Official-source evidence

West Lothian Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 10 source-backed claims · 10 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence required for vehicle operation

This claim concerns the vehicle licence and does not establish that any person holds a driver licence.

  • Taxi Licence Required: Yes
  • Private Hire Car Licence Required: Yes
  • Statutory Section: Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 section 10
Current statutory rule

Statutory grant and renewal test

The statutory test does not guarantee that a particular vehicle or application will be accepted locally.

  • Vehicle Type Size And Design Must Be Suitable: Yes
  • Vehicle Must Be Safe For Use: Yes
  • Qualifying Insurance Or Security Must Be In Force: Yes
Current official source

Local vehicle route characteristics

The route descriptions do not establish a driver licence or commercial booking relationship.

  • Taxi May Be Hailed Use Rank Or Be Prebooked: Yes
  • Taxi Wheelchair Accessible: Yes
  • Private Hire Must Be Prebooked: Yes
  • Private Hire Types: four-passenger saloon; eight-passenger vehicle with rear passenger lift
Current official source

Published vehicle number policy

No numerical restriction does not guarantee that a specific application or vehicle will qualify.

  • Taxi Numbers Restricted: No
  • Private Hire Car Numbers Restricted: No

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Licensing threshold

This threshold concerns licensed premises and cannot be used as proof of a commercial dispatch relationship.

  • Licensed Object: premises used to take public bookings for taxis or private hire cars
  • Licence Required At Vehicle Count: 4
  • No Licence Where Vehicle Count Never Exceeds: 3
  • Booking Means: any means of communication
Current official source

National tax check rule

Applicant circumstances determine the correct tax-check path; this does not replace the current HMRC guidance.

  • Route: booking office licence in Scotland
  • Renewal Tax Check Required: Yes
  • Code Length Characters: 9
  • Code Validity Days: 120
Current official source

Local booking office application route

This is licensing process information, not evidence that an office accepts new drivers or vehicles.

  • Vehicle Threshold: 4
  • Individual And Organisation Forms Published: Yes
  • Fee And Supporting Documents Required: Yes
  • Police And Council Checks Described: Yes

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current official source

Published current booking office list

The linked list was not ingested and cannot be treated as endorsement or current onboarding availability.

  • List Published: Yes
  • Stated Update Frequency: regularly and at least every 12 weeks
  • Rows Ingested: No

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

10 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current grant or plate availability: The checked official sources do not state live plate availability or guarantee that a new vehicle licence will be granted. NOT STATED
  • Complete vehicle application determination time: No complete end-to-end determination time for a valid vehicle application was stated in the checked sources. NOT STATED
  • Live application field sequence upload limits validation and save resume: No application was entered or submitted, so live field validation, upload limits and save-or-resume behaviour were not tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current additional local booking office conditions and effective date: The checked current sources do not provide a verified consolidated set of additional local booking-office conditions with an effective date. NOT STATED
  • Current register row counts licence status and holder details: Current register rows, holder details and licence status were not ingested or independently verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: Official licensing sources do not provide a current commercial radio or dispatch provider roster. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: Official licensing sources do not state current commercial dispatch onboarding or acceptance terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Official licensing sources do not state current commercial radio rents, prices or commission. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: Official licensing sources do not verify commercial dispatch coverage, demand or job volume. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: Official licensing sources do not verify current vehicle rental, lease or shift availability. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide