Official-source evidence

Argyll and Bute Council vehicle and booking-office licensing

Verified facts below come from the cited legislation, council pages and official guidance. This evidence covers vehicle licensing, licence-holder/operator duties and booking offices; it does not replace the separate driver-licence route.

Dataset checked 2026-09-09 · 26 source-backed claims · 30 unresolved or bounded items

Vehicle licensing

Current statutory rule

Licence suitability safety insurance and number controls

This is the vehicle-licensing test; it does not establish a separate driver, booking-office or dispatch relationship.

  • Vehicle Licence Required: Yes
  • Grant Or Renewal Tests: suitable in type, size and design for use as a taxi or private hire car; safe for that use; appropriate insurance or security is in force
  • Taxi Number Control: a taxi grant may be refused to limit numbers only if the authority is satisfied that there is no significant unmet demand for taxi services in its area
  • Private Hire Overprovision: a private-hire-car grant may be refused only if the authority is satisfied there is or would be overprovision in the locality, having regard to vehicle numbers and demand
  • Statutory Section: Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 section 10
Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are statutory outer rules and effects, not a local service target or a guarantee that an application is complete.

  • Relevant Date: the application date, or where Finance Act 2021 tax-check confirmation rules prevent consideration on that date, the date that prevention ends
  • Application Consideration: within three months after the relevant date
  • Final Decision: within six months after the end of the initial three-month period
  • Extension: the sheriff may extend either period on the licensing authority's summary application
  • Missed Deadline Effect: application is deemed granted or renewed
  • Deemed Temporary Duration: the period sought, capped at six weeks
  • Deemed Other Duration: one year
  • Ordinary Duration: three years or a shorter period determined by the licensing authority
  • Temporary Maximum: six weeks
  • Timely Renewal Continuation: a timely renewal continues the existing licence through the decision and applicable appeal stages, subject where applicable to the Schedule 1 tax-check branch
  • Late Renewal: an application up to 28 days late may be treated as timely only where the authority considers that good cause is shown
  • Appeal Method And Deadline: summary application lodged with the sheriff clerk within 28 days of the decision
  • Appeal Grounds: error of law; decision based on an incorrect material fact; action contrary to natural justice; unreasonable exercise of discretion
Current official source

Current application routes documents and contact

The public routes were read only; no form was filled, no file uploaded and no application was submitted.

  • Online Application Entry: Yes
  • Downloadable Grant And Renewal Forms: Yes
  • Page Required Items: applicant name and address; application fee; vehicle details; valid insurance certificate; MOT certificate where applicable; registration document or, if not possible, a bill of sale; evidence of entitlement to work; specified overseas previous-conviction check for a new applicant where applicable
  • Licensing Telephone: 01546 604355
  • Licensing Email: licensing@argyll-bute.gov.uk
Current official source

Visible online vehicle form fields and upload limits

Visible form structure is evidence only of displayed fields; validation, payment, upload acceptance and submission were not tested.

  • Application Types: new; renewal
  • Applicant Structures: individual; partnership; firm; limited company
  • Manager Details: Yes
  • Vehicle Storage And Operating Addresses: Yes
  • Vehicle Fields: registration; first-registration date; make; model; doors; body description; colour; chassis number; passenger count; rear-seat width; insurance expiry; MOT expiry; last inspection; availability days and hours; wheelchair accessibility
  • Mot Upload: up to four files with a stated 10 MB limit
  • Insurance Upload: up to four files with a stated 8 MB limit
Current official source

Taxi grant form identity vehicle zones and documents

The 2026-modified grant form is linked by the current page; it does not guarantee grant or establish current zone availability.

  • Applicant Structures: individual; partnership; firm; limited company
  • Operating Areas: Mid Argyll, Kintyre and Islay; Bute and Cowal; Helensburgh and Lomond; Oban, Lorn and the Isles
  • Vehicle Details: registration; first-registration date; make; model; doors; body description; colour; chassis number; passenger count; rear-seat width; insurance expiry; MOT expiry; last inspection; mechanic; availability; wheelchair accessibility
  • Supporting Documents: vehicle registration document; current MOT; current certificate of insurance; entitlement-to-work and previous-conviction evidence where applicable
  • Displayed Grant Fee: GBP 177
Current official source

Private hire grant form identity vehicle and documents

The 2026-modified grant form is linked by the current page; the separate renewal link is misrouted and is not used here.

  • Applicant Structures: individual; partnership; firm; limited company
  • Vehicle Details: registration; first-registration date; make; model; doors; body description; colour; chassis number; passenger count; rear-seat width; insurance expiry; MOT expiry; last inspection; mechanic; availability; wheelchair accessibility
  • Supporting Documents: vehicle registration document; current MOT; current certificate of insurance; entitlement-to-work and previous-conviction evidence where applicable
  • Displayed Grant Fee: GBP 177
Dated official source still linked

Linked taxi vehicle operating conditions

The current page links these conditions, but their effective date and any later amendments are not stated.

  • Safe Serviceable Clean: Yes
  • Mot For Vehicles Over Three Years: required except for vehicles on Tiree, Coll, Colonsay and Lismore
  • Mot And Insurance Renewal Evidence: supply within 48 hours after previous certificates expire
  • Annual Council Inspection: Yes
  • Accident Damage Report: within two working days
  • Post Repair Certificate Before Reuse: Yes
  • Driver List Kept Current: Yes
  • Council Plate Displayed: Yes
  • Roof Sign: TAXI in letters at least three inches high or the taxi-firm name
  • Sealed Taximeter Required: Yes
  • First Aid And Fire Extinguisher: Yes
  • Approved Vehicle Baseline: purpose-built taxi, four-door saloon, five-door hatchback or estate, MPV, or another authority-approved vehicle; rear seat at least 51 inches for the stated saloon, hatchback and estate category
Dated official source still linked

Linked private hire vehicle operating conditions

The current page links these conditions, but their effective date and any later amendments are not stated.

  • Safe Serviceable Clean: Yes
  • Mot For Vehicles Over Three Years: required except for vehicles on Tiree, Coll, Colonsay and Lismore
  • Mot And Insurance Renewal Evidence: supply within 48 hours after previous certificates expire
  • Annual Council Inspection: Yes
  • Accident Damage Report: within two working days
  • Post Repair Certificate Before Reuse: Yes
  • Driver List Kept Current: Yes
  • Council Plate Displayed: inside the rear window while in use
  • Advertising: service signs and advertisements require authority approval; roof signs are prohibited
  • Fare Disclosure: tell the potential hirer the price or calculation method before accepting the hire
  • First Aid And Fire Extinguisher: Yes
  • Approved Vehicle Baseline: purpose-built vehicle, four-door saloon, five-door hatchback or estate, MPV, or another authority-approved vehicle; rear seat at least 51 inches for the stated saloon, hatchback and estate category
Current official source

Published triennial vehicle licence fee cycle

The conflicting published values are preserved; the amount currently payable in a case is not resolved by this record.

  • Currency: GBP
  • Cycle: 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2027
  • Taxi And Private Hire Year One2024 25: 533
  • Taxi And Private Hire Year Two2025 26: 355
  • Taxi And Private Hire Year Three2026 27: 177
  • Licence Page One Year From2026: 177
  • Separate Current Legal Fees Page Value: 533
Current official source

Published vehicle inspection substitution and plate fees

These are council charges; they do not establish commercial vehicle, rental, insurance, radio or dispatch costs.

  • Currency: GBP
  • Vehicle Inspection: 95
  • Reinspection Or Appointment No Show Surcharge: 50 percent
  • Substitution Within Five Working Days: 78
  • Same Day Substitution: 107
  • Reissue Plate: 48
  • Certified Copy Licence: 48
Current official source

Published local application consultation register and appeal process

The page's conflicting labels for the appeal destination are not resolved by this claim and remain a gap.

  • Police Copy: Yes
  • Council Notice Board: Yes
  • Committee Consideration: all taxi and private-hire-car applications are described as considered at a public Planning, Protective Services and Licensing Committee meeting
  • Register Kept: Yes
  • Page Decision Limit: nine months
  • Reasons Request: within 21 days of the decision
  • Appeal Deadline: within 28 days after the decision, after using available procedures to state the case
Current official source

Published taxi private hire demand and overprovision survey status

No result, zone cap, waiting list or grant availability was inferred from an awaited survey.

  • Consultation Period: 24 July 2025 to 24 August 2025
  • Purpose: assess significant unmet taxi demand and private-hire overprovision in Argyll and Bute
  • Undertaken By: LVSA
  • Published Status At Check: results currently awaited

Booking-office licensing

Current statutory rule

Statutory processing duration renewal and appeal framework

These are statutory outer rules and effects; the council page's shorter six-month wording is retained as a conflict.

  • Relevant Date: the application date, or where Finance Act 2021 tax-check confirmation rules prevent consideration on that date, the date that prevention ends
  • Application Consideration: within three months after the relevant date
  • Final Decision: within six months after the end of the initial three-month period
  • Extension: the sheriff may extend either period on the licensing authority's summary application
  • Missed Deadline Effect: application is deemed granted or renewed
  • Deemed Temporary Duration: the period sought, capped at six weeks
  • Deemed Other Duration: one year
  • Ordinary Duration: three years or a shorter period determined by the licensing authority
  • Temporary Maximum: six weeks
  • Timely Renewal Continuation: a timely renewal continues the existing licence through the decision and applicable appeal stages, subject where applicable to the Schedule 1 tax-check branch
  • Late Renewal: an application up to 28 days late may be treated as timely only where the authority considers that good cause is shown
  • Appeal Method And Deadline: summary application lodged with the sheriff clerk within 28 days of the decision
  • Appeal Grounds: error of law; decision based on an incorrect material fact; action contrary to natural justice; unreasonable exercise of discretion
Current official source

Booking office licence threshold and premises scope

The threshold concerns booking premises and does not itself license a vehicle, driver, radio account or dispatch relationship.

  • Licence Required: Yes
  • Threshold: premises taking public bookings for four or more taxis and/or private hire cars
  • Licensed Object: the premises where bookings are taken
  • Applicant Types: individual; partnership; limited partnership; limited company
  • Day To Day Manager Named: Yes
  • Usual Duration: three years
Current official source

Mandatory booking vehicle and driver records

The original instrument and current national guidance agree on these mandatory records; consolidation remains an explicit gap.

  • Booking Record: a record of every booking for the hire of a relevant vehicle taken at the licensed premises
  • Vehicle Record: registration number of the vehicle assigned
  • Driver Record: name of the driver assigned
  • Reasonable Steps: the licence holder must take reasonable steps to ensure the assigned vehicle and driver are appropriately licensed
Current statutory rule

Right to licence eligibility duration and cessation

The current Schedule supplies the limited-leave and cessation rules; the 2017 instrument records the booking-office amendment.

  • Grant Or Renewal Rule: the authority must be satisfied that an individual applicant is not disqualified by immigration status
  • Ordinary Limited Leave: where section 3C does not apply, the licence period must end at or before the end of the person's limited leave
  • Section3 CLeave: where limited leave has been extended by section 3C, the licence period must not exceed six months
  • Renewal: the same duration rules apply to renewal
  • Cessation: a booking-office licence ceases to have effect if its holder becomes disqualified by immigration status
Current official source

Right to licence prescribed checks and supplemental verification

The local page and older linked entitlement document do not accurately describe all current prescribed routes.

  • Stage: new, renewal and extension applications by an individual
  • Prescribed Methods: manual check of original acceptable documents; right-to-work check using a Digital Verification Service for a British or Irish citizen with a valid passport or Irish passport card; Home Office online right-to-work check for a non-British or non-Irish citizen
  • Online Share Code: nine characters and valid for 90 calendar days
  • Expired Physical Brp Manual Check Accepted: no; an online check is required where the expired card is used to access digital status
  • Supplemental Service: SVEC handles specified cases that require Home Office verification; it is not a fourth prescribed method
Current official source

Tax check conditionality and code

The local summary confirms the 120-day booking-office renewal route but the national page supplies the complete conditions.

  • In Force In Scotland From: 2023-10-02
  • Scottish Scope: booking-office licences, not Scottish taxi or private-hire vehicle licences
  • Tax Check Required For: renewal; same licence type held and expired less than one year ago; same licence type already held with another licensing authority
  • New Applicant Route: a genuinely new applicant, or one whose same-type licence expired at least one year earlier, confirms tax responsibilities rather than completing a tax check
  • Code: nine-character code
  • Code Validity: 120 days
  • Personal Completion: the applicant must complete their own tax check
Current official source

Published local booking office application route

This reports the current page's public instructions; its omission of digital checking routes is retained as a conflict.

  • Online Application Available: the page says no
  • Downloadable Grant And Renewal Forms: Yes
  • Local Published Method: attend a local council office or Council Headquarters at Kilmory with original supporting documents for an in-person check
  • Process Telephone: 01546 604470
  • General Licensing Telephone: 01546 604355
  • Licensing Email: licensing@argyll-bute.gov.uk
Dated official source still linked

Dated booking office grant form fields and supporting documents

The current page links the form, but the form's 2024 modification date is not an adoption or effective date.

  • Applicant Structures: individual; partnership; firm; limited company
  • Day To Day Manager Details: Yes
  • Premises Fields: address; layout or sketch; ownership or owner consent; opening days and times; maximum public occupancy
  • Planning Response Requested: Yes
  • Public Notice: display for 21 days beginning on the submission date, followed by a certificate of compliance
  • Supporting Documents: GBP 147 fee; insurance where applicable; notice certificate; premises map if public enter; entitlement-to-work and overseas-conviction evidence where applicable
Dated official source still linked

Dated booking office renewal form fields and supporting documents

The linked renewal form is dated and the current national HMRC source controls the broader tax-check interpretation.

  • Existing Licence Number And Expiry: Yes
  • Tax Check Code: issued within the previous 120 days
  • Supporting Documents: GBP 147 fee; insurance where applicable; notice certificate; HMRC tax-check code; entitlement-to-work and overseas-conviction evidence where applicable
  • Premises And Management Fields: Yes
Dated official source still linked

Linked local booking office record retention and change conditions

The current booking page links these conditions, but the document does not state its adoption or effective date.

  • Record Every Booking: Yes
  • Record Vehicle Registration And Driver Name: Yes
  • Minimum Retention: three years
  • Reasonable Steps For Licensed Vehicle And Driver: Yes
  • Notify Material Changes: Yes
  • Return Licence After Cessation Or Suspension: within seven days

Public registers and other verified evidence

Current statutory rule

Statutory register duty

The duty does not prove that every live row was inspected or that any licensee currently offers commercial work.

  • Register Required: Yes
  • Public Inspection Required: Yes
  • Register Scope: applications and licences under the licensing provisions
Current official source

Current register download and objection route

The downloadable rows were deliberately not ingested or treated as verified current businesses or commercial leads.

  • Civic Government Register Download Shown: Yes
  • Objection Deadline: within 28 days of the date of process
  • Objection Method: in writing to the Licensing Team at Kilmory, Lochgilphead

Unresolved and bounded details

These points are deliberately not inferred. Open the list to see exactly what still needs current source confirmation.

30 recorded gaps, conflicts or dated-only points
  • Current vehicle licence fee due: The current licence page and civic-fees table publish GBP 177 for the 2026/27 year-three or one-year vehicle licence, while the separate page headed Legal and Regulatory Charges from 1 April 2026 displays GBP 533 for taxi and private-hire-car licences and says those row charges are effective from 1 May 2024. The payable amount is not resolved. CONFLICT
  • Taxi renewal form fee against current year schedule: The still-linked March 2024 taxi renewal form asks for GBP 533, while the current licence page and 2026/27 table publish GBP 177 for the final year of the present cycle. No source explains which amount applies to a renewal lodged now. CONFLICT
  • Current private hire vehicle renewal form: The live vehicle-licence page labels the link as a private-hire operator renewal form, but the retrieved DOCX is titled Application for a Renewal of a Private Hire Driver Licence and asks for driver-specific material. A correct current vehicle-renewal form was not found through that link. LINK MISROUTED
  • Current vehicle application guidance: The live vehicle page labels a link as detailed Guidance Notes, but its target is a one-page entitlement-to-work and overseas-conviction document rather than complete vehicle-application guidance. Complete current vehicle guidance was not established. LINK MISROUTED
  • Online vehicle form route and notice requirements: The combined online form visibly asks whether the case is new or renewal but does not visibly distinguish taxi from private hire in the extracted form, and its supporting-document section requires a notice-posting certificate not explained in its visible vehicle sections or the main page's document list. No form was submitted to test hidden branching. CONFLICT
  • Current vehicle condition effective dates: The taxi and private-hire conditions are linked from the current council page and have file metadata dates, but neither document states its adoption date, effective date or amendment history. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle application form versions and effective dates: The linked vehicle documents expose filename and core-property dates rather than declared version or effective dates. The taxi and private-hire grant files were modified in 2026, the taxi renewal form in 2024, and the private-hire renewal target is a 2025-modified driver form. DATED ONLY
  • Current taxi private hire survey results: The current consultation-results page says the 2025 LVSA survey results are awaited and does not publish a concluded unmet-demand or private-hire-overprovision position. NOT STATED
  • Current zone grant plate or overprovision availability: The current forms identify taxi operating areas and the survey page says results are awaited, but the checked sources do not prove live plate availability, any waiting list, a current limit by zone, or the outcome of a new application. NOT VERIFIED
  • Actual complete vehicle application processing time: The sources state statutory or published outer deadlines and a committee route but do not give a current service standard or observed time for a complete vehicle application. NOT STATED
  • Live vehicle form validation upload payment and submission behaviour: The public form was read without entering personal data, uploading documents, paying or submitting. Required-field branching, file acceptance, payment flow, acknowledgement, save and resume, and receipt behaviour therefore remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current vehicle inspection sites appointments capacity and wait times: The linked conditions require annual and possible additional inspections and the fee pages state charges, but the checked sources do not publish current testing sites, booking method, appointment capacity, turnaround or waiting times. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle age emissions and accessibility entry rules: The grant forms and linked conditions publish a rear-seat minimum and broad vehicle categories but do not state a complete current policy for maximum age, emissions, fuel type, wheelchair-accessibility entry quotas or all inspection dimensions. NOT STATED
  • Local vehicle appeal destination: The current council page first says an applicant may appeal to the sheriff, then says appeals against refusal must be made to the Sheriff Principal of North Strathclyde at Paisley Sheriff Court. The current statutory Schedule describes summary application to the sheriff. The correct local filing destination is not resolved here. CONFLICT
  • Local booking office decision deadline: The current booking-office page says a failure to decide within six months results in deemed grant or renewal, while the current consolidated Schedule requires consideration within three months and final disposal within the six months after that period, subject to extensions and the relevant-date rules. CONFLICT
  • Current local right to licence check method: The current local page says applicants must attend in person with original documents, and the linked entitlement document says an EU passport is evidence. Current Home Office guidance allows prescribed digital and online routes and says EEA passports alone no longer prove status. The local operational method and acceptable evidence are not safely resolved. CONFLICT
  • Current booking office form effective dates: The live page links grant and renewal forms whose core properties were modified in March 2024, but neither form states an adoption, version or effective date and no later form date is declared on the page. DATED ONLY
  • Current booking office condition effective date: The booking-office conditions remain linked from the current page and have 2021 PDF metadata, but the document states no adoption date, effective date or amendment history. NOT STATED
  • Current booking office fire consultation body: The current booking-office page says an application is sent to Strathclyde Fire and Rescue where the public have access, but the checked sources do not establish the current operational fire-service recipient or whether that legacy name is still used in the workflow. NOT VERIFIED
  • Live booking office in person document check and intake behaviour: No appointment was booked and no documents were presented. Office availability, appointment need, acceptable originals, copying practice, completeness screening, payment, acknowledgement and receipt behaviour remain unverified. NOT VERIFIED
  • Actual complete booking office application processing time: The checked sources give statutory and disputed published outer limits but no current service target or observed processing time for a complete booking-office application. NOT STATED
  • Fully consolidated current booking office instrument text: The original 2009 Order and 2017 amending instrument were checked alongside the current consolidated Act and current guidance, but a single fully consolidated official booking-office instrument was not available from the checked sources. NOT VERIFIED
  • Local booking office four vehicle threshold wording: The current local booking-office page says a licence is needed to run a booking office but does not state the national four-or-more-vehicle threshold shown by current GOV.UK guidance and the original Order. NOT STATED
  • Local booking office appeal destination: The current local page says an applicant may appeal to the sheriff, then says appeals against refusal must be made to the Sheriff Principal of North Strathclyde at Paisley Sheriff Court. The current Schedule describes summary application to the sheriff. The correct local filing destination is not resolved here. CONFLICT
  • Complete current vehicle operator and booking office register rows: The council page and download link were verified, but the spreadsheet rows were deliberately not ingested, so current licensees, live applications, expiry status and any possible business names remain unverified and are not represented as leads. NOT VERIFIED
  • Current radio dispatch provider roster: The checked official licensing, fees, form, conditions and register-entry sources do not publish a verified current roster of commercial radio or dispatch providers accepting operators. No provider is recommended or ranked. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch onboarding terms: The checked official sources do not state current commercial eligibility, vehicle-age limits, documents, induction, account availability, waiting-list, equipment, deposit or contract terms for radio or dispatch onboarding. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch prices and commission: The checked official sources publish council licence and inspection fees but not current commercial radio rent, dispatch subscription, commission, equipment, deposit, payment or cancellation charges. NOT STATED
  • Current radio dispatch coverage and job volume: The checked official sources do not verify any commercial provider's current geographic coverage, operating hours, booking volume, job allocation, expected earnings, waiting time or exclusivity rules. NOT STATED
  • Current vehicle rental or shift availability: The checked official licensing material does not establish any provider's vehicle-rental stock, shift vehicle availability, rental price, insurance allocation, maintenance arrangement or current acceptance of operators. NOT STATED

Radio/dispatch supplier terms are not presented as council licensing requirements.

Open the existing council fare and licensing guide