Driver Instruction Rule: the licence holder must not ask a driver to do anything that would breach the driver's licence conditions
  • Records Access: records must be available for authorised inspection
  • Retention: at least three years
  • Format: electronic records are accepted
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

The dated Aberdeen application form says nine digits; that narrower wording is retained as a conflict rather than promoted.

  • In Force From: 2023-10-02
  • Scottish Scope: booking-office licences, not Scottish taxi or private hire vehicle licences
  • Tax Check Required: renewal; same licence type held and expired less than one year ago; same licence type already held with another licensing authority
  • New Applicant Route: a genuinely new applicant, or one whose same-type licence expired at least one year ago, confirms tax responsibilities rather than completing a tax check
  • Code: nine-character code
  • Code Validity: 120 days
  • Personal Completion: the applicant must complete their own tax check
  • Ordinary Renewal Without Valid Code: an existing Scottish licence expires on the later of 28 days after the licensing authority asks for the code or the existing licence expiry date
  • Temporary Licence Without Valid Code: a temporary Scottish licence expires on the later of seven days after the licensing authority asks for the code or the existing licence expiry date
Current statutory rule

Right to licence eligibility duration and cessation

The current consolidated Schedule supplies the two limited-leave branches and cessation rule; the 2017 instrument records how booking-office licences were brought into that framework.

  • Grant Or Renewal Rule: the authority must be satisfied that an individual applicant is not disqualified by immigration status
  • Ordinary Limited Leave: where section 3C does not apply, the licence period must end at or before the end of the person's limited leave
  • Section3 CLeave: where limited leave has been extended by section 3C, the licence period must not exceed six months
  • Renewal: the same duration rules apply to renewal
  • Cessation: a booking-office licence ceases to have effect if its holder becomes disqualified by immigration status
Current official source

Right to licence prescribed checks and supplemental verification

The checked local Aberdeen form does not state which prescribed method the council will use or how evidence for that method should be supplied in a particular case.

  • Stage: new, renewal and extension applications by an individual
  • Prescribed Methods: manual check of original acceptable documents; right-to-work check using a Digital Verification Service for a British or Irish citizen, with the digital route limited to a valid passport or Irish passport card; Home Office online right-to-work check for a non-British or non-Irish citizen
  • Supplemental Status Verification Enquiries And Checking Service: SVEC can verify specified cases such as an outstanding application, administrative review or appeal, a non-digital Certificate of Application or status needing Home Office verification; it is not a fourth prescribed method
  • Separate Legal Entity: a limited company or limited liability partnership is outside the individual check described by the guidance

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current statutory rule

Statutory register duty

The duty does not itself prove that a live online register or any particular current row was inspected.

  • Register Required: Yes
  • Public Inspection Required: Yes
  • Register Scope: applications and licences under the licensing provisions
Current official source

Local register fields and information sharing

The pages describe register content and sharing; no live register rows or current inspection access arrangements were verified.

  • Published Fields: applicant name; date application received; final decision; type and terms of licence granted; later suspension, revocation, variation or surrender
  • Inspection: the register is stated to be open to inspection by any member of the public
  • Vehicle Sharing: Chief Constable, Police Scotland; Licensing Committee where determination is required
  • Booking Office Sharing: Chief Constable, Police Scotland; Scottish Fire and Rescue Service where premises are involved; Licensing Committee where determination is required

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

25 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current grant or plate availability: The amended policy states a cap of 1079 but the checked official sources do not state the live number of taxi licences, whether the cap has been reached, or whether a new grant is currently available. NOT STATED
  • Current private hire overprovision policy or grant availability: Section 10 permits refusal of a private-hire-car grant under its overprovision test, but the checked Aberdeen application page and amended policy do not state a current local overprovision determination, cap, live availability count or approval guarantee. NOT STATED
  • Registration of interest trigger: The current registration page says anyone wishing to apply for a taxi licence must register interest, while the amended 2026 policy requires registration only should the number of licensed vehicles reach the published limit. CONFLICT
  • Future petrol diesel restriction effective dates: The amended policy labels future petrol and diesel grant and renewal restrictions as approved but not yet in force and says the dates remain to be confirmed. NOT STATED
  • Local complete application processing time: The checked Aberdeen pages, form, policy and fee schedule do not publish a local service target from receipt of a complete vehicle application to decision; the statutory outer framework is recorded separately. NOT STATED
  • Email acknowledgement document acceptance and inspection sequence: No form was submitted and no email was sent, so acknowledgement timing, attachment limits, document acceptance, deficiency handling and the actual inspection-booking sequence were not verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current application form version and effective date: The live application page links an undated document whose filename says April 2022 while the page labels it as a 2023 form; the current exact form version and effective date are not unambiguous. DATED ONLY
  • Testing manual current version date: The council hub labels the linked testing manual November 2025, its URL path and filename say July 2026, and the downloaded PDF cover says July 2025. CONFLICT
  • Private hire vehicle advertising and branding: The amended policy permits private-hire advertising with restrictions and testing-manual section 2.13 also permits it if the vehicle does not appear to be a taxi, but section 2.6 of the same manual says a PHC must not display advertising, branding or signage. CONFLICT
  • Retest nonattendance and removed vehicle charge: The current fee schedule effective 1 April 2026 lists £44 for a Hackney retest or non-attendance, while the inspection page states £33 for retests, vehicles removed from the road and cancellation within 24 hours or non-attendance. CONFLICT
  • Current public licensing telephone number: The checked current council pages publish the licensing email and physical addresses but do not state a current Licensing Team telephone number; numbers printed only on the ambiguously dated vehicle form are not promoted. NOT STATED
  • Current non council vehicle operating costs: The checked issuing-authority sources state council licence and inspection charges but not current insurance premiums, MOT cost, vehicle purchase or lease price, wheelchair conversion cost, meter cost or roof-sign cost. NOT STATED
  • Local complete application processing time: The checked Aberdeen booking-office page, form, conditions and fee schedule do not state a local service target from receipt of a complete application to decision; the statutory outer framework is recorded separately. NOT STATED
  • Email acknowledgement document acceptance and notice verification sequence: No booking-office form was submitted and no email was sent, so acknowledgement timing, attachment limits, document acceptance, deficiency handling and verification of the 21-day notice were not tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Tax check code digit or character format: The October 2023 Aberdeen application form calls the code nine digits, while the current Aberdeen conditions page and HMRC guidance call it a nine-character code. CONFLICT
  • Local prescribed right to licence check method and submission route: The checked Aberdeen booking-office page and form do not state which of the three prescribed national methods the council will use, or how an applicant should supply evidence for that method. NOT STATED
  • Fully consolidated current booking office instrument text: The checked legislation pages expose the 2009 order and 2017 amendment as original as-made instruments; a single fully consolidated current instrument text was not verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current additional local conditions adoption date: The current council page states that its additional local booking-office conditions were agreed on 7 November 2017 but does not state a later adoption, consolidation or review date. DATED ONLY
  • Current booking office public notice document: The current booking-office application page labels an attachment Licence Display Notice but links to a file named Display-Notice SEV and Sex Shops.pdf; it is not verified as the required booking-office notice. LINK MISROUTED
  • Current register access arrangements and live entries: The official privacy pages describe the register and public inspection duty, but no current online register, physical inspection hours or live vehicle or booking-office entries were inspected. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: The checked official licensing, register and booking-office sources do not provide a verified current roster of commercial radio or dispatch providers accepting vehicle operators. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: The checked official sources do not state current commercial eligibility, vehicle age, deposit, equipment, induction, waiting-list, account or contract terms for radio or dispatch onboarding. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: The checked official sources state council licence fees but not current commercial radio rent, dispatch subscription, commission, equipment, deposit or account charges. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: The checked official sources do not verify a commercial dispatch provider's current geographic coverage, operating hours, booking volume, job allocation or expected earnings. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: The checked official licensing sources do not verify current commercial taxi or private-hire vehicle rental, plated-vehicle supply, shift availability, rent, deposit or maintenance terms. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide