Official-source evidence

Dumfries and Galloway Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 10 source-backed claims · 10 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence required for vehicle operation

This claim concerns the vehicle licence and does not establish that any person holds a driver licence.

  • Taxi Licence Required: Yes
  • Private Hire Car Licence Required: Yes
  • Statutory Section: Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 section 10
Current statutory rule

Statutory grant and renewal test

The statutory test does not guarantee that a particular vehicle or application will be accepted locally.

  • Vehicle Type Size And Design Must Be Suitable: Yes
  • Vehicle Must Be Safe For Use: Yes
  • Qualifying Insurance Or Security Must Be In Force: Yes
Current official source

Local vehicle route characteristics

These are local vehicle-route characteristics, not evidence of driver licensing or dispatch membership.

  • Taxi Operator Licence Required: Yes
  • Taxi May Be Hailed Or Use Rank: Yes
  • Private Hire Operator Licence Required: Yes
  • Private Hire Prebooking Only: Yes
  • Private Hire May Not Be Hailed Or Use Rank: Yes
Current official source

Published application submission route

No form was completed, uploaded, paid or submitted during this research.

  • Application Form Published: Yes
  • Submission Methods: email; post
  • Payment And Relevant Documents Required: Yes
Current official source

Published vehicle application fees gbp

These are council licence fees and do not establish any commercial operating cost.

  • Standard Operator Licence: 434
  • Wheelchair Accessible Vehicle: 230
  • Substitution: 131
  • Wheelchair Accessible Substitution: 65

Booking-office licensing

Current official source

Current booking office fees gbp

The current council fee table identifies these as taxi booking-office application charges.

  • Standard: 434
  • Temporary Up To Six Weeks: 260
Current statutory rule

Licensing threshold

This threshold concerns licensed premises and cannot be used as proof of a commercial dispatch relationship.

  • Licensed Object: premises used to take public bookings for taxis or private hire cars
  • Licence Required At Vehicle Count: 4
  • No Licence Where Vehicle Count Never Exceeds: 3
  • Booking Means: any means of communication
Current official source

National tax check rule

Applicant circumstances determine the correct tax-check path; this does not replace the current HMRC guidance.

  • Route: booking office licence in Scotland
  • Renewal Tax Check Required: Yes
  • Code Length Characters: 9
  • Code Validity Days: 120
Current official source

Local booking office application route

The page and fee schedule do not verify additional local conditions or live processing time.

  • Vehicle Threshold: 4
  • Application Form Published: Yes
  • Guidance Notes Published: Yes
  • Standard Fee Gbp: 434
  • Temporary Fee Gbp: 260

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

10 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current grant or plate availability: The checked official sources do not state live plate availability or guarantee that a new vehicle licence will be granted. NOT STATED
  • Complete vehicle application determination time: No complete end-to-end determination time for a valid vehicle application was stated in the checked sources. NOT STATED
  • Live application field sequence upload limits validation and save resume: No application was entered or submitted, so live field validation, upload limits and save-or-resume behaviour were not tested. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current additional local booking office conditions and effective date: The checked current sources do not provide a verified consolidated set of additional local booking-office conditions with an effective date. NOT STATED
  • Current register row counts licence status and holder details: Current register rows, holder details and licence status were not ingested or independently verified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: Official licensing sources do not provide a current commercial radio or dispatch provider roster. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: Official licensing sources do not state current commercial dispatch onboarding or acceptance terms. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: Official licensing sources do not state current commercial radio rents, prices or commission. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: Official licensing sources do not verify commercial dispatch coverage, demand or job volume. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: Official licensing sources do not verify current vehicle rental, lease or shift availability. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide