Official-source evidence

Dundee City Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 21 source-backed claims · 19 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence required for vehicle operation

The section 10 licence attaches to the vehicle operation and does not replace the driver's separate licence.

  • Taxi Licence Required: Yes
  • Private Hire Car Licence Required: Yes
  • Statutory Section: Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 section 10
Current statutory rule

Statutory vehicle suitability and insurance

Section 10 supplies the national statutory baseline; Dundee's conditions add local inspection and display rules.

  • Authority Must Be Satisfied Vehicle Suitable: Yes
  • Insurance Required Throughout Licence: Yes
Current official source

Current taxi operator licence availability

The count is a time-sensitive live-page observation, not a reservation or promise that a licence will remain available.

  • Available Count Observed: 16
  • Allocation Basis: first come, first served
  • Observed At: 2026-09-02
  • New Plate Vehicle Rule: electric wheelchair-accessible vehicle from the approved list, including listed plug-in hybrid models
Current official source

Current private hire operator licence availability

The application link remains visible, but the council page explicitly states that no private-hire operator licences are currently available.

  • Available Count Observed: 0
  • Page Statement: No private hire operator licences are currently available
  • Vehicle Policy If Available: electric vehicles only
  • Observed At: 2026-09-02
Current official source

Licence fee duration and renewal

These are council licence fees; testing, retesting and commercial operating costs are separate.

  • Currency: GBP
  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Taxi Operator: New: 280; Renewal: 280; Duration Years: 1; Renewal Date: 31 May
  • Private Hire Operator: New: 270; Renewal: 270; Duration Years: 1; Renewal Date: 31 May
Current official source

Administrative change fees

The schedule does not say that every administrative charge applies identically to every route, so applicability must be confirmed before payment.

  • Currency: GBP
  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Vehicle Variation: 50
  • Material Change Or Director Change: 50
  • Day To Day Manager Appointment: 50
  • Licence Reprint: 20
Current official source

Taxi corporate application information

This evidence is limited to the current-linked corporate-plate document and does not prove the complete live workflow for all applications.

  • Applicant Structures Shown: individual; company; partnership
  • Information Shown: identity or company details; tax references; day-to-day manager; vehicle details; insurance; intended taxi office; other badge-holding users; convictions
  • Fee Shown GBP: 280
Current official source

Taxi vehicle condition and inspection baseline

The common baseline is extracted across three current-linked cohort documents; vehicle-type-specific conditions remain controlling for the relevant cohort.

  • Safe Serviceable And Clean: Yes
  • Licensing Inspection Required: Yes
  • Tests Per Year By Vehicle Age: Up To5 Years: 1; Over5 To8 Years: 2; Over8 Years: 3
  • Accident Damage Must Be Reported: Yes
  • Registration And Insurance In Holder Name: Yes
  • Licence Plates And Dundee Taxi Markings Required: Yes
  • Meter Must Be Approved Sealed And Tested: Yes
Current official source

Private hire vehicle condition and inspection baseline

The linked condition document is current on the council page, but its publication and effective dates are not stated.

  • Safe Serviceable And Clean: Yes
  • Licensing Inspection Required: Yes
  • Tests Per Year By Vehicle Age: Up To5 Years: 1; Over5 To8 Years: 2; Over8 Years: 3
  • Accident Damage Must Be Reported: Yes
  • Roadworthy Accident Presentation Deadline: within the next two working days
  • Registration And Insurance In Holder Or Joint Holder Name: Yes
  • Advance Booking Only Sign Required: Yes
  • Roof Sign Prohibited: Yes
  • Driver List Changes Deadline Days: 7
Current official source

Vehicle testing and related fees

Three published amounts conflict with the committee minute and are retained as an explicit conflict gap.

  • Currency: GBP
  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Full Test: 81
  • Full Electric Test: 65
  • Full Test Non Attendance: 38
  • Late Cancellation Within24 Hours: 38
  • Retest Other Than Paint: 59
  • Paint Only Retest: 0
  • Retest Non Attendance: 12
  • Replacement Pretest: 56
  • Pretest Non Attendance: 27
  • Meter Test: 38
  • Plate Or Special Event Disc: 22
  • Duplicate Test Certificate: 12
  • Mot Certificate: 12
  • Mot Test: 54.85
  • Full Test Without Mot: 103
  • Special Events Full Test: 103
  • Plate And Certificate: 34
Current official source

Vehicle retest fee rule

The zero charge applies only to no more than three defects from the document's specified minor-defect list.

  • Currency: GBP
  • Effective From: 2026-04-01
  • Standard Retest: 59
  • Up To Three Listed Minor Defects: 0
  • More Than Three Or Other Defects: 59
Current official source

Daily and weekly vehicle check records

The current council checklist covers safety, licence display, tyres, brakes, bodywork, meters, restraints and cleanliness.

  • Driver Daily Check: Yes
  • Operator Weekly Sign Off: Yes
  • Current Week Kept In Vehicle: Yes
  • Retention Months: 12
  • Defects Rectified Urgently: Yes

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Booking office licence threshold

The booking-office licence is for the premises or business route and is separate from each vehicle and driver licence.

  • Licence Required: Yes
  • Premises Taking Public Bookings: Yes
  • Vehicle Threshold: more than three licensed taxis or private hire cars
Current official source

Booking records management and insurance

The conditions are current-linked but undated; the shard does not infer a date of first or latest effect.

  • Record Every Booking: Yes
  • Record Vehicle Registration: Yes
  • Record Driver Name: Yes
  • Verify Relevant Vehicle And Driver Licences: Yes
  • Licence Holder Or Nominee In Charge: Yes
  • Third Party Liability Insurance: Yes
  • Complaints Policy And Record: Yes
  • Records Printable Within Hours: 24
  • Minimum Retention Years: 1
  • Vehicle Records Required: Yes
  • Driver Roster Update Within Working Days: 2
Current official source

Hmrc tax check for renewal or reapplication

HMRC supplies the national tax-check rule; the Dundee portal sequence and local evidence-handling step were not tested.

  • May Apply: Yes
  • Applies To: renewal; application after holding the same licence in the previous year
  • New Applicants Use Tax Guidance Route: Yes

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current official source

Public licensing contact

The contact is the council's public Licensing Committee contact, not a commercial operator or dispatch provider.

  • Email: licensing.board@dundeecity.gov.uk
  • Telephone: 01382 434468
  • Address: Licensing Committee, 20 City Square, Dundee DD1 3BY

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

19 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Future taxi licence availability: The official page showed 16 available licences on the checked date, but the count is live and no future availability, reservation or approval is guaranteed. NOT VERIFIED
  • Application handling when no licences available: The official page displays an application entry point while stating that no private-hire operator licences are currently available; it does not state whether an attempted application is accepted, queued, rejected or refunded. NOT STATED
  • Live portal fields upload limits save resume and submission behaviour: The public entry page was reached, but downstream fields, upload limits, save-and-resume behaviour, validation, payment and submission were not entered or tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Application processing and determination time: The checked current council page, fee schedule, application entry point and condition documents do not state one dependable end-to-end processing time. NOT STATED
  • Condition document effective dates and complete cohort mapping: The three current-linked taxi condition documents do not state their effective dates, and the checked page does not publish one consolidated version or a complete decision rule assigning every vehicle to a cohort. NOT STATED
  • Condition document effective date: The private-hire condition document is linked from the current council page but does not state its publication or effective date. NOT STATED
  • Testing fee amounts full without mot special event and plate certificate: The published schedule effective 1 April 2026 states £103, £103 and £34, while the 29 January 2026 committee minute records approved amounts of £107, £107 and £42 for the same three items. The shard does not choose between them. CONFLICT
  • Taxi operator new licence fee: The current 2026 fee schedule and current-linked corporate application state £280, but a historical plate-allocation section retained on the live council page states £250. The 2026 schedule is recorded as the current claim without deleting the conflict. CONFLICT
  • Approved vehicle list publication date: The publication page title and link label say 7 August 2026, while the page's Publication Date field says 5 August 2026; the downloaded document does not print a resolving date. CONFLICT
  • Live portal fields upload limits save resume and submission behaviour: The public entry page was reached, but downstream fields, upload limits, save-and-resume behaviour, validation, payment and submission were not entered or tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Local booking condition effective date: The current-linked booking-office condition document does not state its publication or effective date. NOT STATED
  • Consolidated booking office statutory text: The 2009 Order and 2017 amending instrument were checked as original official instruments, but a single current consolidated text was not available from the checked legislation pages. NOT VERIFIED
  • Local right to licence document route and timing: National guidance places booking-office applications in scope, but the checked Dundee page, conditions and portal entry do not state the local evidence route or timing. NOT STATED
  • Current licence holder and vehicle register rows: No current downloadable Dundee holder or vehicle register was ingested, and no paid list request was made; the shard therefore does not identify current licence holders, vehicles or booking offices. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current commercial provider roster: The checked official licensing, fee, condition and legislation sources do not publish a current roster of commercial radio or dispatch providers and must not be treated as a recommendation list. NOT STATED
  • Provider onboarding eligibility documents and timing: Official sources checked for this shard do not state current commercial-provider eligibility, required onboarding documents, approval timing or whether applications are open. NOT STATED
  • Provider fees commission equipment deposit and cancellation terms: Council licensing and testing fees do not establish commercial radio or dispatch joining fees, subscriptions, commission, equipment costs, deposits or cancellation terms. NOT STATED
  • Coverage job volume earnings waiting and exclusivity: The official sources do not verify commercial dispatch coverage, job volume, earnings, waiting time, shift expectations or exclusivity restrictions. NOT STATED
  • Vehicle rental shift vehicle and insurance arrangements: The official licensing material does not establish any commercial provider's vehicle-rental stock, shift vehicle availability, rental price, insurance arrangement or maintenance allocation. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide