Official-source evidence

City of Edinburgh Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 20 source-backed claims · 15 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence required for vehicle operation

This is the vehicle licence and does not replace a driver licence or a booking-office licence.

  • Taxi Licence Required: Yes
  • Private Hire Car Licence Required: Yes
  • Statutory Section: Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 section 10
Current statutory rule

Statutory grant and renewal test

Edinburgh specifications add local detail; this national rule alone does not establish that a particular vehicle will be accepted.

  • Authority Must Be Satisfied Vehicle Suitable In Type Size And Design: Yes
  • Authority Must Be Satisfied Vehicle Safe For Use: Yes
  • Qualifying Insurance Or Security Must Be In Force: Yes
Current official source

Local operating characteristics and grant duration

This describes the vehicle route only; a driver still needs the separate appropriate driver licence.

  • Grant Years: 1
  • May Ply For Hire: Yes
  • May Be Hailed In Street: Yes
  • May Use Taxi Rank: Yes
  • Identifiers: illuminated roof sign; yellow council plates at front and rear
Current official source

Local operating characteristics and grant duration

Pre-booking does not itself identify a booking office or prove access to any commercial dispatch system.

  • Grant Years: 1
  • Journeys Must Be Pre Booked: Yes
  • May Ply For Hire: No
  • May Be Hailed In Street: No
  • May Use Taxi Rank: No
  • Prohibited Display Words: taxi; cab; for hire
  • Identifiers: Pre booked hire only front-door stickers; council plates at front and rear
Current official source

Vehicle application fees gbp

These are council application fees and durations only; they say nothing about the commercial cost of operating, renting or obtaining dispatched work.

  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Valid Schedule: 2026/27
  • Taxi Vehicle: New One Year: 853; Renew Existing Vehicle One Year: 463; Renew With Variation For New Vehicle One Year: 540
  • Private Hire Car Vehicle: New One Year: 853; Renew Existing Vehicle One Year: 463; Renew With Variation For New Vehicle One Year: 540
Current official source

Published miscellaneous taxi phc fees gbp

The schedule publishes these under a common miscellaneous heading; this record does not assume every item applies to every application type.

  • Brackets Per Application: 37
  • Inspection Cancellation: 140
  • Vehicle Retest: 72
  • Six Month Additional Compliance Check: 72
  • Change Of Manager Per Application: 140
  • Change Of Vehicle Other Than At Annual Inspection: 223
  • Duplicate Certificate Of Compliance: 0
  • Duplicate Id Badge: 74
  • Duplicate Licence: 74
Current official source

Applicant types and day to day manager

The council pages describe the applicant as the vehicle owner; this structure does not establish a driver or dispatch affiliation.

  • Applicant Types: individual; company; limited company; partnership
  • Company Or Partnership Must Supply Existence Evidence: Yes
  • Company Or Partnership Must Supply Director Or Partner Details: Yes
  • Company Or Partnership Must Name Day To Day Manager: Yes
  • Day To Day Manager Considered Joint Licence Holder: Yes
  • Day To Day Manager Named On Licence Document: Yes
Current official source

New vehicle application submission and inspection evidence

The two-week statement concerns return of incomplete applications, not a determination target for a complete application.

  • Submission Mode: electronic council submission form
  • Minimum Acceptance Items: fully completed and signed application form; correct application fee
  • Supporting Documents Required: Yes
  • Inspection Documents In Applicant Name: Vehicle Registration Certificate V5C; vehicle insurance document
  • Inspection Equipment: 1kg fire extinguisher
  • Incomplete Application Return Target Weeks: 2
Current official source

Inspection before grant and frequency

The current April 2026 guidance supplies the six-month rule for vehicles older than ten years.

  • Council Inspection Additional To MOT: Yes
  • Inspection Before Grant: Yes
  • Inspection Location: Licensing Hub, 33 Murrayburn Road, Edinburgh EH14 2TF
  • Standard Frequency: annual
  • Older Than Years: 10
  • Older Vehicle Frequency: every 6 months
Dated official source still linked

Dated linked vehicle licence holder conditions

These are sourced to the latest full conditions document linked by the checked pages, amended in 2021; current April 2026 guidance independently supplies newer inspection detail.

  • Maintain Valid Council Vehicle Licence: Yes
  • Display Current Council Plates: Yes
  • Registration And Insurance Held In Licence Holder Name: Yes
  • Annual Council Inspection And Certificate Of Compliance: Yes
  • Additional Inspection On Council Notice: Yes

Booking-office licensing

Current official source

Licensing threshold

This separate premises licence does not license a vehicle, a driver, or access to a commercial radio or dispatch provider.

  • Licensed Object: premises used to take public bookings for taxis or private hire cars
  • Licence Required At Vehicle Count: 4
  • No Licence Where Vehicle Count Never Exceeds: 3
  • Booking Means: any means of communication
Current official source

Application identity management and premises fields

The application asks about a booking system but does not publish supplier onboarding, commercial availability, price or job volume.

  • Applicant Types: individual; company; limited company; partnership
  • Company Or Partnership Existence Evidence Required: Yes
  • Director Or Partner Details Required: Yes
  • Day To Day Manager Details Required Where Appointed: Yes
  • Day To Day Manager Named On Licence Document: Yes
  • Premises Fields: trading name; premises address; contact details; proposed operating hours; estimated taxi and private hire car count; booking-system type
  • Layout Plan Required For New And Renewal: Yes
Current official source

Application submission notice processing and duration

The four-to-six-week figure is limited to the majority of applications with no representations or objections and is not a guarantee.

  • Submission Mode: electronic council submission form
  • Payment Methods: debit card; credit card
  • Site Notice Display Days: 21
  • Statutory Minimum Days Before Decision: 28
  • Majority Unopposed Processing Estimate Weeks: Minimum: 4; Maximum: 6
  • Sub Committee Cases Take Longer: Yes
  • Grant Years: 1
  • Renewal Must Be Made Before Expiry: Yes
Current official source

Tax conditionality

This precise conditional rule is corroborated by HMRC and the April 2026 council form and guidance; conflicting blanket wording on the council directory page is retained as a separate gap.

  • Effective From: 2023-10-02
  • Tax Check Required For: renewal; same licence type held with another licensing authority; same licence type expired less than one year before application
  • Genuinely New Applicant Action: confirm tax registration or responsibilities; no tax check code where the same licence type has never been held or ceased at least one year earlier
  • Tax Check Code Length Characters: 9
  • Tax Check Code Validity Days: 120
  • Applicant Must Complete Own Check: Yes
Current official source

National individual applicant right to licence rule

This is national licensing-authority guidance; the exact evidence route used locally by Edinburgh is not stated in the checked local pack.

  • Applies To New Renewed Or Extended Applications: Yes
  • Applies To Persons Subject To Immigration Control: Yes
  • Separate Legal Entity Examples Outside Individual Check: limited company; limited liability partnership
  • Time Limited Permission Caps Licence Duration: Yes
Current official source

Mandatory booking conditions

The current Edinburgh conditions PDF reproduces the mandatory requirements but does not identify a commercial booking-system supplier.

  • Record Every Booking: Yes
  • Record Vehicle Registration Number: Yes
  • Record Driver Name At Hire: Yes
  • Reasonable Steps For Licensed Vehicle: Yes
  • Reasonable Steps For Appropriately Licensed Driver: Yes
Current official source

Booking office application fees gbp

These are council application fees only; GOV.UK gives a general usual term of three years, while Edinburgh explicitly publishes a one-year local grant and fee.

  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Valid Schedule: 2026/27
  • New One Year: 1496
  • Renewal One Year: 1046

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current official source

Official public registers available

The current links and stated register scope are recorded without treating entries as proof of provider onboarding, commercial availability or recommendation.

  • Civic Application Update Statement: updated weekly
  • Published Application Fields: application date; applicant name; premises or area address; council decision; suspension or revocation status
  • Assets: Taxi Vehicle Xls: https://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/downloads/file/23793/taxi-vehicle; Private Hire Car Xls: https://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/downloads/file/23783/private-hire-car; Booking Office Xls: https://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/downloads/file/23772/booking-office
  • Rows Ingested: No
Current official source

Official licensing contact

The register-download page repeats the telephone and email for accessibility help; no contact attempt was made.

  • General Enquiries Telephone: 0131 529 4208
  • Fax: 0131 529 4207
  • Email: licensing@edinburgh.gov.uk
  • Hours: Monday: 08:30-17:00; Tuesday: 10:00-17:00; Wednesday: 08:30-17:00; Thursday: 08:30-17:00; Friday: 08:30-15:55
  • Applications And Payments Accepted: online or electronic only

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

15 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current grant or plate availability: The checked current pages, fee schedule and register links do not state a live grant or plate availability count or guarantee approval of a new taxi or private hire car vehicle licence. NOT STATED
  • Live application field sequence upload limits validation and save resume: The PDF pack was inspected, but the separate live submission form was not entered or submitted, so its field sequence, file limits, validation behaviour and save-or-resume support remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current full vehicle conditions and licence cohort applicability: The current vehicle pages link several conditions documents by grant date; the latest full document inspected is amended 23 August 2021. No later complete consolidated conditions document was identified, so licence-specific cohort applicability must be checked. DATED ONLY
  • Complete vehicle application determination time: The current vehicle guidance says an incomplete application will be returned within two weeks, but the checked vehicle sources do not state a determination target for a complete new vehicle application. NOT STATED
  • Live application field sequence upload limits validation and save resume: The downloadable form and guidance were inspected, but the live submission form was not entered or submitted, so upload limits, validation behaviour and save-or-resume support remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Tax check requirement for genuinely new applicant: The booking-office directory page first says anyone applying on or after 2 October 2023 needs a tax check, then says a new applicant does not. HMRC and the April 2026 council form and guidance support the conditional rule, but the blanket live-page sentence remains unresolved. CONFLICT
  • Current additional local booking office conditions and effective date: The current linked one-page conditions PDF states mandatory conditions, leaves its local-conditions section blank and prints no publication or effective date, so no additional local conditions or effective date can be stated. NOT STATED
  • Current consolidated booking office statutory effect and immigration requirements: The 2009 Order source is original as made. The 2017 amending instrument and current Home Office guidance confirm later immigration-status provisions, but no single current consolidated official booking-office text was available in the checked sources. NOT VERIFIED
  • Local right to licence evidence and check method: The Edinburgh form mentions disclosure to Immigration or the Home Office, but the checked local pack does not state which right-to-licence evidence or check method an in-scope individual applicant must provide. NOT STATED
  • Current register row counts licence status and holder details: The three live XLS assets and expected content types were verified, but licence-holder rows were deliberately not ingested; current row counts, individual statuses and any relationship among entries remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: The checked official council sources and register links do not publish a verified current roster of commercial radio or dispatch providers that are accepting vehicle owners or drivers. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: The checked official licensing pages, booking-office form and public-register links do not state commercial eligibility, onboarding steps, contract terms, equipment requirements or current acceptance status for any radio or dispatch service. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: The council fee schedule states only licensing and related council charges; it does not state radio rent, dispatch subscription, commission, deposit, equipment or cancellation prices. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: No checked official source states live dispatch territory, operating hours, queue size, demand, job volume, earnings, waiting time or service availability for a commercial provider. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: Vehicle licence pages and public registers do not establish that any licensed vehicle is currently for rent, available by shift, insured for a particular arrangement or affiliated with a dispatch provider. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide