Official-source evidence

Fife Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 17 source-backed claims · 13 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence required for vehicle operation

Fife calls the section 10 licence holder an operator; the licence still relates to a vehicle.

  • Taxi Licence Required: Yes
  • Private Hire Car Licence Required: Yes
  • Statutory Section: Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 section 10
Current statutory rule

Statutory grant and renewal test

Fife specifications add local detail but cannot be transferred to Glasgow or another council.

  • Authority Must Be Satisfied Vehicle Suitable In Type Size And Design: Yes
  • Authority Must Be Satisfied Vehicle Safe For Use: Yes
  • Qualifying Insurance Or Security Must Be In Force: Yes
Current official source

Vehicle operator application fees gbp

The current fee schedule and live application page corroborate the operator fees; they do not establish commercial radio or rental costs.

  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Taxi Operator: One Year: 267; Three Year: 614
  • Private Hire Car Operator: One Year: 267; Three Year: 614
  • Substitute Vehicle: 30
  • Partnership Addition Per Vehicle: 30
Current official source

Approved type confirmation before purchase

The attached model list should not be converted into a purchase recommendation.

  • Approved Type And Model Required: Yes
  • Consult Fleet Operations Before Purchase: Yes
  • Manufacturer Model Changes Can Affect Approval: Yes
  • Previously Licensed Vehicle May Still Need Approval: Yes
Current official source

General vehicle criteria

Vehicle-specific passenger capacity and approval still depend on the council list and Fleet Operations decision.

  • Minimum Seat Width Inches Per Person: 16
  • Minimum Seat Width Cm Per Person: 41
  • Minimum Engine Power Ps: 90
  • Minimum Engine Power Kw: 66
  • Gross Vehicle Mass Within Manufacturer Specification: Yes
  • Adequate Access Doors And Luggage Area: Yes
Current official source

Vehicle age policy

Purpose-built vehicle approval is marked taxi-only in the checked council document.

  • Maximum Age For New Vehicle Or Substitution Years: 5
  • Group One Car Maximum Licensed Age Years: 10
  • Wheelchair Accessible Group One Maximum Licensed Age Years: 12
  • Purpose Built Taxi Maximum Licensed Age Years: 12
  • Minibus Maximum Licensed Age Years: 12
Current official source

Conversion and accident damage evidence

This captures the council document's alternatives without choosing a certifier or service provider.

  • Converted Vehicle Evidence: DVSA Individual Vehicle Approval; Vehicle Certification Agency converter low-volume certificate
  • Certification Required At Testing: Yes
  • Accident Damaged Vehicle Requires Professional Repair: Yes
  • Accident Damaged Vehicle Requires Satisfactory Engineers Report: Yes
  • Engineers Report Paid By Operator: Yes
Current official source

Operator application supporting documents and payment

The public page was read without opening Start Form; its internal sequence, upload limits and save-or-resume behaviour remain a separate gap.

  • Previous Licence Information Required: Yes
  • Insurance Endorsement: public or private hire as applicable
  • New Grant Insurance May Follow Later: Yes
  • Mot If Vehicle Older Than Years: 1
  • Vehicle Registration Document Pages: pages 1 and 2
  • Partnership Agreement If Applicable: Yes
  • Application Periods Years: 1; 3
  • Online Payment At End: Yes
  • Payment Methods: credit card; debit card
  • Fee Refundable: No
  • Start Form Opened Or Submitted: No
Dated official source still linked

Maintenance records and inspection

These conditions are embedded in a 2024 document and must not be described as freshly reissued in 2026.

  • Detailed Signed Service Records Required: Yes
  • Records Available To Council On Request: Yes
  • Annual Council Inspection Required: Yes
  • Additional Notified Or Random Inspection Possible: Yes
  • Approved Aerial Type And Position Required: Yes
Dated official source still linked

Council test relationship to mot

The linked manual is dated November 2024 and is not represented as a newly issued 2026 manual.

  • Council Test Additional To Mot: Yes
  • Vehicle Can Pass Mot And Fail Council Test: Yes
  • Current Mot Required At Test If Vehicle Older Than Years: 1
  • Unlicensed Use While Plates Removed Allowed: No
  • Taximeter Section Applies To: taxis and private hire cars fitted with a meter
  • Roof Sign Section Applies To: taxis only

Booking-office licensing

Current official source

Booking office application fee gbp

This is the council booking-office fee only and does not establish a commercial radio or dispatch charge.

  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Three Year: 625
Current official source

Licensing threshold

The current GOV.UK summary corroborates the four-vehicle threshold; the 2009 source is as made and full current statutory effect remains an explicit gap.

  • Activity: taking bookings by communication from the public for a licensed taxi or private hire car
  • Regulated From Vehicle Count: 4
  • Exempt Maximum Vehicle Count: 3
  • Regulated Object: premises used for the booking business
Current official source

Application identity management and premises fields

Only blank-form structure was recorded; no personal information was entered or transmitted.

  • Application Types: grant; renewal
  • Applicant Structures: individual; company; partnership
  • Day To Day Manager Required To Be Identified: Yes
  • Premises Address Required: Yes
  • Operating Hours And Days Required: Yes
  • Public Access Question Asked: Yes
  • Vehicle Count Question Asked: Yes
  • Vehicle Parking Location Question Asked: Yes
  • Prior Booking Office Licence And Refusal Questions Asked: Yes
Current official source

Application notice payment and lodging

The email is an official council licensing inbox; this pilot sent no message or application.

  • Public Notice Days: 21
  • Certificate Of Compliance After Notice: Yes
  • Three Year Fee Gbp: 625
  • Payment Method: credit or debit card through the council payment route
  • Payment Receipt Forwarded With Application: Yes
  • Lodging Method: email to misc.licensing@fife.gov.uk
Current official source

Tax conditionality

The route is booking office in Scotland; England and Wales private-hire operator wording is not transferred.

  • Applies In Scotland From: 2023-10-02
  • Tax Check Required For: renewal; same licence type ended less than one year ago; same licence type already held with another authority
  • Tax Responsibilities Confirmation For: never held same licence type; same licence type ended at least one year ago
  • Code Length Characters: 9
  • Code Validity Days: 120
  • Scottish Vehicle Operator Licence Included By Checked Hmrc Page: No

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current official source

Official wheelchair accessible vehicle list

Business rows were not copied; the list is for accessible journey planning and cannot be treated as a provider recommendation.

  • Published By Area: Yes
  • Fields Shown: company and contact details; vehicle make and model; passenger count; licence plate
  • Plate Prefix Meaning: P: Private Hire; T: Taxi
  • Dispatch Or Onboarding Directory: No

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

13 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current full operator licence conditions and dated guide only items: The live application page verifies current supporting documents, fees and payment flow, but the linked full operator guide and embedded standard conditions remain dated 2024 and 2023. Items found only in that guide were not upgraded to current. DATED ONLY
  • Current full vehicle test manual and test fees: The hub still links a manual published in November 2024 whose filename mentions April 2025 fees. The 2026 schedule resolves overlapping amounts that it lists, but several manual charges are absent and a complete 2026 testing manual was not found. DATED ONLY
  • Current full local booking office guidance and conditions: On the current hub, the labels for booking-office guidance and conditions and for the payment process resolve to the same payment walkthrough. A separate current Fife conditions document was therefore not verified. LINK MISROUTED
  • Current consolidated booking office statutory effect and immigration requirements: The 2009 Order source is original as made. The 2017 amending instrument and current Home Office guidance confirm later immigration-status provisions, but a complete current consolidated text and every later amendment were not verified for this pilot. NOT VERIFIED
  • Live vehicle application field sequence upload limits and save resume: The online vehicle application was not entered or submitted, so its live fields, upload limits, validation behaviour and save-or-resume features remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current grant or plate availability: The checked current hub, vehicle list and fee schedule do not state a live count of available taxi or private-hire vehicle licences or guarantee that a grant will be approved. NOT STATED
  • Current complete vehicle operator and booking office register: The hub publishes an accessibility-focused list of wheelchair-accessible vehicles, but the checked sources do not expose a complete current operator and booking-office directory for this pilot. NOT STATED
  • Current licensing zone boundaries and cross zone rules: The checked current public sources do not provide a controlled current statement of Fife licensing zones or cross-zone operating rules suitable for this dataset. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: The accessibility list names businesses for journey-planning contacts, but it does not establish which radio or dispatch services are currently accepting drivers. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: No checked official source states current driver eligibility, vehicle acceptance, documents, waiting time, account process or termination terms for a Fife radio or dispatch provider. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Council licensing fees do not establish commercial radio rent, app commission, subscription, deposit, equipment or payment-settlement terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No checked official source verifies dispatch zones, operating hours, job volume, rank access, airport access or earnings for any provider. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: Vehicle approval and appearance in an accessibility list do not establish that a vehicle, plate or shift is available to rent or its commercial terms. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide