Official-source evidence

North Ayrshire Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 26 source-backed claims · 29 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence suitability safety insurance and number controls

Section 10 governs vehicles, not a separate driver, booking-office or dispatch relationship.

  • Vehicle Licence Required: Yes
  • Grant Or Renewal Tests: suitable in type, size and design; safe for the licensed use; appropriate insurance or security in force
  • Taxi Number Control: refusal to limit taxi numbers requires no significant unmet demand
  • Private Hire Overprovision: refusal requires the statutory overprovision test
Current statutory rule

Vehicle substitution and disposal duties

The claim records the consolidated statutory vehicle provisions.

  • Substitution: the licensing authority may permit another vehicle to replace the licensed vehicle
  • Disposal: the licence must be delivered to the authority within 28 days after disposal unless the authority permits otherwise
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules, separate from the council published estimate.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Current vehicle application and preinspection route

Only the public form shell was fetched; it was not advanced or submitted.

  • Combined Operator Form: one linked online operator form serves taxi and private-hire vehicles
  • Preconditions: meet the vehicle specification; pass the council vehicle inspection
  • Substitution And Registration Change: separate linked online routes
Current official source

Published vehicle licence fees gbp

The live table gives no effective date; that remains an explicit gap.

  • Taxi Three Years: 800
  • Taxi One Year: 463
  • Private Hire Three Years: 718
  • Private Hire One Year: 428
Current official source

Published vehicle inspection substitution and plate charges gbp

These council charges do not establish commercial provider or rental costs.

  • Substitution Including Inspection: 258
  • Inspection: 107
  • Reinspection: 57
  • Replacement Plate: 42
  • Taximeter Reseal: 27
Current official source

Linked vehicle age inspection size and capacity specification

The hub currently links the specification, although the page is dated 2018 and gives no later review statement.

  • Maximum Age When First Licensed Years: 8
  • Inspection Under Five Years: no more than 12 months since the last inspection
  • Inspection Five Years Or Older: no more than six months since the last inspection
  • Doors: four excluding a hatchback
  • Rear Seat Minimum Centimetres: 122
  • Luggage Minimum Cubic Metres: 0.3115
  • Passenger Capacity: minimum four and maximum eight excluding driver
Dated official source still linked

Published taxi zone caps and waiting list statement

The page was updated in 2024 and does not prove current plate availability in 2026.

  • Zones: Irvine New Town Area: 105; Ardrossan Saltcoats Stevenston: 85; Garnock Valley: 20; West Kilbride Fairlie Largs Skelmorlie: 20; Millport: 2; Arran: 9
  • Availability Statement: most licences allocated and a waiting-list process described
Current official source

Current taxi insurance meter identification advertising and reporting conditions

These are the council conditions page updated 6 May 2026.

  • Insurance: valid cover in the licence-holder name for taxi use
  • Meter: approved, calibrated, working, stamped and sealed
  • Identification: front and rear plates; rear passenger window notices; approved roof sign
  • Advertising: permitted on sides, bonnet and tailgate subject to the stated visibility and content limits
  • Accident Or Modification: report within 48 hours and do not resume until approved
Current official source

Current private hire insurance identification signage and reporting conditions

These are the council conditions page updated 6 May 2026.

  • Public Hire: canvassing or seeking hire in a public place is prohibited
  • Insurance: valid cover in the licence-holder name for private-hire use
  • Identification: front and rear plates; rear passenger window notices
  • Signage: only authority-approved private-hire identification signs; no other signs or advertising
  • Accident Or Modification: report within 48 hours and do not resume until approved
Current official source

Wheelchair taxi design and operating conditions

These requirements apply to the wheelchair-taxi route and do not establish available vehicles.

  • Design: designed or adapted to carry wheelchair passengers safely
  • Substitution: replacement vehicle must meet the wheelchair specification
  • Code: carry and display the council wheelchair-passenger code
  • Equipment: wheelchair lifting and securement requirements apply under the linked vehicle specification
Current official source

Current vehicle inspection frequency location documents and dispute route

The guide is updated 11 May 2026; live appointment capacity is not stated.

  • Frequency: annual below five years and six-monthly at five years or older
  • Location: North Ayrshire Council Transport Hub at West Byrehill Workshop, Kilwinning
  • Documents: DVLA V5; insurance cover note or policy; MOT certificate where applicable
  • Standard: separate from and higher than an MOT test
  • Initial Dispute: raise with the Workshop Team Manager while the vehicle remains at the Transport Hub
Current official source

Current taxi maximum fare scale

The council taxi scale is not commercial radio or dispatch pricing.

  • Effective From: 2026-05-04
  • Tariffs: three published tariff structures plus boundary-zone and large-vehicle uplifts
  • Soiling Charge Gbp: 50
  • Outwith Area: agree the fare before the journey
  • Display: display the current scale prominently in the taxi
Current official source

Current private hire optional meter calibration display and fare rule

This vehicle condition does not establish commercial dispatch pricing or affiliation.

  • Meter: optional
  • If Fitted: authority-approved; calibrated to council fares; working, stamped and sealed; recalibrated after fare-scale changes
  • Display: display the current scale where a meter is fitted
  • Fare: charge the approved meter fare unless an outwith-boundary fare or calculation method is agreed before hire
Current official source

Published vehicle application processing estimate

The estimate is not a guarantee for a specific application.

  • Estimate: six to eight weeks
  • Precondition: the council considers the application after the vehicle passes inspection
  • Consultation: Police Scotland; public advertisement for 28 days
  • Adverse Comment: may require Licensing Committee consideration

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules, not evidence of actual council turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Booking office threshold premises management and records

Current national guidance does not establish a commercial radio provider relationship.

  • Threshold: bookings for four or more taxis or private hire cars
  • Premises: the premises where bookings are taken must be licensed
  • Holder: individual; partnership; limited partnership; limited company
  • Manager: name the person responsible for day-to-day management
  • Records: every booking; vehicle registration and driver name
  • Licence Checks: ensure vehicles and drivers have the correct licences
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

HMRC guidance does not list Scottish taxi or private-hire vehicle licences in this tax-check scope.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Required: renewing the same type of licence; applying after holding the same type within the previous year; applying to another authority while holding the same type
  • Code: nine-character tax-check code
  • Code Validity Days: 120
Current official source

Right to licence check scope and methods

No local current booking-office right-to-licence checklist was located.

  • Covered Scottish Licence: booking office licence
  • Events: new application; renewal; extension
  • Methods: digital status where prescribed; Home Office online service where available; current prescribed document checks
  • Time Limited Status: licence duration must not exceed the permitted immigration period
Current official source

Published local booking office tax check route

The council page expressly includes booking-office licences.

  • First Licence: confirm awareness of tax responsibilities when first applying or after one year
  • Renewal: complete an HMRC tax check and provide the code
  • Code Length: nine characters
  • Maximum Age Days: 120
Current official source

Published booking office application process

The referenced application, guidance and conditions anchors lack href attributes; this is preserved as a link gap.

  • Threshold: bookings for four or more vehicles
  • Steps: download application; refer to guidance; return completed application with the appropriate fee
  • After Receipt: display a notice at or near the premises; application advertised for public comment
  • Decision: delegated grant may occur without objections when within policy
  • Licence Length: three years unless a shorter period is set
Current official source

Booking notice compliance and committee guidance

The guidance fee figures are excluded because they conflict with the live fee table.

  • Threshold: more than three relevant vehicles
  • Notice Display Days: 21
  • Certificate: return the compliance certificate after the notice period
  • New Premises Or Applicant: referred to committee
  • Adverse Material: hearing with at least seven days notice
Current official source

Current booking record and licensed vehicle driver conditions

These conditions do not identify or recommend a commercial dispatch provider.

  • Booking Record: record every booking taken at the premises
  • Hire Record: vehicle registration number; driver name
  • Reasonable Steps: ensure the hired vehicle and its driver hold effective licences

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current statutory rule

Statutory register duty

The statutory duty does not prove completeness or freshness of online results.

  • Register Duty: the authority must keep a register of applications, decisions and prescribed licence information
  • Public Inspection: the register is available for public inspection at reasonable times and certified extracts may be supplied for a reasonable fee
Current official source

Current licence applications and objection entrypoint

No applicant or business row was retained.

  • Advertising Duty: the council states that it advertises applications received by its Licensing Board and Section
  • Taxi And Civic Category: a taxi and civic licence applications section is exposed
  • Comment Guidance: comments should be signed and specific
Current official source

Current public register scope and filters

No query was submitted and no licence-holder or business result was retained.

  • Scope: Licensing Scotland Act 2005; Civic Government Scotland Act 1982; miscellaneous licensing
  • Civic Filter Includes: Booking Offices
  • Taxi Filters: Private Hire Car Operator; Taxi Operator
  • Search Instruction: blank fields may retrieve a complete register

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

29 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current vehicle fee table effective date: The live taxi page publishes vehicle and ancillary charges but displays no effective-from or last-updated date for those fee tables. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office fee due: The live taxi-page table states GBP 415 with public access and GBP 277 without public access, while booking guidance updated 26 August 2024 states GBP 300 and GBP 200 respectively. The page does not reconcile the figures or date the live fee table. CONFLICT
  • Current vehicle fire extinguisher requirement: The current taxi hub expressly says the fire-extinguisher requirement has been removed, while taxi and private-hire guidance pages updated 1 July 2024 still describe an extinguisher as required for inspection. CONFLICT
  • Current taxi zone caps waiting list and plate availability: The taxi guidance updated 1 July 2024 gives six numerical caps, says most licences are allocated and describes a waiting list; the live hub now instructs applicants to contact the council about availability. The 2024 statement does not establish availability on 2 September 2026. DATED ONLY
  • Current taxi vehicle grant or plate availability for an applicant: An operator form and zone policy are public, but no form was advanced and no official result confirms that a new taxi vehicle licence or plate is available to a particular applicant. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current private hire vehicle grant or plate availability for an applicant: An operator form is public, but no form was advanced and no official result confirms that a private-hire vehicle licence or plate would be granted to a particular applicant. NOT VERIFIED
  • Later operator form fields validation upload payment and submission behaviour: Only the public JavaScript-required shell was retrieved. No personal data was entered, no later step was opened, no document was uploaded, and no payment or submission was attempted. NOT VERIFIED
  • Complete current vehicle application supporting document set: The hub and public form shell do not expose a complete route-specific list of every document required at later application steps. Guidance lists inspection documents but does not establish the complete live form requirement set. NOT STATED
  • Vehicle specification review supersession and current policy date: The live hub links a specification effective 16 May 2018, but neither page states a later review date or expressly confirms whether any later committee decisions alter it. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle inspection capacity waiting time and booking outcome: The council publishes the location, telephone booking route and fee, but not live capacity, current waiting time or a guaranteed appointment or pass outcome. NOT STATED
  • Actual current vehicle application processing time for an applicant: The council publishes a six-to-eight-week estimate, but no application was made and no current case result verifies the actual time for a particular applicant. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current vehicle emissions or low emission eligibility standard: The reviewed hub, specification, conditions and inspection guide do not state a separate emissions or low-emission eligibility threshold. NOT STATED
  • Current wheelchair accessible taxi roster capacity or vehicle availability: The council publishes wheelchair-vehicle requirements but no current complete accessible-taxi roster, spare capacity or commercially available compliant vehicle list in the reviewed sources. NOT STATED
  • Current unmet demand survey or evidence supporting taxi zone caps: The council publishes zone caps and directs enquiries about availability, but the reviewed sources do not identify a current unmet-demand survey or its date. NOT STATED
  • Current local private hire overprovision assessment policy: Current statute contains an overprovision refusal test, while the council guidance says it cannot set a numerical limit; the reviewed local sources do not publish a current overprovision assessment policy. NOT STATED
  • Current booking application guidance and conditions link targets: On the live taxi page, the booking-office application, booking-office guidance and Standard Conditions render as anchor text without href attributes. The guidance and conditions were independently located on official council URLs, but the application target remains unavailable from the published link. LINK MISROUTED
  • Current booking application fields and complete supporting document set: The current booking application file is not reachable from its rendered council-page anchor, so its fields, declarations, document requirements and file date were not established. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office return or submission channel: The council says to return the completed application with the fee but does not state on the inspected page whether the current route is post, email or in person. GOV.UK says the licence cannot be applied for online. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office site notice and compliance certificate form: The guidance says notice and compliance forms are included with the application, but the application download has no usable href and no separate current form URL was located. NOT STATED
  • Actual current booking office application processing time: The council describes delegated and committee routes but gives no current booking-office processing estimate or actual turnaround. Statutory outer limits are not operational timing evidence. NOT STATED
  • Current local booking office right to licence check instructions: Current Home Office guidance covers Scottish booking-office licences, but the inspected North Ayrshire booking and tax pages do not publish a local document, online-check or share-code route. NOT STATED
  • Current advertised application rows and objection deadlines: The current-applications entrypoint was inspected without retaining applicant or business rows. No completeness check or live objection deadline for a particular application was performed. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current register results licence holders and vehicle or booking status: The official register filters were inspected without submitting a search. No licence-holder, business, vehicle, plate or booking-office result was collected. NOT VERIFIED
  • Online register completeness freshness and update latency: The public register says it summarises current licences and applications but gives no as-at timestamp, completeness statement or update-latency commitment. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: No official source in this bounded licensing shard identifies a current commercial radio or dispatch provider roster, and no business-directory result is treated as licensing evidence. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: The official licensing sources do not state whether any commercial radio or dispatch provider is accepting operators or what eligibility, deposit, equipment or commitment terms apply. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council licence and inspection fees do not state commercial radio subscriptions, commissions, equipment prices, deposits or other provider charges. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No official source reviewed states a commercial provider service area, booking volume, job allocation, waiting time, earnings or demand available to a new operator. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: The vehicle specification, council fees and public register do not prove that any compliant licensed vehicle, rental, lease, owner-driver shift or plate package is currently commercially available. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide