Official-source evidence

Inverclyde Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 31 source-backed claims · 49 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence suitability safety insurance and number controls

Section 10 governs vehicles and does not establish a separate driver, booking-office or dispatch relationship.

  • Vehicle Licence Required: Yes
  • Grant Or Renewal Tests: suitable in type, size and design; safe for the licensed use; appropriate insurance or security in force
  • Taxi Number Control: refusal to limit taxi numbers requires no significant unmet demand
  • Private Hire Overprovision: refusal requires the statutory overprovision test
Current statutory rule

Vehicle substitution and disposal duties

The claim records the current consolidated statutory vehicle provisions.

  • Substitution: the licensing authority may permit another vehicle to replace the licensed vehicle
  • Disposal: the licence must be delivered to the authority within 28 days after disposal unless the authority permits otherwise
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence Inverclyde Council's actual turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Local vehicle licence and hire scope

This is the council page summary; detailed vehicle and operator conditions are held separately as dated evidence.

  • Passenger Scope: vehicles for hire carrying up to eight passengers
  • Taxi Licence: permits street pickups and use of taxi ranks
  • Private Hire Car Licence: permits only pre-arranged hires
Current official source

Local post application vehicle test route

The page does not state current appointment lead time, booking steps or guaranteed outcomes.

  • Timing: after the application is submitted
  • Named Centre: Pottery Street Testing Centre
  • Linked Standard: Licensed Vehicle Inspection Manual
Current official source

Local vehicle advertising and cctv permission summary

The live page records the policy position but does not itself reproduce the complete technical policy.

  • Advertising: operator permission is required before vehicle advertising
  • Cctv Dashcam Policy: installation is not mandatory under the described council policy
  • Permission Route: submit the installation application and confirmation of the administration-fee payment to the Licensing Section
Dated official source still linked

Dated vehicle application completion delivery and processing blocker

These instructions come from the still-linked 2022 form and require current confirmation before use.

  • Completion: complete every section in block capitals, preferably black ink
  • Delivery: return the completed form to the Customer Service Centre at the Municipal Buildings in Greenock
  • Processing Blocker: the application will not be processed until vehicle details are supplied
Dated official source still linked

Dated vehicle application applicant manager licence and vehicle fields

This records visible fields in the dated form without entering or submitting an application.

  • Applicant Structures: individual; company; joint application; partnership
  • Manager: day-to-day operator details are requested when different from the applicant
  • Licence Actions: new application; renewal; renewal and replacement vehicle; surrender; replacement vehicle variation; new manager variation
  • Vehicle Fields: registration; first registration date; make and model; engine size; doors; body type; colour; wheelchair accessibility; previous licensing; keeping premises; days and hours available for hire
Dated official source still linked

Dated vehicle application convictions and penalties declaration

The form also uses broader all-convictions wording, preserved below as an unresolved scope conflict.

  • Participants: all persons named on the form
  • Form Instruction: declare convictions, fixed penalty fines and endorsements subject to the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974
  • Empty Declaration: insert NONE and sign where there is nothing to declare
Dated official source still linked

Dated vehicle dimensions equipment and accessibility specification

The specification is dated November 2015 and is not represented as a current consolidated standard.

  • General Items: tyres; wheel trims; electrical equipment; adaptations; towbars
  • Conventional Vehicle Examples: four or five doors by body type; minimum 75 BHP or equivalent low-carbon power-to-weight ratio; minimum rear-seat width 48 inches or 122 centimetres; minimum luggage space 16 cubic feet or 0.45 cubic metres
  • Multi Access Vehicle Examples: type approval; wheelchair carrying arrangement; restraints and ramps; loading and securing demonstration
Dated official source still linked

Dated vehicle inspection and retest framework

The manual is linked as version 3 revised July 2023; its currentness beyond that date is not asserted.

  • Maintenance Expectation: licensed vehicles should remain capable of passing a council inspection throughout the licensed period
  • Retest Categories: free retest; partial retest; full retest
  • Short Retest Window: three full working days with no more than 100 miles since the initial inspection for the described free or partial retest routes
  • Modifications: consult the council before incurring expense and use only approved fittings
Dated official source still linked

Dated taxi operator inspection frequency and certificate

The still-linked conditions are dated June 2023 and do not expressly resolve the exact-three-years case.

  • Less Than Three Years Old: inspection every year
  • More Than Three Years Old: inspection every six months
  • Operation: do not operate without a current council mechanical inspection certificate
  • Inspection Documents: insurance; vehicle registration
Dated official source still linked

Dated private hire operator inspection frequency and certificate

The still-linked conditions are dated June 2023 and do not expressly resolve the exact-three-years case.

  • Less Than Three Years Old: inspection every year
  • More Than Three Years Old: inspection every six months
  • Operation: do not operate without a current council mechanical inspection certificate
  • Inspection Documents: insurance; vehicle registration
Dated official source still linked

Dated taxi operator record insurance plate fare and advertising duties

These are June 2023 conditions and should be checked for later amendments before operational use.

  • Driver Record: keep an up-to-date list of employed taxi drivers and their addresses
  • Insurance: maintain vehicle and passenger insurance and notify expiry
  • Vehicle Identification: display council-issued plates and approved roof sign
  • Fares: carry the approved fare notice and use an approved sealed taximeter where applicable
  • Advertising: display only signs approved by the council
Dated official source still linked

Dated private hire operator record insurance plate fare and advertising duties

These are June 2023 conditions and should be checked for later amendments before operational use.

  • Driver Record: keep an up-to-date list of employed private-hire drivers and their addresses
  • Insurance: maintain vehicle and passenger insurance and notify expiry
  • Vehicle Identification: display council-issued plates and do not display a roof sign
  • Metered Fares: use the approved fare notice and an approved sealed taximeter where a meter is fitted
  • Advertising: display only signs approved by the council
Current official source

Published vehicle operator and test fees effective 2026 04 01 gbp

The page and one-page fee list agree; the page warns that MOT-related taxi charges can change during the year.

  • Taxi Operator: 483
  • Private Hire Operator: 483
  • New Agent Variation: 63
  • Taxi Annual Test With Meter: 187.85
  • Taxi Six Monthly Test With Meter: 139
  • Private Hire Annual Test Without Meter: 112.85
  • Private Hire Six Monthly Test Without Meter: 96
  • Replacement Vehicle Without Meter: 197.85
  • Cctv Administration: 42
  • Cctv Installation: 19

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are outer statutory rules and do not evidence Inverclyde Council's actual turnaround.

  • Consideration Window: relevant application must be considered within three months from the relevant date
  • Final Decision Window: a final decision must be reached within the following six months, subject to sheriff extension
  • Ordinary Duration: three years unless a shorter period is set
  • Appeal Deadline: summary application to the sheriff normally within 28 days
Current official source

Booking office threshold premises management records notice and duration

This is national guidance; current local requirements and conditions must still be checked separately.

  • Threshold: bookings for four or more taxis or private hire cars
  • Premises: the premises where bookings are taken must be licensed
  • Holder: individual; partnership; limited partnership; limited company
  • Manager: name the person responsible for day-to-day management
  • Records: every booking; vehicle registration and driver name
  • Licence Checks: ensure vehicles and drivers have the correct licences
  • National Notice Duration Days: 21
  • Usual Licence Duration Years: 3
  • Online Application Statement: GOV.UK states that this licence cannot be applied for online
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

HMRC guidance does not list Scottish taxi or private-hire vehicle licences in this tax-check scope.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Required: renewing the same type of licence; applying after holding the same type within the previous year; applying to another authority while holding the same type
  • Code: nine-character tax-check code
  • Code Validity Days: 120
Current official source

First application tax responsibility confirmation

This national guidance distinguishes first applications from cases requiring a tax-check code.

  • Scottish Scope: booking office licence
  • When Applicable: applying for this type of licence for the first time; applying after the same type of licence stopped being valid at least one year earlier
  • Requirement: confirm awareness of tax responsibilities to the licensing authority
Current official source

Right to licence check scope and methods

No demonstrably current local booking-office right-to-licence checklist was located in the bounded council-source review.

  • Covered Scottish Licence: booking office licence
  • Events: new application; renewal; extension
  • Methods: digital status where prescribed; Home Office online service where available; current prescribed document checks
  • Time Limited Status: licence duration must not exceed the permitted immigration period
Current official source

Local booking office threshold premises and communication scope

The live page remains the council entry point but states a last-update date of April 2021.

  • Threshold: business of four or more vehicles
  • Premises: premises used to take bookings
  • Booking Method: any means of communication
  • Public Hire Scope: taxi and private-hire vehicle bookings for members of the public
Dated official source still linked

Dated booking application lodging fee and fields

This describes the still-linked September 2023 form without entering or submitting it.

  • Lodging: lodge the completed form with the council head of service at the Municipal Buildings in Greenock
  • Fee: the appropriate fee accompanies the application
  • Applicant Fields: individual or organisation details; day-to-day manager; premises; taxi vehicle count; private-hire vehicle count; convictions; licence history
  • Tax Field: HMRC tax-check code for renewal applications
Dated official source still linked

Dated booking site notice objection and compliance process

The form contains the site notice and compliance certificate; current procedural confirmation remains necessary.

  • Display Period Days: 21
  • Objection Window: generally within 21 days of the relevant notice or application date
  • Certificate: submit the certificate of compliance after the site notice display period
Dated official source still linked

Dated booking premises display supervision insurance and alteration conditions

The still-linked condition schedule is undated and contains obsolete institutional wording.

  • Display: exhibit the licence where the public can easily read it
  • Supervision: the licence holder or an authorised person must be in charge of the premises
  • Insurance: maintain adequate third-party liability insurance and evidence premium payment on demand
  • Alterations: obtain council approval before structural alteration
Dated official source still linked

Dated booking records licence checks complaints and retention conditions

The undated conditions are evidence of a linked schedule, not proof of the current consolidated record policy.

  • Booking Records: every booking; vehicle registration; driver name; reasons accepted bookings were not fulfilled
  • Licence Check: take reasonable steps to use a currently licensed relevant vehicle and licensed driver
  • Complaints: maintain a complaints policy and record complaints and outcomes
  • Retention Years: 3
  • Availability: make records available to the council or police on demand
Dated official source still linked

Dated 2018 local booking office entitlement check route

The document reflects a 2018 checklist and is not safe to use as the current acceptable-document list.

  • Applicant Scope: individuals, sole traders and partnerships applying for grant or renewal
  • Attendance: appointment and personal production of original documents
  • Limited Status: licence duration described as limited to the permission period
  • Overseas Convictions: specified overseas criminal-record evidence for relevant residence of six months or more
Dated official source still linked

Dated local tax check code and council data statement

The page title includes booking offices, but its opening scope wording is inconsistent; national HMRC guidance is authoritative.

  • Code Length: nine characters
  • Validity Days: 120
  • Council Receipt: confirmation of completion rather than tax information

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current statutory rule

Statutory register duty

The statutory duty does not prove completeness or freshness of any web list.

  • Register Duty: the authority must keep a register of applications, decisions and prescribed licence information
  • Public Inspection: the register is available for public inspection at reasonable times and certified extracts may be supplied for a reasonable fee
Current official source

Current online vehicle application register surfaces

The linked workbooks were deliberately not ingested and the page does not expose a booking-office workbook.

  • Published Registers: Taxi Licence Applications; Private Hire Car Licence Applications
  • Update Statement: register spreadsheets are updated regularly and carry their own last-updated date
  • Fallback: contact the licensing section for later information or a register type not yet online

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

49 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current vehicle application form and instructions: The live page still links a form identified as version 3 dated 19 May 2022, with no later review or confirmation that every field and delivery instruction remains current. DATED ONLY
  • Later vehicle form validation upload payment and submission behaviour: Only public pages and downloadable documents were inspected; no form, upload, payment, validation or submission workflow was entered or exercised. NOT VERIFIED
  • Complete current vehicle application supporting document set: The page and dated form mention residence evidence and vehicle details, but do not provide a verified exhaustive current checklist for every applicant and licence action. NOT STATED
  • Actual current vehicle application processing time: The council sources give no current observed end-to-end turnaround; the statutory consideration and final-decision windows are outer rules rather than service performance. NOT STATED
  • Current consolidated vehicle specification: The only specification linked from the live page is revised November 2015 and retains an already-expired 31 March 2013 transition deadline. DATED ONLY
  • Current consolidated vehicle inspection manual: The live page links a manual identified as version 3 revised July 2023, but states no later review or confirmation that every test and retest rule remains current. DATED ONLY
  • Current consolidated taxi operator conditions: The linked taxi conditions are dated June 2023 and the live page does not identify a later consolidated schedule or amendment record. DATED ONLY
  • Current consolidated private hire operator conditions: The linked private-hire conditions are dated June 2023 and the live page does not identify a later consolidated schedule or amendment record. DATED ONLY
  • Current vehicle inspection frequency and exact three year rule: Annual and six-monthly frequencies appear only in the 2023 conditions, which distinguish vehicles less than and more than three years old without expressly covering exactly three years. DATED ONLY
  • Current maximum passenger capacity by vehicle and licence type: The live page describes hire vehicles carrying up to eight passengers, while the dated taxi conditions state a four-passenger maximum and the private-hire conditions state four or six persons; vehicle-specific licensing may explain this, but the reviewed sources do not reconcile it. CONFLICT
  • Current transitional replacement rule for nonconforming vehicles: The 2015 specification says certain vehicles required replacement by 31 March 2013, an expired date that cannot establish any current transitional arrangement. DATED ONLY
  • Current approved vehicle make model and conversion roster: The reviewed official sources provide dimensions and approval principles but no current exhaustive roster of approved makes, models, conversions or age-specific variants. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle entry and renewal age limits: The dated conditions use vehicle age to describe inspection frequency but the reviewed sources do not state current entry, renewal or maximum service-age limits. NOT STATED
  • Current emissions low emission zone and zero emission vehicle rules: The reviewed council sources do not publish a complete current emissions, low-emission-zone, exemption or zero-emission transition policy for licensed vehicles. NOT STATED
  • Current wheelchair accessible fleet requirements and vehicle specific scope: The dated specification describes multi-access vehicles and the application asks whether a vehicle is accessible, but no current fleet quota, route allocation or vehicle-specific approval list was located. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle application appointment postal delivery and office hours: The dated form names a physical return address but the reviewed sources do not confirm current office hours, appointment requirements, postal acceptance or alternative delivery methods. NOT STATED
  • Exact vehicle application and test amount due at transaction: The 2026/27 page and PDF agree on published amounts, but the page warns that MOT-related taxi charges may change during the year and no transaction was entered. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current vehicle licence inventory numbers caps and grant availability: The public page links application registers, not a verified live inventory, taxi-cap position, waiting list or guarantee that a particular application can be granted. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current vehicle test booking lead time and capacity: The council names Pottery Street Testing Centre and publishes test standards, but gives no current appointment lead time, capacity or guaranteed testing date. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle test booking contact reschedule and cancellation process: The reviewed vehicle page, fee schedule and manual do not state a complete current process for booking, rescheduling or cancelling a vehicle inspection. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle licence surrender transfer and new agent process: The 2022 form contains surrender and new-manager sections and the current fee page lists a new-agent variation, but no later consolidated process was located. DATED ONLY
  • Current conviction fixed penalty and rehabilitation disclosure scope: The dated form says the council may consider all convictions and penalties, then instructs disclosure subject to the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974; the reviewed sources do not reconcile the operative disclosure boundary. CONFLICT
  • Complete current identity residence company partnership and manager evidence: The dated form collects several applicant and manager identities but does not state a complete current evidence checklist for each legal structure and management arrangement. NOT STATED
  • Complete current cctv dashcam installation technical data and approval requirements: The live page explains permission and non-mandatory status but does not reproduce the full current technical, signage, data-controller, retention and approval requirements. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office application form and lodging instructions: The live page was last updated in 2021 and links a form identified as September 2023; no later form review or confirmation of every lodging instruction was located. DATED ONLY
  • Current consolidated booking office conditions: The still-linked conditions have no reliable issue date and define police by the obsolete Strathclyde Police name, so they cannot establish the current consolidated schedule. DATED ONLY
  • Current local booking office right to licence check methods and documents: The local linked document describes a 2018 paper-document and EEA residence-card regime, while current Home Office guidance includes digital-status and online-service methods; the local page does not identify a superseding checklist. CONFLICT
  • Current local tax check scope wording for booking office applicants: The local page title names taxi booking offices, but its introductory scope text names taxi drivers and scrap-metal applicants; HMRC guidance clearly includes Scottish booking offices, leaving the local wording internally inconsistent. CONFLICT
  • Complete current booking office supporting document set: The dated form collects applicant, manager, premises, vehicle-count, conviction and tax information but provides no verified exhaustive current supporting-document checklist. NOT STATED
  • Later booking form validation upload payment and submission behaviour: Only the public page and downloadable forms were inspected; no application, upload, payment, validation or submission workflow was entered or exercised. NOT VERIFIED
  • Actual current booking office application processing time: The local sources give no current observed end-to-end turnaround; the statutory outer consideration and final-decision windows do not establish service performance. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office premises inspection criteria timing and outcome: The reviewed application and conditions identify premises obligations but do not state current inspection criteria, timing, remedial steps or a guaranteed outcome. NOT STATED
  • Complete current booking office planning fire safety and insurance evidence: The undated conditions mention adequate third-party liability insurance but the reviewed sources do not provide a current exhaustive premises, planning, fire-safety and insurance evidence checklist. NOT STATED
  • Current online booking office application and licence register: The current public-register page exposes taxi and private-hire car application spreadsheets but no booking-office workbook; it says missing register types may require contacting the licensing section. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office application queue licence inventory and grant availability: No reviewed official source provides a live application queue, current licence inventory or guarantee that a particular booking-office application can be granted. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current booking office record retention period and format: A three-year period and paper-copy requirement appear only in the undated condition schedule that retains obsolete institutional wording. DATED ONLY
  • Current booking office complaints policy and record requirements: Complaint-policy and record duties were located only in the undated conditions; no current consolidated schedule or separate live policy was found. DATED ONLY
  • Complete current day to day manager suitability and evidence requirements: The form requests manager details and the conditions require supervision, but no complete current suitability test, documentary evidence list or change-of-manager process was located. NOT STATED
  • Current local site notice objection and certificate process: The 21-day notice, objection and compliance-certificate procedure appears in the September 2023 form; no later local procedural confirmation was located. DATED ONLY
  • Current booking office application channel address and delivery options: The 2023 form directs physical lodging at a named council office and GOV.UK says the licence cannot be applied for online, but the current local delivery options and address confirmation are not separately dated. DATED ONLY
  • Current local booking office licence duration and shorter period policy: National guidance and statute describe the usual or ordinary duration, but the reviewed Inverclyde sources do not state any current local shorter-period policy. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office renewal submission lead time: The local page, form and fee schedule do not state how far before expiry a booking-office renewal should currently be lodged. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office third party liability minimum cover and acceptable evidence: The undated conditions require an adequate policy but do not state a current minimum cover amount, approved evidence format or insurer criteria. NOT STATED
  • Current booking system data security access backup and breach requirements: The dated conditions discuss booking records and paper availability but do not provide a current complete policy for system security, access control, backups or breach handling. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: No official licensing source supplies or endorses a current commercial radio or dispatch provider roster for Inverclyde. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: No official source states provider acceptance, onboarding eligibility, documents, equipment, deposits, timing or cancellation terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council licensing fees do not state commercial subscriptions, commission, equipment charges, deposits or other provider pricing. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No official source verifies commercial service areas, demand, job volume, earnings, waiting time, account activity or exclusivity. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: Licensing pages, forms, fees and public-register descriptions do not evidence vehicles for rent, shift availability, rental prices, insurance arrangements or provider acceptance. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide