Official-source evidence

Scottish Borders Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 31 source-backed claims · 52 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence suitability safety insurance and number controls

Section 10 governs vehicles and does not establish a separate driver, booking-office or dispatch relationship.

  • Vehicle Licence Required: Yes
  • Grant Or Renewal Tests: suitable in type, size and design; safe for the licensed use; appropriate insurance or security in force
  • Taxi Number Control: refusal to limit taxi numbers requires no significant unmet demand
  • Private Hire Overprovision: refusal requires the statutory overprovision test
Current statutory rule

Vehicle substitution and disposal duties

The claim records the current consolidated statutory vehicle provisions.

  • Substitution: the licensing authority may permit another vehicle to replace the licensed vehicle
  • Disposal: the licence must be delivered to the authority within 28 days after disposal unless the authority permits otherwise
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence Scottish Borders Council's actual turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Published taxi and private hire vehicle routes

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Published Routes: taxi vehicle; private hire vehicle
  • Separate Applications: Yes
Current official source

Published taxi operator fee duration and use

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Licence Duration Years: 3
  • Total Fee Pounds: 939
  • Instalments: initial or three annual instalments currently £313
  • Permitted Use: advance booking; street hail
Current official source

Published private hire operator fee duration and use

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Licence Duration Years: 3
  • Total Fee Pounds: 939
  • Instalments: initial or three annual instalments currently £313
  • Permitted Use: advance bookings only
  • Street Hail: not permitted
Current official source

Published taxi vehicle application types zones and core evidence

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Applicant Structures: individual; company; partnership
  • Application Types: grant; renewal
  • Licensing Zones: Berwickshire; Ettrick and Lauderdale; Roxburgh; Tweeddale
  • Passenger Bands: 4; 6; 8
  • Initial Evidence: first instalment; insurance; vehicle registration
Current official source

Published private hire vehicle application types zones and core evidence

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Applicant Structures: individual; company; partnership
  • Application Types: grant; renewal
  • Licensing Zones: Berwickshire; Ettrick and Lauderdale; Roxburgh; Tweeddale
  • Passenger Bands: 4; 6; 8
  • Initial Evidence: first instalment; insurance; vehicle registration
Current official source

Current taxi private hire and driver route separation

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Taxi: may ply for hire
  • Private Hire: must be pre-booked
  • Driver Licence: separate from the vehicle licence
Current official source

Current vehicle age capacity and design requirements

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Maximum Age At Grant Or Renewal Years: 7
  • Maximum Passenger Seats: 8
  • Engine: minimum 1500cc, with authority discretion for smaller equivalent power
  • Design: at least four wheels; right-hand drive; generally four passenger doors
Current official source

Current vehicle inspection process

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Frequency: annual
  • Station: council-authorised testing station
  • Mot Alone: insufficient
  • Additional Checks: spot checks may occur
Current official source

Current vehicle meter distinction

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Taxi: meter required
  • Private Hire: meter not required
Current official source

Current vehicle accident damage reporting

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Deadline: within 24 hours on working days or the following Monday after a weekend
  • Scope: accident damage affecting the licensed vehicle
Current official source

Current identification plate and disposal duties

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Plates: remain council property
  • Disposal: surrender plates within 28 days unless substituting a vehicle
Current official source

Current taxi vehicle substitution route

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Application Required: Yes
  • Fee Pounds: 149
Current official source

Current private hire vehicle substitution route

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Application Required: Yes
  • Fee Pounds: 149
Current official source

Current substitution application fields

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Application Types: substitute vehicle; temporary substitute vehicle; reversion
  • Evidence Fields: vehicle details; insurance; registration; inspection information
Current official source

Published 2026 27 vehicle operator fees

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Taxi Or Private Hire Operator Pounds: 939
  • Vehicle Substitution Pounds: 149
  • Vehicle Change Of Use Pounds: 108

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence Scottish Borders Council's actual turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Booking office threshold premises management records notice and duration

The council publishes a separate local page and downloadable forms; local requirements and unresolved discrepancies are recorded separately.

  • Threshold: bookings for four or more taxis or private hire cars
  • Premises: the premises where bookings are taken must be licensed
  • Holder: individual; partnership; limited partnership; limited company
  • Manager: name the person responsible for day-to-day management
  • Records: every booking; vehicle registration and driver name
  • Licence Checks: ensure vehicles and drivers have the correct licences
  • National Notice Duration Days: 21
  • Usual Licence Duration Years: 3
  • Online Application Statement: GOV.UK states that this licence cannot be applied for online
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

HMRC guidance does not list Scottish taxi or private-hire vehicle licences in this tax-check scope.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Required: renewing the same type of licence; applying after holding the same type within the previous year; applying to another authority while holding the same type
  • Code: nine-character tax-check code
  • Code Validity Days: 120
Current official source

First application tax responsibility confirmation

Scottish Borders's current booking form only asks for a tax-check code on renewal and does not state the national first-application awareness route.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Applicable: applying for this type of licence for the first time; applying after the same type of licence stopped being valid at least one year earlier
  • Requirement: confirm awareness of tax responsibilities to the licensing authority
Current official source

Right to licence check scope and methods

No current local booking-office right-to-licence checklist was located in the bounded council-source review.

  • Covered Scottish Licence: booking office licence
  • Events: new application; renewal; extension
  • Methods: digital status where prescribed; Home Office online service where available; current prescribed document checks
  • Time Limited Status: licence duration must not exceed the permitted immigration period
Current official source

Current local booking office scope fee and duration

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Scope: premises taking bookings by any communication for taxis or private hire vehicles
  • Licence Duration Years: 3
  • Fee Pounds: 342
  • Refundability: non-refundable
Current official source

Published booking application fields and notice

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Applicant Structures: individual; company; partnership
  • Premises Details: Yes
  • Fleet Counts: taxi; private hire
  • Booking Record System: computer; manual
  • Site Notice Days: 21
Dated official source still linked

Dated booking supporting material and consultation

Non-fee passages are recorded as dated-only; the guidance fee conflicts with current local sources.

  • Supporting Material: public liability insurance; layout plan; complaints policy
  • Site Notice Days: 21
  • Consultation: Police; Fire and Rescue; Trading Standards
  • Radio Permission: separate Ofcom permission may be required
Dated official source still linked

Dated booking records and licence checks

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Records: each booking; vehicle registration; driver name
  • Checks: licensed vehicle and licensed driver
Dated official source still linked

Dated local right to work document method

This dated wording conflicts with the methods in current 2025 Home Office guidance and must not be presented as the current complete method.

  • Method: in-person original-document checks
  • Wording: includes older EU identity-document references

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current statutory rule

Statutory register duty

The statutory duty does not prove completeness or freshness of any web list.

  • Register Duty: the authority must keep a register of applications, decisions and prescribed licence information
  • Public Inspection: the register is available for public inspection at reasonable times and certified extracts may be supplied for a reasonable fee
Current official source

Published civic licensing register data categories

This claim is limited to the cited official Scottish Borders source and does not establish another licensing or commercial route.

  • Register Categories: name; address; licence type
  • Current Entries: not exposed by this notice

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

52 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current booking office application fee: The current booking-office page and 2026/27 fee schedule state £342, while the still-linked 2025 guidance states £285. The current-source value is recorded, but the linked discrepancy remains explicit. CONFLICT
  • Current local booking office right to licence method: The local 2018 additional-information document and application use in-person original-document and older EU identity wording, while current 2025 Home Office guidance includes digital status, online-service and prescribed-document methods. CONFLICT
  • Current change of use private hire or public hire label: The council directory link label uses public hire, while the destination heading and official form identify private hire. The correct destination was verified, so this is a wording conflict rather than a misrouted link. CONFLICT
  • Current consolidated taxi vehicle conditions: The complete taxi condition schedule located in the bounded official review is dated 2011 and remains linked; no current consolidated replacement was verified. DATED ONLY
  • Current consolidated private hire vehicle conditions: The complete private-hire condition schedule located in the bounded official review is dated 2011 and remains linked; no current consolidated replacement was verified. DATED ONLY
  • Current complete booking office guidance: The still-linked guidance was modified in 2025 and contains a fee superseded by current 2026/27 sources, so it is retained only as dated evidence. DATED ONLY
  • Current complete booking office conditions: The located booking-office conditions are dated 2018; no current consolidated or version-controlled replacement was verified. DATED ONLY
  • Current booking office additional information and right to work instructions: The linked additional-information document is dated 2018 and contains obsolete-seeming right-to-work wording, so it is not represented as a current complete checklist. DATED ONLY
  • Current combined vehicle conditions version and commencement: Current notes provide selected requirements, but the bounded official sources do not state a complete combined condition set, version history and commencement status. NOT STATED
  • Current substitute replacement and classic vehicle age exceptions: The current notes state a seven-year grant or renewal limit and give an event example, but do not provide a complete substitute, replacement and exception decision matrix. NOT STATED
  • Current complete vehicle inspection manual defects and tolerances: The current notes require annual council-station inspection but do not publish the complete test manual, defect categories or pass tolerances. NOT STATED
  • Current emissions fuel and zero emission requirements: No current emissions class, fuel rule, low-emission deadline or electric-vehicle exception was stated in the reviewed route materials. NOT STATED
  • Current complete taxi wheelchair accessibility specification and exceptions: The bounded current sources do not provide a complete dimensional, equipment, test, approved-model and exception specification for wheelchair-accessible taxis. NOT STATED
  • Current private hire wheelchair accessibility requirement and exceptions: The bounded current sources do not state a complete private-hire wheelchair-accessibility requirement, exemption and approval process. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle renewal submission lead time: The pages identify renewal and say reminders are a courtesy, but do not state the current minimum submission lead time before expiry. NOT STATED
  • Actual current vehicle application processing time: The statutory outer decision windows and local application material do not establish current observed end-to-end processing time. NOT STATED
  • Current taxi number limit unmet demand evidence and grant policy: No current taxi-number limit, unmet-demand study, cap headroom or new-grant policy was located in the reviewed official sources. NOT STATED
  • Current local private hire overprovision assessment policy: The local page and form do not state how the authority currently applies the statutory private-hire overprovision test. NOT STATED
  • Current identification plate deposit amount refund and replacement terms: The notes say plates remain council property but do not state the current deposit amount, refund, replacement or damage terms. NOT STATED
  • Current zone selection cross zone operation and multiple zone fee rules: The forms list four licensing zones and say separate fees may apply, but do not completely state cross-zone operation, multiple-zone eligibility or the current total payable. NOT STATED
  • Complete current vehicle application supporting document set and format: The forms identify core items but do not provide a single complete current checklist of ownership, registration, insurance, inspection and route-specific evidence with accepted formats. NOT STATED
  • Current substitute vehicle maximum duration age and complete eligibility: The substitution form covers substitute, temporary substitute and reversion but does not state the complete duration, age and eligibility rules. NOT STATED
  • Current change of use decision criteria consultation and processing time: The official page and form state the route and fee but not complete decision criteria, consultation, inspection triggers or processing time. NOT STATED
  • Current complete vehicle application lodging payment and acknowledgement channel: Downloadable forms and fees are published, but the reviewed items do not state a complete digital or postal lodging, payment and acknowledgement workflow. NOT STATED
  • Complete current booking office supporting document set: The current application and dated guidance do not establish one current complete checklist with accepted formats and validity requirements. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office planning fire safety landlord and insurance evidence: The dated guidance identifies several premises matters but does not state a complete current evidence set, assessor standard and acceptance criteria. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office premises inspection criteria timing and outcome: The reviewed sources do not publish complete current premises-inspection criteria, scheduling, remedial steps or outcome categories. NOT STATED
  • Actual current booking office application processing time: The current local materials and statutory outer windows do not establish observed current turnaround from valid lodgement to decision. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office renewal submission lead time: The current booking page and application do not state how far before expiry a renewal should be lodged. NOT STATED
  • Current booking record retention access production and correction rules: The dated conditions identify core records but do not establish a current complete retention period, access, production, storage and correction rule. NOT STATED
  • Complete current day to day manager suitability and change requirements: The application identifies management details but does not state complete current suitability, evidence and manager-change requirements. NOT STATED
  • Current local first application tax confirmation field and evidence: National guidance describes first-application tax awareness, but the local application does not establish the complete current confirmation and evidence process. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office conviction fixed penalty and rehabilitation disclosure scope: The application asks about convictions but does not state a complete current rehabilitation, fixed-penalty and disclosure boundary. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office complaints data security backup and breach requirements: The dated materials mention complaints and records but do not establish a current complete data-security, access-control, backup and breach regime. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office variation transfer surrender and manager change process: No complete current process, fee, evidence list or decision timetable for variation, transfer, surrender or manager change was located. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office lodging payment and acknowledgement channel: The official sources provide a downloadable application and fee but do not state one complete current lodging, payment and acknowledgement workflow. NOT STATED
  • Current site notice template placement objection and completion process: The application and dated guidance state a 21-day notice period but do not establish a complete current template, placement, objection and completion process. NOT STATED
  • Current three or fewer vehicle exemption counting and shared premises rules: The threshold is published, but the reviewed sources do not state complete counting, aggregation, shared-premises and change-in-fleet rules around the exemption. NOT STATED
  • Current public register access method place hours and fee: The statutory duty and privacy notice do not state the current local request channel, inspection place, hours, response process or extract fee. NOT STATED
  • Public register completeness freshness and update latency: No reviewed source states online or offline register completeness, last update, update frequency or reconciliation latency. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: No official licensing source supplies or endorses a current commercial radio or dispatch provider roster for Scottish Borders. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: Official licensing evidence does not establish provider acceptance, equipment, deposits, vetting, contracts or onboarding terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council licence fees do not evidence commercial radio or dispatch subscriptions, commission, equipment charges, deposits or provider pricing. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No reviewed official source verifies commercial dispatch coverage, driver numbers, booking demand, job volume, earnings or waiting time. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: Licensing forms, conditions and fees do not prove any vehicle for rent, available shift, commercial price, insurance arrangement or dispatch acceptance. NOT STATED
  • Current taxi grant plate stock queue and guaranteed issuance: No application or register request was made, so current taxi grant availability, plate stock, queue position and outcome remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current private hire grant plate stock queue and guaranteed issuance: No application or register request was made, so current private-hire grant availability, plate stock, queue position and outcome remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current vehicle inspection appointment capacity wait and pass rate: No appointment system was used; next availability, cancellations, average wait and pass rates remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current substitute vehicle approval timing availability and outcome: No substitution application was made, so an available inspection, approval timing and successful outcome remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current booking office queue premises eligibility and grant availability: No application or register request was made, so the live queue, premises eligibility, grant availability and outcome remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Live vehicle form validation payment upload and submission behaviour: Only public pages and downloadable documents were inspected; no details were entered, documents uploaded, payment made or application submitted. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current register results holders vehicles applications and booking offices: No statutory register was accessed or requested, so current holders, vehicles, applications and booking-office entries remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide