Official-source evidence

Midlothian Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 28 source-backed claims · 43 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence suitability safety insurance and number controls

Section 10 governs vehicles and does not establish a separate driver, booking-office or dispatch relationship.

  • Vehicle Licence Required: Yes
  • Grant Or Renewal Tests: suitable in type, size and design; safe for the licensed use; appropriate insurance or security in force
  • Taxi Number Control: refusal to limit taxi numbers requires no significant unmet demand
  • Private Hire Overprovision: refusal requires the statutory overprovision test
Current statutory rule

Vehicle substitution and disposal duties

The claim records the current consolidated statutory vehicle provisions.

  • Substitution: the licensing authority may permit another vehicle to replace the licensed vehicle
  • Disposal: the licence must be delivered to the authority within 28 days after disposal unless the authority permits otherwise
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence Midlothian Council's actual turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Local vehicle driver and booking route separation

A vehicle route entry does not prove a driver licence, booking-office licence or commercial dispatch relationship.

  • Directory Entries: driver licence; booking licence; vehicle licence
  • Route Relationship: the council publishes these as separate application records
Current official source

Published vehicle applicant and renewal notice

The generic licensing page says eight weeks, so the controlling renewal lead time is retained as a conflict rather than inferred.

  • Who Should Apply: anyone who wishes to own or modify a Private Hire Car or Taxi
  • Route Specific Notice Weeks: 6
  • Application Channels: Fairfield House postal or in-person address stated on the form; civiclicensing@midlothian.gov.uk email stated on the form
Current official source

Published 2026 27 vehicle fees

The split elements and combined totals reconcile arithmetically; refund actor wording remains separately flagged.

  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Taxi: First Element: GBP 112; Second Element: GBP 508; Combined Application: GBP 620; Renewal: GBP 620
  • Private Hire Car: First Element: GBP 112; Second Element: GBP 490; Combined Application: GBP 602; Renewal: GBP 602
  • Substitute Or Reversion: GBP 116
  • Material Change: GBP 85
Current official source

Vehicle application types applicant structures and fields

These are published form fields, not proof that an applicant or vehicle will qualify.

  • Application Types: first application; renewal
  • Licence Routes: taxi; private hire car
  • Applicant Structures: individual; company; partnership; employee or agent carrying on day-to-day management
  • Vehicle Fields: registration and first-registration date; make and model; doors and colour; engine or power-to-weight information; rear-seat width; chassis number; prior licensing; premises where kept; hours and days available for hire
Current official source

Published vehicle door power and rear seat wording

The form does not clearly state whether engine capacity and power-to-weight are alternatives or cumulative tests; that logic remains a gap.

  • Side Doors: must have 4 side doors
  • Engine Cc: must be over 1600
  • Power To Weight: equal to or greater than 0.0690 hp per kg
  • Rear Seat Cushion Width: must be more than 1.07 metres
Current official source

Published identification plate step after satisfactory examination

This sequence does not prove current plate stock or that a grant will be available.

  • Trigger: vehicle examined and found satisfactory
  • Next Step: collect identification plates from the council and fit them before licensed activity begins
Current official source

Published taxi body partition and wheelchair wording

The form gives no complete current technical accessibility specification or approval list.

  • Ordinary Style: standard metropolitan style with a partially glazed partition
  • People Carrier Statement: people-carrier taxis are approved subject to normal conditions with the stated wheel-turning-circle exemption
  • Wheelchair Statement: the taxi should be wheelchair accessible, otherwise it will not be licensed
Current official source

Published private hire vehicle operating premises wording

The statement does not itself establish that any premises has planning, fire or booking-office approval.

The holder of a private hire car licence shall operate the vehicle only from suitable premises in Midlothian.

Current official source

Published vehicle glass tint limits

The form states these test-centre light-meter limits without supplying the complete inspection manual.

  • Front Windscreen And Front Doors: 25 percent maximum permitted level
  • Other Windows: 35 percent plus or minus 2 percent
Current official source

Published taxi licensee driver list submission

This is an operator-side record statement and does not establish that any listed person holds a current driver licence.

  • Record: keep a list of taxi drivers driving for the licensee
  • Submission Frequency: copies submitted every three months to the council
Current official source

Published substitute reversion inspection documents and fee

The form covers application inputs and does not prove approval, timing or temporary vehicle availability.

  • Fee: GBP 116 including plates
  • Inspection: make an appointment with the Taxi Inspection Office after submission
  • Documents At Examination: licence; current vehicle certificate of examination; receipt; insurance certificate naming the provider, applicant and nominated drivers; V5 in the substitute provider name
  • Accident Damage Basis: apply to revert after the original vehicle is repaired

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence Midlothian Council's actual turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Booking office threshold premises management records notice and duration

The council publishes a separate local page and downloadable forms; local requirements and unresolved discrepancies are recorded separately.

  • Threshold: bookings for four or more taxis or private hire cars
  • Premises: the premises where bookings are taken must be licensed
  • Holder: individual; partnership; limited partnership; limited company
  • Manager: name the person responsible for day-to-day management
  • Records: every booking; vehicle registration and driver name
  • Licence Checks: ensure vehicles and drivers have the correct licences
  • National Notice Duration Days: 21
  • Usual Licence Duration Years: 3
  • Online Application Statement: GOV.UK states that this licence cannot be applied for online
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

HMRC guidance does not list Scottish taxi or private-hire vehicle licences in this tax-check scope.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Required: renewing the same type of licence; applying after holding the same type within the previous year; applying to another authority while holding the same type
  • Code: nine-character tax-check code
  • Code Validity Days: 120
Current official source

First application tax responsibility confirmation

Midlothian's current booking form only asks for a tax-check code on renewal and does not state the national first-application awareness route.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Applicable: applying for this type of licence for the first time; applying after the same type of licence stopped being valid at least one year earlier
  • Requirement: confirm awareness of tax responsibilities to the licensing authority
Current official source

Right to licence check scope and methods

No current local booking-office right-to-licence checklist was located in the bounded council-source review.

  • Covered Scottish Licence: booking office licence
  • Events: new application; renewal; extension
  • Methods: digital status where prescribed; Home Office online service where available; current prescribed document checks
  • Time Limited Status: licence duration must not exceed the permitted immigration period
Current official source

Local booking office threshold and separate driver licence

The booking-office route is separate from vehicle and driver licensing.

  • Applicant: anyone who runs a private hire car or taxi booking office
  • Threshold: premises accepting bookings for four or more taxis or private hire cars
  • Separate Driver Licence: Yes
  • Conditions Statement: standard conditions apply and special conditions may also be attached
Current official source

Published booking definition consultations planning and fire guidance

The form does not prove that any premises has obtained the separate consents or passed an inspection.

  • No Licence Threshold: no licence required where relevant vehicles do not at any time exceed three
  • Consultees: Chief Constable; Scottish Fire and Rescue Service; Planning Officer
  • Planning: applicant is responsible for correct planning permission before applying
  • Council Property: landlord consent should be obtained for council-owned property
  • Fire: responsible person must arrange a competent fire risk assessment and record outcomes
Current official source

Published booking records and licensed vehicle driver steps

These published mandatory conditions do not state the full local retention, access or production regime.

  • Booking Record: every booking taken at the relevant premises
  • Hire Record: registration number of the vehicle hired from the booking; name of its driver at the time of hire
  • Reasonable Steps: resulting vehicle is a licensed taxi or private hire car; driver holds an in-force section 13 licence
Current official source

Published booking application fields plan and site notice

The document was inspected without entering, paying or submitting an application.

  • Applicant Structures: individual; company; partnership; employee or agent carrying on day-to-day management
  • Business Fields: premises address and description; premises plan; daily opening and closing hours; vehicle licence-holder and registration numbers; prior booking licences or refusals
  • Renewal Tax Field: nine-digit HMRC tax-check code field labelled renewals only
  • Site Notice Continuous Days: 21
  • Channels: Fairfield House address; civiclicensing@midlothian.gov.uk email

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current statutory rule

Statutory register duty

The statutory duty does not prove completeness or freshness of any web list.

  • Register Duty: the authority must keep a register of applications, decisions and prescribed licence information
  • Public Inspection: the register is available for public inspection at reasonable times and certified extracts may be supplied for a reasonable fee
Current official source

Published 2026 27 register copy and extract fees

The fee rows do not state the request channel, register scope, update date or completeness.

  • Certified Extract: GBP 44
  • Copy Of Register: GBP 144
  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Schedule Label: discretionary charge

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

43 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current vehicle renewal submission lead time: The route-specific page and current vehicle form say no less than six weeks, while the council generic licensing page says non-alcohol renewals must be submitted eight weeks before expiry. CONFLICT
  • Current vehicle application conviction and fixed penalty disclosure scope: The current form first excludes spent convictions and alternatives, then says all convictions including those normally expected to be spent must be declared. CONFLICT
  • Current booking application conviction and fixed penalty disclosure scope: The current booking form first excludes spent convictions and alternatives, then says all convictions including those normally expected to be spent must be declared. CONFLICT
  • Current vehicle first and second fee refusal actor: The vehicle application and fee schedule describe the split vehicle-licence charge but say the first element is retained if a driver is refused; the intended applicant actor is unclear. CONFLICT
  • Current consolidated taxi and private hire vehicle conditions: The bounded current route materials contain selected guidance but do not publish a complete consolidated and version-controlled vehicle conditions document. NOT STATED
  • Current engine capacity and power to weight test relationship: The form prints an engine-capacity threshold and a power-to-weight threshold but does not clearly state whether they are alternatives, cumulative requirements or route-specific tests. NOT STATED
  • Current new renewal substitute and replacement vehicle age eligibility: No current maximum age, first-registration cutoff or route-specific renewal and substitute age rule is stated in the bounded current page and forms. NOT STATED
  • Current mot age validity and timing requirement: The current application and route page do not state when an MOT becomes necessary, how much validity must remain or the reference point for that test. NOT STATED
  • Complete current vehicle application supporting document set: The main application does not provide a complete current checklist covering ownership, V5, insurance, inspection evidence and any route-specific supporting documents. NOT STATED
  • Current main vehicle application insurance and named driver evidence: Insurance and V5 evidence are stated for substitutes, but the bounded main vehicle route materials do not give a complete corresponding requirement for an ordinary grant or renewal. NOT STATED
  • Current complete taxi wheelchair accessibility specification and approval: The current form says a taxi should be wheelchair accessible but gives no full dimensions, equipment, testing standard, approved models or exception process. NOT STATED
  • Current private hire vehicle wheelchair accessibility requirement: The bounded current sources do not state whether or when a private hire car must be wheelchair accessible. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle emissions fuel and zero emission criteria: No current emissions class, fuel rule, low-emission deadline or electric-vehicle exception is stated in the bounded vehicle materials. NOT STATED
  • Current complete vehicle inspection manual test items and pass tolerances: The sources state an examination sequence and selected dimensions but not the complete current test manual, inspection items, defect categories or pass tolerances. NOT STATED
  • Actual current vehicle application processing time: The six-week application wording, statutory outer windows and eight-week inspection presentation window do not establish actual end-to-end current processing time. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle inspection appointment capacity wait and pass rate: The form names an appointment stage but publishes no current capacity, next available slot, average wait, cancellation availability or pass rate. NOT STATED
  • Current taxi number limit unmet demand evidence and new grant policy: No current Midlothian taxi-number limit, unmet-demand study, cap headroom or new-grant policy appears in the bounded route materials. NOT STATED
  • Current taxi plate stock queue and guaranteed issuance: The post-inspection plate collection step does not prove current plate stock, a queue position, an available grant or guaranteed issuance for any applicant. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current local private hire overprovision assessment policy: The local page and forms do not state how Midlothian currently applies the statutory private-hire overprovision test. NOT STATED
  • Current private hire plate or grant availability for an applicant: Published fees and plate collection wording do not verify current private-hire grant availability, plate stock or a successful outcome. NOT VERIFIED
  • Later vehicle form validation payment and submission behaviour: Only downloadable forms and public pages were inspected; no details were entered, payment made or application submitted. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current owner licence holder operator and day to day manager relationship: The page uses owner wording and the form collects company, partnership and day-to-day manager details without fully defining the legal relationship among these roles. NOT STATED
  • Current substitute vehicle maximum duration age and eligibility: The substitute form lists inspection documents and reversion after accident repair but no maximum duration, vehicle-age limit or complete eligibility test. NOT STATED
  • Current substitute vehicle approval timing and availability: No application was made and the form does not verify an available substitute, inspection appointment, approval time or successful outcome. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current vehicle material change decision criteria and processing time: The form collects the proposed change and fee but does not state the decision criteria, consultation sequence, inspection triggers or processing time. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle and booking office public register access method: A fee is published for extracts and copies, but the bounded council route materials do not state the request channel, inspection place, hours or online access method. NOT STATED
  • Current register results licence holders vehicles and booking offices: No register was accessed, requested or inferred, so current holders, vehicles, applications and booking-office statuses remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Public register completeness freshness and update latency: The council materials do not state completeness, last update, update frequency or latency for the statutory register across these routes. NOT STATED
  • Current complete standard and special booking office conditions: The page says standard and possible special conditions apply and the form lists mandatory conditions, but no complete consolidated local conditions set is published in the bounded route materials. NOT STATED
  • Complete current booking office supporting documents insurance and premises approvals: The form requires a premises plan and site notice but does not provide a complete checklist for insurance, planning evidence, landlord consent, fire assessment or other supporting documents. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office premises inspection criteria timing and outcome: The current form names council, Police, fire and planning involvement but does not state inspection criteria, scheduling, outcome categories or evidence issued. NOT STATED
  • Actual current booking office application processing time: The local materials and statutory outer windows do not establish Midlothian current actual turnaround from valid lodgement to decision. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office application queue status and licence availability: Downloadable forms and public fees do not verify a live queue, premises eligibility, licence availability or the outcome of any application. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current local first application tax responsibility confirmation: HMRC describes first-application tax-awareness confirmation, while the local form only prints a tax-check-code field labelled renewals only. NOT STATED
  • Current local booking office right to licence check instructions: Current national guidance covers Scottish booking-office applications, but the bounded current local page and form provide no corresponding applicant instructions. NOT STATED
  • Current local booking record retention access and production rules: The form identifies core booking records but does not state retention duration, inspection access, production deadlines, storage format or correction rules. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office renewal submission lead time: The booking page and form do not state a route-specific renewal deadline; applying the generic eight-week page without confirmation would be an inference. NOT STATED
  • Current booking planning landlord and fire evidence format: The form states responsibilities but not the exact evidence, assessor qualifications, submission timing or acceptance criteria for planning, landlord and fire matters. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: Official licensing pages and forms do not identify or endorse a current commercial radio or dispatch provider roster. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: Council licensing evidence does not establish provider acceptance, equipment, deposits, vetting, contracts or onboarding terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council licence and register fees do not evidence commercial radio rent, subscriptions, commission, equipment or other provider pricing. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No reviewed official source states commercial dispatch coverage, active-driver numbers, booking demand, job volume or earnings. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: Licensing forms and hours-available fields do not prove that any vehicle is for rent, any shift is open or any commercial offer is available. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide