Official-source evidence

South Ayrshire Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 24 source-backed claims · 29 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence suitability safety insurance and number controls

Section 10 governs vehicles, not a separate driver, booking-office or dispatch relationship.

  • Vehicle Licence Required: Yes
  • Grant Or Renewal Tests: suitable in type, size and design; safe for the licensed use; appropriate insurance or security in force
  • Taxi Number Control: refusal to limit taxi numbers requires no significant unmet demand
  • Private Hire Overprovision: refusal requires the statutory overprovision test
Current statutory rule

Vehicle substitution and disposal duties

The claim records the consolidated statutory vehicle provisions.

  • Substitution: the licensing authority may permit another vehicle to replace the licensed vehicle
  • Disposal: the licence must be delivered to the authority within 28 days after disposal unless the authority permits otherwise
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules, not evidence of actual council turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Current public vehicle application entrypoint

Only the public first page was observed; the form was not entered, advanced, paid or submitted.

  • Combined Route: one council online form covers taxi and private hire vehicle applications
  • Account Options: sign in with My South Ayrshire; continue without logging in
  • Fee Warning: the fee is non-returnable once submitted
Current official source

Taxi inspection frequency

The older standalone taxi conditions only state annual inspection, so precedence remains flagged separately.

  • Standard: yearly inspection
  • Over Seven Years: inspection every six months
Current official source

Taxi documentation approval meter plate and accessibility requirements

The requirements are read from the currently linked 2024 policy; grant was not tested.

  • Registration And Insurance: registration and insurance are in the holder or joint holder name
  • Type Approval: M1 passenger vehicle approval
  • Meter: meter tested and sealed
  • Identification: licence plates must be displayed
  • Wheelchair Equipment: applicable ramps and anchoring equipment must meet the stated policy specifications
Current official source

Private hire identification advertising meter and fare requirements

The advertising rule conflicts with the separately linked older standalone conditions.

  • Side Signs: Pre-booked Private Hire signs on both sides
  • Roof Signs: not permitted
  • Advertising Signs: not permitted
  • Meter: if fitted, electronic, tested and sealed
  • Unregulated Fare: fare or calculation method disclosed to the hirer
  • Identification: licence plates displayed
Current official source

Published maximum metered fare scale

The page publishes maximum metered fares; it is not evidence of commercial dispatch pricing.

  • Effective From: 2025-04-23
  • Tariffs: four published tariffs
  • Soiling Charge Gbp: 70
  • Outwith Area: fare must be agreed before hire
Dated official source still linked

Dated linked taxi registration and inspection conditions

The undated standalone PDF conflicts with parts of the linked 2024 policy and is not treated as controlling.

  • Inspection: annual inspection
  • Registration Document: may be in an established reputable leasing company
Dated official source still linked

Dated linked private hire advertising condition

The undated standalone PDF conflicts with the 2024 policy and is not treated as controlling.

  • Advertising: advertising signs may be displayed when approved by the Council
Current official source

Visible vehicle inspection request fields

Only the public first step was inspected; no data was entered and the request was not advanced or submitted.

  • Visible Fields: name; telephone number; email address

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules, not evidence of actual council turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Booking office licence threshold and premises scope

Current GOV.UK guidance states the threshold and premises scope; it does not prove a vehicle or commercial dispatch account.

  • Activity: premises used by a business for taking bookings from the public for journeys in relevant licensed vehicles
  • Threshold: the statutory exemption applies when fewer than four relevant vehicles are operated
  • Manager: an organisation application identifies the person responsible for day-to-day management
Current official source

Mandatory booking vehicle and driver records

Current GOV.UK guidance states these duties; the original order is not represented here as consolidated current claim evidence.

  • Booking Records: record each booking and keep the prescribed particulars
  • Vehicle And Driver: record the vehicle registration and driver identity
  • Licence Checks: take reasonable steps to ensure the vehicle and driver are licensed
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

HMRC guidance does not list Scottish taxi or private-hire vehicle licences in this tax-check scope.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Required: renewing the same type of licence; applying after holding the same type within the previous year; applying to another authority while holding the same type
  • Code: nine-character tax-check code
  • Code Validity Days: 120
Current official source

Right to licence check scope and methods

Current Home Office guidance controls; obsolete examples in the council Word form are not carried forward.

  • Covered Scottish Licence: booking office licence
  • Events: new application; renewal; extension
  • Methods: digital status where prescribed; Home Office online service where available; current prescribed document checks
  • Time Limited Status: licence duration must not exceed the permitted immigration period
Current official source

Published local booking application route

The application channel and 28-day notice conflict with other official evidence and remain unresolved gaps.

  • Download: download the linked Word application
  • Submission: upload the completed application and pay online
  • Format: handwritten applications are not accepted
  • Contact: an email address is required
  • Site Notice: display the linked notice and certificate for 28 days
Dated official source still linked

Dated booking application fields and guidance

The undated Word document has obsolete channel and identity-document content, so only its visible fields are preserved.

  • Applicant: individual or organisation; day-to-day manager
  • Premises: office address; whether public access is allowed
  • Vehicles: plate number; registration number
  • History: convictions; previous booking-office licence
  • Guidance: planning status check; right-to-licence documents; fee when lodging; normally three years or one-year trial
Current official source

Visible booking upload and payment fields

No value was entered, file uploaded, payment made, or form submitted; the current fee is not shown.

  • Applicant Type: individual; company
  • Access Type: public access; no public access
  • Price Input: applicant is asked to type Price GBP
  • Attachment: file upload control
  • Declaration: public declaration control

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current statutory rule

Statutory register duty

The duty does not prove that every licence class is exposed in a specific online search.

  • Register Duty: the authority must keep a register of applications, decisions and licence information prescribed by Schedule 1
  • Public Inspection: the register is available for public inspection at reasonable times and certified extracts may be supplied for a reasonable fee
Current official source

Published general licensing correspondence targets

General correspondence targets do not state actual or route-specific application processing times.

  • Correspondence Working Days: 7
  • Telephone Message Working Days: 2
  • Application Statement: applications will be processed timeously

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

29 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current vehicle licence inspection substitution and plate fees: The current fees index links only an archived schedule effective 1 April 2018. Those figures are preserved as dated evidence and are not payable-current amounts. DATED ONLY
  • Current booking office fee due: The upload form asks the applicant to type a price but displays no amount; the only located council schedule is dated 2018. No current payable fee is established. DATED ONLY
  • Controlling taxi vehicle condition set: The undated standalone taxi conditions require annual inspection and allow a leasing-company registration document; the Cabinet-approved 2024 policy adds six-monthly inspection over seven years and requires registration and insurance in the holder or joint holder name. The hub links both and states no precedence. CONFLICT
  • Controlling private hire advertising rule: The undated standalone private-hire conditions permit Council-approved advertising signs, while the linked 2024 policy says advertising signs are not permitted. The hub links both and does not resolve which text controls. CONFLICT
  • Vehicle policy commencement and supersession: The 2024 policy states its Cabinet approval date but not a commencement date and does not expressly supersede the older separately linked conditions. NOT STATED
  • Current taxi vehicle grant or plate availability: A public application entrypoint was found, but no application was advanced and no official statement was found confirming that a new taxi vehicle licence or plate would currently be granted to a particular applicant. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current private hire vehicle grant or plate availability: A public application entrypoint was found, but no application was advanced and no official statement was found confirming that a new private-hire vehicle licence or plate would currently be granted to a particular applicant. NOT VERIFIED
  • Later vehicle form fields validation upload payment and submission behaviour: Only the public first page was inspected. No personal data was entered, no later step was opened, no document was uploaded, and no payment or submission was attempted. NOT VERIFIED
  • Complete current vehicle application supporting document set: The inspected public hub and first form page do not publish a complete route-specific list of every document required later in the live application. NOT STATED
  • Current inspection site fee capacity wait and booking outcome: The public inspection request asks for contact details but does not state a current test site, payable fee, live capacity, waiting time, or guaranteed appointment outcome. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle inspection appeal route: The linked appeal sheet is dated 12 June 2009 and refers to VOSA and an old 0845 contact. No newer council inspection-appeal procedure was located. DATED ONLY
  • Current vehicle emissions or low emission standard: The reviewed current hub, application entrypoint and 2024 operating/testing policy do not state a separate emissions or low-emission eligibility standard. NOT STATED
  • Current accessible taxi designation list: The current taxi hub links a spreadsheet and expressly says the list is correct as at 24 February 2025. It is not represented as a complete current list on 2 September 2026. DATED ONLY
  • Actual current vehicle application processing time: The charter gives general correspondence targets and says applications are processed timeously, but it gives no measurable taxi or private-hire vehicle application turnaround. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office application channel: The current council page directs applicants to upload the completed form and pay online, the linked Word guidance says to send it by post, and the current GOV.UK finder says this licence cannot be applied for online. No authoritative reconciliation was found. CONFLICT
  • Current booking office site notice display period: The council booking page and linked site-notice document say 28 days, while current consolidated Schedule 1 requires a premises notice to remain displayed for 21 days. CONFLICT
  • Current local booking right to licence document and check instructions: The undated council application lists EEA identity documents and legacy physical immigration evidence, while the 2025 Home Office licensing guidance prescribes current digital, online and document-check routes and says expired biometric residence permits are not acceptable. The council page links generic employer annexes rather than a reconciled licensing checklist. CONFLICT
  • Current local booking office tax check submission instructions: HMRC identifies when a Scottish booking-office tax check is required, but the inspected council booking pages and form do not state where or how the code is supplied locally. NOT STATED
  • Current effective date of linked booking application and site notice: Neither linked Word document states an issue or review date; their channel, notice-period and identity-document content conflicts with newer official material, so current effect is not established. DATED ONLY
  • Current complete booking office statutory and local conditions: The council page publishes no current local condition set. The legislation.gov.uk Order page is original as-made text and reports unapplied 2017 amendments, while current GOV.UK guidance says the council may add local conditions; a complete current statutory and local set is not established. NOT STATED
  • Actual current booking office application processing time: The dated application says a case without adverse comment normally takes a minimum of 28 days and the charter gives general response targets, but neither establishes current actual processing time. NOT STATED
  • Later booking upload validation payment and submission behaviour: Only the public form page was inspected. No price, personal data or declaration was entered, no file was uploaded, and no payment or submission was attempted. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current public booking office register search or download route: The register search exposes taxi and private-hire driver and vehicle filters plus street traders, but no booking-office filter or separate booking-office register route was found. NOT STATED
  • Current complete vehicle register rows and plate status: The public register search page was inspected without submitting a query. No register rows, business names or plate-status results were collected, and completeness was not tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: No official source in this bounded licensing shard identifies a current commercial radio or dispatch provider roster, and no business-directory result is treated as licensing evidence. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: The official licensing sources do not state whether any commercial radio or dispatch provider is accepting operators or what eligibility, deposit, equipment or commitment terms apply. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council licence fees and statutory booking-office rules do not state commercial radio subscriptions, commissions, equipment prices, deposits or other provider charges. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No official source reviewed states a commercial provider service area, booking volume, job allocation, waiting time, earnings or demand available to a new operator. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: The vehicle policy and licensing pages do not prove that any compliant licensed vehicle, rental, lease, owner-driver shift or plate package is currently commercially available. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide